We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' del Campo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ca' del Campo Hotel
Ranked #130 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our 4 night city break in Venice was made perfect by staying in this hotel. Strangely from the outside it does not look like a hotel, more of a private residence, and you only get the real feel of the hotel once you get inside the building. Its quirkiness is a joy and adds to its unique Venetian flavour. Its location adjacent to a canal with a gondola stop only feet away is very picturesque, surrounded by small shops and restaurants. It is in a surprisingly quiet location being within such a short walking distance both from San Marco and the Rialto, although we still managed to get lost most of the time in the maze of Venice streets, but were quite happy to wander until we found ourselves back on track! Staff were friendly and rooms were sumptuous. Recommended.

Room Tip: We had room 1-101 which unfortunately did not have the view but its first floor location was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneP230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Madam, Dear Sir,

we would to thank you for the positive review you wrote about your stay at our hotel. It 's always the greatest pleasure for us to learn that we were able to satisfy our customers during their stay with us.
Hoping to see you again our guests, we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year,

Gianfranco Vio / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    215
    38
    11
    4
See reviews for
78
292
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our 1 night in Venice was our last of a 15 day vacation in Italy and was planned to be very romantic. Unfortunately, when we arrive to the hotel at 1330hrs, they said our room would be ready at 1400 because they were fixing the door lock. Well, the room was not ready until almost 1500. Our room (Room #3) was supposed to be non-smoking but the room wreaked of smoke and if you're not a smoker, that smell if very offensive.
The bed was very hard and not very comfortable.

The pros: great canal view from room.

Room Tip: Room #3 smelled of smoke (supposed to be non-smoking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4nags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

in receipt of your comment written on Tripadvisor from which we learn that you were disappointed having you to wait until the room was ready because we were fixing the door lock that day we apologize for the inconvenience. We would like to remark that the the smell of smoke in the room had been caused by the use of the cutter used to change the lock.
Please accept our sincere apologies again and best regards,

Gianfranco Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just spent a week at this lovely and unique hotel. Outstanding value and location. The Hotel staff were extremely helpful with arranging tickets to musical venues as well as a water taxi that picked me up and transported me to airport on return home. They answered all questions and helped map out where I hoped to go. The Hotel is situated on a somewhat quiet street, right on a canal, with several cafes across and next door. There are also several stores with prices for souvenirs more reasonable then closer to St. Marks square. The morning breakfast was all good, with assortment of rolls, cold cuts, and cheese. Individually brewed fresh pots of coffee was a plus, along with a stunning view over the roof tops ( 4th Floor Dining Room).Room even had a flat screen TV with English CCN, mini-fridge, up to date, pristine bathroom, and A/C. I could not have wished for a better place to stay while I visited this marvelous city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelgal515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Sir,

in receipt of your nice comment on Tripadvisor we wish to thank you for the kind words you have used to describe our hotel.
It 's always the greatest satisfaction for us to know that we were able to make the stay of our client pleasant. We work hard to succeed in this!
Kindest regards,

G. Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We had never to been to Venice, but had waited for over three years - until retirement to make this trip - and, wow, was it worth waiting for. Venice lived up to all expectations. We had been told that it was 'magical' and that was a word we used several times during our week's stay. The
Ca' del Campo Hotel was a major reason for the enjoyment of the whole trip. Perfectly situated (and, yes, it really is 100 steps from San Marco) within the bustling hub of Venice it served a tranquil retreat where you could rest for an hour or two in the heat of the day, and then refreshed, head out again to take in yet another museum, gallery or sight. The staff were courteous and attentive at all times, the generous breakfast was brought to our room each day and the room was fantastic! Thank you, ca' del Campo for making our stay in Venice such a delight!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Madam,

we wanted to thank you for the nice review you wrote on your recent stay at our hotel.
It is always our greatest satisfaction to know that we have been able to make our guests happy while they were here!
Hoping that you may return one day to Ca' del Campo, we remain, with kindest regards,

sincerely

Gianfranco Vio / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We do make sure location is our first priority, and this was great. our hotel room looked out over a well traveled small canal. in Venice you have to lug your suitcase to the hotel from San Marcos square, and because this was so close to San Marcos square that was handy. I hadn't been to st marks square for 40 years (!!) and, omg, how it changed. it now is as busy as NYC at rush hour, only on foot. if I had known what I do now, I wouldn't have 1) gone 2) stayed so close-- I would have gone to the area to the right of st marks (on the map) where "the venetians live"-- especially because Venice is so tiny. no where is far. The hotel, kept to the letter of the 5 stars and had what 5 stars have, at a minimum. I was told I could have free wi fi (kind of as a favor), but not told it would only work in one place in the lobby, which I found out after about 15 min. of frustration. there was a platform outside our room door that I tripped on the first 10 times, then only every other time. Breakfast was meager, but there. The hotel owner/staff seemed tired of the same old questions, but did answer them satisfactorily. At times the staff was unavailable (small hotel).
The bathroom was very nice. The room was ancient in a good way, with very high ceilings. They were the one hotel on this trip that Did have feather pillows when requested. The bedspread was from the 70's if that, but the room had a nice antique armoire for a closet with drawers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alcstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

we refer to the comments you wrote on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at our hotel from which we learn that after all you have appreciated its location in the city. For potential failures found during your stay you will try to remedy them as soon as possible.
We hope you can come back and find our hotel improved.
Kind regards,

G. Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I choose this Hotel for our Honeymoon in Venice. I emailed the Hotel twice to say that it was our Honeymoon and the holiday rep phoned them. The Hotel is very close to St Marks Square, but away from the crowds, which was lovely. The Hotel has a security front door, entry by pressing the buzzer. The reception is on the 4th.... yes 4th floor, thats when the lift is handy. The staff were pleasant. The room was clean, airy and it was nice to have air conditioning. Breakfast was very good. Comfortable beds and soft linen. You will notice that at the start of this review I mentioned that myself and the holiday rep contacted this hotel to say that it was a honeymoon booking, but we were disappointed that they didn't make a special effort for a special event. I have emailed the hotel about this and they sent their apologises to us both. But overall this is a average 3 star hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Direttore at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Sir,

as discussed during our exchange of e-mails I just have to contact you again and apologise again for having forgotten to serve you bottle of wine scheduled for the honeymooners with your travel agency.
We are anyhow pleased to learn that in spite of this unforgivable forgetfulness for which we are willing to send you a refund you have found our hotel on the average of its category.
Kindest regards,

Gianfranco Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here at the end of August for 3 nights, chose hotel as so close to San Marco Square, and all sights. It was my daughter's 21st birthday on the day we arrived. We were given a large room on the 3rd floor. We liked the quirkiness of the hotel, going to the reception on the 4th floor and back down to the room. After we had checked in, we went for a look round (have to say we had no problem finding the hotel, we used the hotel's map on their website), came back to find a bottle of champagne in our room called 21! It was a lovely gesture and made her birthday extra special. Staff were lovely and helpful, we enjoyed the breakfast on the top floor, in the eaves! 2 minutes from San Marco Square, and maybe 10 minutes from Rialto Bridge. Hotel is clean and we slept well (probably from all that walking!). Venice is a truly beautiful place to visit, love the alleyways and finding little shops, bars and trattorias hidden away. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaowLincolnshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

in receipt of the nice comment written on Tripadvisor on your recent stay at our hotel we would like to thank you for having published such a positive comment because our main aim is to try to make our guests happy while they are here with us.
Hope to see you here again and kindest regards,

Gianfranco Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#102 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#170 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#128 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#82 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#114 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' del Campo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Campo Hotel

Property: Ca' del Campo Hotel
Address: Sestiere San Marco 511 | Campo della Guerra, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#124 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' del Campo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ca' del Campo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Del Campo Hotel
Ca Del Campo Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing