We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ca' del Campo Hotel
Ranked #120 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in a central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Located in a central position this in an unpretentious small hotel. It is well run and maintained by a friendly staff. The room we had was not over large but adequate for our needs.
Breakfast for us was on the top (4th) floor (there are other breakfast rooms on 1st and 2nd). Breakfast is standard continental and 7-10, however after 9 things tend to have gone and staff are about other business
Overall nothing adverse to say, wi-fi was a bit hit and miss and air con although it worked didn't seem to work with thermostat

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    218
    38
    11
    4
See reviews for
79
295
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Ca del Campo is ideally situated on a delightful little Piazza within four to five minutes walk of St Mark's Square. We were lucky in that we had been allocated room C3-05. This double room is simply huge is situated on the top floor of the hotel and lends itself to a full family room. Being on the top floor and in Venice invariably means that one is 'up in the roof' and yes like Lucy Honeychurch and George Emerson in A Room with a View, we too had a room with a view!! The two large Velux windows on either side of the sloping roof afford the most delightful views out over the jumbled patchwork of terracotta rooftops to the South towards St Marks Square, and Northwards to The Cupola of the Church of San Giovanni e Paolo. It must be stressed that the view towards St Mark's Square commands only the top one third of the Campanile, but we were both as happy as George and Lucy. If one opens both windows one can lay in bed on a lazy Sunday morning listening to the bells of S Marco and S Giovanni e Paolo gently compete in the sunlight of this lovely room. The room was clean and functional with lots of power outlets everywhere and very good free WiFi access. Special mention should be made of the hotel staff who proved to be very kind, helpful and professional in any contact that we had with them. On at least three occasions Nicolas and his staff went way beyond the extra mile to help us resolve minor travel problems. Nicolas and his staff with one or two exceptions speak tolerably good English, certainly better than our collective Italian anyway. One should not take too much notice of earlier comments referring to the paucity of food at breakfast time. It is a continental breakfast service, but the wide variety and abundance of food presented is fresh and delicious proving quite sufficient to set one up to brave the alleyways around St Mark's Square until lunchtime. We certainly felt well fed and ready to face a day in Venice on leaving the breakfast table. There are excellent restaurants/winebars/takeaways located almost on the doorstep of this hotel all offering friendly hospitality and excellent food and wine at fair (for Venice) prices. More than that however, if the intrepid traveller turns right on leaving the hotel, crosses the canal bridge, continues on for about 50 yards, and then, taking the first left at the RATTI hardware store into the Salizada San Lio, He or She will be rewarded by one of the most varied and fairly priced shopping precincts certainly that we found in all of Venice. There are shops selling absolutely everything here. There is an excellent COOP supermarket manifesting itself as a veritable cornucopia of delicious fresh food, vegetables, and household supplies. The Ratti hardware store is a cross between a good Homebase and PC World, if you have left that essential camera cable or accessory or charger at home (as we did) you will quickly find it here, ably assisted by helpful English speaking staff. In conclusion we would say that the Hotel Ca' Del Campo is unpretentious, clean, hospitable and offers excellent value for money (especially for families) and we would happily stay there again, but only if we could have 'Our Room' back. A big thank you to Nicolas and his staff for helping to make our stay in Venice such a memorable one.

Room Tip: C3-05 but please remember we want it back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Io_amo_Italia_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before a cruise trip out of Venice. I had initially booked a hotel in Mestre (since it seemed easier to get to Mestre from airport). However, I decided to stay at a hotel in venice in the last minute for a couple of reasons:
1) Since we were travelling with a 4-year old, thought it'll be convenient to come back to the hotel couple of times during the day to give rest for my daughter.
2) Ability to see Venice early in the morning before it gets crowded (this would have been much harder had we stayed in mestre).

I picked ca' del campo based on reviews and very happy with the stay there. The hotel is centrally located (just a few mins walk to st. mark's square and a slightly longer but great walk to Rialto bridge). It was also fun to walk around and getting lost in all the alleyways. There is a super market close by which was very handy for buying milk, water and fruits. There are also a lot of restaurants and pastry shops near by (so great location overall).

The hotel and rooms were nice and clean. The staff were very nice and helpful. They had a good breakfast spread. We really liked the strong coffee we got at breakfast time (didnt need any caffeine rest of the day :-)).

Room sizes are a bit on the smaller side, but sufficient. We took a shared taxi from airport to venice. It dropped us off at st. mark's square. We emailed the hotel ahead of time and got walking directions/map to the hotel. These were very useful in locating the hotel.

Overall, I think this hotel is a great value for money and a great place to comfortably explore venice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappilyCruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Lovely small hotel. Staff were generally friendly and helpful, with one exception, but we only ran into this person once in our whole stay, so maybe she was just having a bad day. Continental breakfast, free wifi. Elevator to all floors. Travelled with my sister, so we both had single rooms. Rooms were a little on the small side, but adequate and clean. Private bathroom. Never used the air conditioner, as it was nice to be able to open the windows. Great central location, few minutes walk to St. Mark's Square. Venice is a maze of little alleyways and streets, so make sure you have a good map. Liked that you had to use your room key to get into the hotel.

If you are taking public boat transport to San Marco, make sure you know exactly where your hotel is once you arrive, as likely you will have some walking to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, arrived by water taxi from the airport (so good by the way, expensive but highly recommended) which dropped us just a few feet from the hotel.
This is a really lovely hotel, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, good sized air conditioned, comfortable rooms, large beds, lift to all floors, breakfast included, FREE WiFi (no charge as mentioned in previous reviews) and right in the center of Venice - what's not to love! Your room key card gets you in the front door as well.

It was so hot when we were in Venice having this hotel in such a central location was a life saver as we were able to go back and shower/cool down a bit before going out again!

Breakfast was exactly what you would expect, typical continental buffet style, lots of cereals, fruit juice, croissants, bread rolls and meats, cheese, fruit and jams etc. If anything ran out, they would replace it quickly. Really nothing to complain about. Each floor has its own breakfast room which meant there was usually only one other couple to share the breakfast with so more than enough to go round.

The hotel allow you to leave your cases at reception all day after you officially check out at mid-day, which again is a life saver if, like us, your flight isn't until late in the evening. They have a bathroom and shower which you can come back and use to freshen up and change before your journey home. This was brilliant as it meant we could really take advantage of our last day without worrying about getting all hot and sweaty as we knew we could shower before getting on the plane! Just had to ask for a towel which was provided straight away.

If I had to criticise anything it would be that the pillows were very hard, but quite honestly after pounding the streets of Venice all day you will sleep no matter how hard the pillows are!

I don't think any of the rooms have a canal view, ours on the 3rd floor looked out over rooftops and I think the other rooms were the same. This isn't a problem as you don't come to Venice to sit in your hotel room! The air conditioning was wonderful by the way.

All in all a great stay in a lovely little hotel and I would definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms are clean and spacious, although a bit dated. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location is excellent, but a bit tricky to find when you first arrive at San Marco, so familiarize yourself with the map and location before you arrive. The breakfast was decent buffet fare. The mattresses could use some updating, but were ok for a four night stay. Overall, we had a good experience and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwolinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

When in Venice, do not look for big name hotel chains; small boutique hotels are the way to go. This gem of a hotel is very close to most things and vaporetto stops - San Marco, Rialto, and even the stop that takes you to Murano/Burano. The reception desk is actually on the 4th floor so it feels like you are walking into an apartment building. BUT BE SURE to press the intercom before you head up or you will hear someone yelling for you from it :) There's an elevator to take you upstairs which is a super nice bonus in Venice!

Both the room and bathroom were quite spacious for Venice standard. Bathroom was very clean, as were bed linens. However, it was very stuffy and hot in the room and reception desk guy said it was not season to turn on the air conditioning yet. We were afraid of mosquitoes coming into the room so didn't want to open the window. As a result, we did not have very good nights of sleep... I hope that management will assess the season and turn on A/C or heat as appropriate. Breakfast can be improved, the coffee was surprisingly sub-par given that Italians usually have high standards for coffee. The bread tasted quite stale also. Other than these two minor points, we really enjoyed the location and room quality of this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FromOuterSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#170 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#138 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#132 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#85 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' del Campo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Campo Hotel

Property: Ca' del Campo Hotel
Address: Sestiere San Marco 511 | Campo della Guerra, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#124 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' del Campo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ca' del Campo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Del Campo Hotel
Ca Del Campo Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing