We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to find but totally worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' del Campo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ca' del Campo Hotel
Ranked #130 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard to find but totally worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had quite a time finding the hotel when we arrived in Venice but it was definitely worth the search! Our room was gorgeous, the breakfast was great and the ambiance was spot on. The location was also really good as it was approximately halfway between San Marcos square and the Rialto bridge. I would suggest arriving at the San Marco vaporetto stop as it is a little closer and the hotel easier to find than from the Rialto. The location is quiet, too. The staff was very helpful to us in printing out our train tickets for the rest of our European vacation. They were always friendly and patient.

Room Tip: We had the room off of the breakfast room on the 4th floor. It was really large and had a great roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 784Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    215
    38
    11
    4
See reviews for
78
292
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Venice was the first stop on a 3 week visit to Italy and the Ca’ del Campo was a great start. I am not sure how some people gave the rating of 4.5 stars, but that is probably closer to why real rating then just 4 stars.

The room was was a little small by U.S. standards, but it was probably a little bigger then I expected. The staff was professional and courteous and even tolerated my poor attempts at Italian with an encouraging smile. My poor Italian was unnecessary because they spoke englisg very well.

The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast (breads, meat, cheese etc.) and the coffee was the best that I have had in quite a while. Each floor has its own small breakfast room that was always a pleasant way to start the day

The location was great. It is a short distance from San Marco and not to far from Ponte di Rialto (which has a very nice view of the Grand Canal if you are there earlier then most tourists)

Room Tip: Lots of shopping nearby as well. My daughter is very into theatre and found a mask store a very sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here.....first time 6 years ago. Such a perfect location between San Marco and Rialto......yet on a quiet campo. The hotel is not too big and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The room even had a mosquito repellent and air con. I travelled solo yet my single room was adequately sized and a double bed. Breakfast was served in a lovely room on the same floor; seemed to be breakfast rooms on each floor. Breakfast was continental with a range of choices. ( the one and only point I would raise is that breakfast did not have an option of fruit.)

When I return to Venice would certainly stay here again. Excellent value in the centre of Venice!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MillyT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed in Ca del Campo for only one night in July.

Very central location close to San Marco square. Lovely restaurants closeby!
Free wifi worked well.
My single room was of a good size and spotlessly clean! Breakfast was served on the same floor in a small room with plenty of good alternatives to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel is centrally located and has clean rooms. They also think about the mosquito issue in Venice and have the room prepared with repellent. The only down-side is the extremely slow WIFI. They would better announce that there is no WIFI instead of annoying guest with not working/slow WIFI.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyZRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Located in a central position this in an unpretentious small hotel. It is well run and maintained by a friendly staff. The room we had was not over large but adequate for our needs.
Breakfast for us was on the top (4th) floor (there are other breakfast rooms on 1st and 2nd). Breakfast is standard continental and 7-10, however after 9 things tend to have gone and staff are about other business
Overall nothing adverse to say, wi-fi was a bit hit and miss and air con although it worked didn't seem to work with thermostat

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Ca del Campo is ideally situated on a delightful little Piazza within four to five minutes walk of St Mark's Square. We were lucky in that we had been allocated room C3-05. This double room is simply huge is situated on the top floor of the hotel and lends itself to a full family room. Being on the top floor and in Venice invariably means that one is 'up in the roof' and yes like Lucy Honeychurch and George Emerson in A Room with a View, we too had a room with a view!! The two large Velux windows on either side of the sloping roof afford the most delightful views out over the jumbled patchwork of terracotta rooftops to the South towards St Marks Square, and Northwards to The Cupola of the Church of San Giovanni e Paolo. It must be stressed that the view towards St Mark's Square commands only the top one third of the Campanile, but we were both as happy as George and Lucy. If one opens both windows one can lay in bed on a lazy Sunday morning listening to the bells of S Marco and S Giovanni e Paolo gently compete in the sunlight of this lovely room. The room was clean and functional with lots of power outlets everywhere and very good free WiFi access. Special mention should be made of the hotel staff who proved to be very kind, helpful and professional in any contact that we had with them. On at least three occasions Nicolas and his staff went way beyond the extra mile to help us resolve minor travel problems. Nicolas and his staff with one or two exceptions speak tolerably good English, certainly better than our collective Italian anyway. One should not take too much notice of earlier comments referring to the paucity of food at breakfast time. It is a continental breakfast service, but the wide variety and abundance of food presented is fresh and delicious proving quite sufficient to set one up to brave the alleyways around St Mark's Square until lunchtime. We certainly felt well fed and ready to face a day in Venice on leaving the breakfast table. There are excellent restaurants/winebars/takeaways located almost on the doorstep of this hotel all offering friendly hospitality and excellent food and wine at fair (for Venice) prices. More than that however, if the intrepid traveller turns right on leaving the hotel, crosses the canal bridge, continues on for about 50 yards, and then, taking the first left at the RATTI hardware store into the Salizada San Lio, He or She will be rewarded by one of the most varied and fairly priced shopping precincts certainly that we found in all of Venice. There are shops selling absolutely everything here. There is an excellent COOP supermarket manifesting itself as a veritable cornucopia of delicious fresh food, vegetables, and household supplies. The Ratti hardware store is a cross between a good Homebase and PC World, if you have left that essential camera cable or accessory or charger at home (as we did) you will quickly find it here, ably assisted by helpful English speaking staff. In conclusion we would say that the Hotel Ca' Del Campo is unpretentious, clean, hospitable and offers excellent value for money (especially for families) and we would happily stay there again, but only if we could have 'Our Room' back. A big thank you to Nicolas and his staff for helping to make our stay in Venice such a memorable one.

Room Tip: C3-05 but please remember we want it back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Io_amo_Italia_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#102 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#170 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#128 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#82 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#114 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' del Campo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Campo Hotel

Property: Ca' del Campo Hotel
Address: Sestiere San Marco 511 | Campo della Guerra, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#124 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' del Campo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Ca' del Campo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Del Campo Hotel
Ca Del Campo Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing