We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, lovely setting, excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Ranked #12 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, lovely setting, excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Palazzo Abadessa in September last year for three days for part of our honeymoon trip to Italy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We caught a private water taxi to the hotel from airport. The rest of the time we jumped on and off vaporettas which go to stops close to the hotel. The decor in the hotel is wonderful - really beautiful oldy-worldy feel but still very swish/stylish. There were wooden beams on our bedroom ceiling, gorgeous chandeliers in the hall way and the rooms had everything we could need. We were also able to lean out of our bedroom window to see gondaliers going by. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were lovely. The two men on reception were extremely welcoming. They even gave us a bottle of complimentary sparkling wine as it was our honeymoon! The hotel was in a good location. We didnt hear any noise at night. We also loved spending time relaxing in the garden at the back of the hotel which contain lovely gold and green statues. Watch out for the ants though! The reception staff also provided us with names of recommended restaurants to try on the back streets (much better food and reasonably priced). We hope to return to the hotel on an anniversary in a couple of years time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    110
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
135
436
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Staff was especailly helpful and the room very clean. If you are leaving for the airport splurge and take the water taxi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pozzuoli, Campania, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Beautiful hotel that includes modern amenities without giving up the traditional venetian charm. The hotel staff members were extremely friendly and helpfull. We had fresh fruit and prosecco in the room upon arrival as well as a complementary upgraded room. The hotel is in an excellent location as well (although can be a bit difficult to find when walking). I would stay in this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Great place to stay... amazing, personal, service where nothing was too much trouble.
Some great little touches like fresh fruit and a bottle of prosecco waiting for us in the room. Breakfast hit the spot.
Location is a little back behind the main road/path, but we arranged a water taxi, so that wasn't an issue for us.
Take one of the regular boats around to the main square if you don't feel like walking.
Overall a great experience that made our trip to Venice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Richie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Had read reviews of this hotel and agree on most areas but surprised that there are some omissions. Good position within easy reach of all major sites. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful especially in recommending local restaurants. Our room, number 25 was certainly grand with traditional furniture and fittings. The bathroom however is small with only a shower, although a glance into room number 24 revealed a fully fitted bathroom. Be warned that there is an enclosed and floodlit childrens basketball area next to the hotel and on two out of three evenings of our stay children were playing very noisily and on one night this carried on until nine o'clock. Breakfast was reasonable although there appears to be only one person assisting and on the last morning this lead to delays and temporary shortages in the buffet.
I would still recommend this hotel but with reservations as stated and I would ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SussexSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel was perfect, we felt a part of Venice and at home at the same time.
Tucked away just off the main canal but a only a minute from a wonderful selection of cafe's and shops. A gorgeous setting with very accommodating staff (the beds for the children were too hard so they changed the mattresses immediately) and a breakfast to die for with a large selection of Venetian pastries as well as fresh fruit and anything else you could want.
All the best of Venice in one building. We had a junior suite overlooking the walled garden and it was stunning. A fairy tale experience that we and the children loved. We could not have asked for more for our trip.
Convenient for the Rialto, San Marco Piazza and Murano with very good transportation close by.
I highly recommend this hotel as it made our Venice Carnival experience perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pvanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abadessa, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Abadessa, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Good Morning!!!,

We are so grateful for your very kind review.
We are so happy that you enjoy your stay here at Palazzo Abadessa your HOME in Venice, take care!!!. God Bless and See you again,

warmest regards!
Darwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Palazzo Abadessa is a small palazzo that gives a wonderful sample of the style and elegance of historic Venice. It is quietly situated with elaborately decorated public rooms and bedrooms. Set on a canal and with its own garden, yet still in a very convenient location - the vaporetto on the Grand Canal is 2minutes walk. The establishment is very well run, spotlessly clean and the staff are all marvellous - very professional and helpful. They only serve breakfast - but there Venice is full of places to eat and the breakfast is very good. If you like to escape from the crowds and feel as if you have found somewhere private and special Palazzo Abadessa will not disappoint.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are huge with high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goanpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Property: Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Address: Calle Priuli Cannaregio 4011, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Venice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#24 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing