We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Ranked #12 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great stay great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed for one week in December and had a great time. We were upgraded half way through when a deluxe room came available. Wonderful breakfast buffet. This hotel is in a location very convenient to many of the attractions. Easier to get to than it sounds from the hotel description. Very good value in the off season.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    113
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
141
446
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We chose this hotel in Venice because we wanted to stay in the one of the typical palazzos converted to a hotel. The hotel was located in the heart of Venice and served as a great base for our Venetian explorations. It is situated right on a canal so a water taxi directly to the hotel dock is an easy means of transport to the city. We took a water taxi to the hotel and found the hotel very well prepared to receive guests via their canal entrance. Upon arrival, the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Almost as quickly as we were off our water taxi our bags had already been carried up to our room for us. The hotel staff gave a quick yet through tour of our suite and we enjoyed a bottle of complimentary bottle of prosecco. The breakfast is adequate but nothing exquisite. The hotel is literally an old world palace. This comes with character and charms as well as various quirks. The entrance is grand with an original staircase. There are tall ceilings and period pieces with antique décor. The dividers of our room appeared to have been built in modern times. In the bathroom of our room (located in a loft in the second floor of the suite) we could clearly hear people talking in the room next to us. The garden area looked like an ideal place to enjoy a glass of wine. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate for us to be able to relax there. It was definitely an expensive hotel but worth the experience of staying in a palace with a great location if this is what you are looking for in a Venetian hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Booking a place to stay in Venice can be fairly daunting. I knew I'd found something special when I came across the Abadessa. We booked the early bird offer and for under €400 we got 3 nights accommodation including breakfast in one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Location is perfect: 2 minute walk to Rialto bridge, 15/20 minute walk to St.Marks square and countless restaurants and shops right on your doorstep. The vaperetto stop Ca'dore is right beside you and there is also a gondola dock. The hotel itself is stunning, pure old world decadence. Staff were friendly and always so helpful. Breakfast is traditional European buffet style, the coffee and cakes are amazing. When we checked in we were shown to room 19 overlooking the canal which was lovely however as all the floors are so old, whoever was staying above us kept us awake walking back and forth on the floorboards. When we mentioned this to the receptionist he kindly offered to change our room. He showed us a choice of two rooms on the second floor. We opted for room 25 which was beautiful! Our luggage was moved while we went out exploring. Everything in the room was spotless and extremley spacious. The Palazzo Abadessa is perfection.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toyotacarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I researched hotels in Venice for weeks and chose the Abadessa to begin our Cruise in October.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like the royalty who lived in this beautiful, historic place in1540.
Our rooms were incredible, like something out of a Bond movie. I can't say enough about our experience. We wanted to start our trip in a very special place and we could not have done better. Being treated to a glass of house wine out in the courtyard after a busy day was a perfect way to begin a wonderful evening. The morning coffee served in your own personal pitcher with steamed milk was a perfect way to start our day. It was the most wonderful coffee we had on our trip.
You will not go wrong with this hotel. it is located in a very convenient area. We also very much appreciated the fact that the hotel is located on a canal and our water taxi pulled directly to the back door. We pulled the exterior bell rope and the staff opened the door and assisted with our luggage. We really appreciated this when we saw other travelers hauling luggage all over town, up and down steps and across bridges.
If you want the feel of a perfect authenic experience in Venice this is your place. The staff is wonderful. Enjoy!!!!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

charming palazzo with very atmospheric but well maintained rooms, in a charming situation, only a short walk to everywhere.

Lovely breakfast and Darwin the host is as helpful as the other reviews say. You'd be a fool to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stayed in both a suite and a classic room. If you don't want to overspend.... the Classic rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooraktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Great place, location and staff. Room was beautiful- proper palatial. Easy to find and close to everything. The breakfast was excellent (and I'm Gluten intolerant- not easy to be in Italy!). Stay here for a true romantic experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and can't fault it. The rooms are fantastic and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was huge with double hand basins. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location is just off the main street and a couple of minutes walk from the Ca d'oro water taxi stop. It's about 20 mins walk to St Marks Square. Breakfast is the usual continental selection but the quality of the food was better than other hotels we have stayed at in Italy of the same star rating. If you hear a bit of yelling from the street, don't be alarmed, it's probably just kids playing ball games in the indoor court next door. When I first heard it, I thought it was people arguing in the street but I later found out it was an indoor sports area. I only heard the noise on one of the nights we stayed, so it's not a nightly occurance. There's no elevator, so if you have problems with stairs, ask for a room on the ground floor. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again if I return to Venice.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank cargo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,490 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Property: Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Address: Calle Priuli Cannaregio 4011, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Venice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#24 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing