We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, close to train”
Review of Hotel Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rosa
Ranked #169 of 385 Hotels in Venice
connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, close to train”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Nice hotel that is a short walk from the train station, which is important if you arrive by train and don't want to drag your bags through crowded streets and over multiple bridges. This hotel must bake their own pastries for the morning breakfast, because you wake up to an amazing smell in the morning. The breakfast itself is pretty basic, but that smell is incredible.

The hotel is boutique style and clean, with a decent sized room and a fairly small bathroom. The hotel offers free WiFi in the lobby. The desk staff are friendly and helpful, and greet you each time you walk through the door. There are a few nice restaurants nearby, especially if you walk back into the heart of Venice, away from the main roads and Grand Canal, which are packed with people. San Marco square is probably a 25 minute walk, but it's a bit of of a grind through all the people and over the Rialto.

Overall, we had a pleasant, comfortable stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EKWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    240
    85
    25
    21
See reviews for
119
238
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights prior to boarding our cruise ship. It is a good location for arriving from the airport and also getting to the ship via the People Carrier. The hotel is typically Venetian with small rooms but the bedroom was fine. A bit difficult without a lift with luggage on a high floor but again a feature of a lot of Venetian hotels. The breakfast was adequate to set you up for sightseeing. The staff at reception were very helpful especially the young man who gave us directions to some ciccetti bars. I would stay here again as it is conveniently located, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrowboy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

General:
Location – Close to the Santa Lucia tran station, no bridges or stairs in between – very important in Venice! Hard to locate (“streets” in Venice have different shapes LOL), Google Maps directions will take you anywhere. To find it walk in the main street just outside the station, take the second “alley” on the left (right before Hotel Nazionale, if you look down you will see a mosaic that says “Albergo Santa Lucia”). Go straight to the end of the alley, there is Calle Pesaro. The hotel is right at that corner. The neighborhood itself is not that nice, but it is conveniently located. For dinner, I suggest crossing the bridge and heading towards Piazzale Roma. You will find very nice little trattorias and pizzerias bordering the canals.
Status – Cozy, comfortable, clean. Nice atmosphere. No elevator, but in our case we had no issues getting to our room, just 8 steps up and 8 steps down.

Check –in / Check-out – Simple and fast. We were provided great maps to find our way in the city (much better than the ones we took!).

Personnel – Overall friendly, great English.

Internet – Only in the lobby.

Rooms:
Size / Furniture – Incredibly large! We made a mistake when booking and booked a triple instead of a double. The room was huge! Plenty of closets, night-tables, drawers, even a little sofa. And we had our very own private patio! Though not too fancy, it gave us a great spot to relax after a long day walking.

Air conditioning – Good.

TV – Ok size, we did not use it at all.

Bed – Comfortable, great pillows.

Deco – Quite nice, tasteful. Wooden ceilings gave it a very intimate atmosphere.

Minibar – No.


Bathroom:
Size – Pretty large. The shower was tiny.

Water pressure – Good.

Toiletries – Re-filled every day, basics: soap, shampoo, shower cap.

Towels – So many towels! I loved that.

Breakfast:
Variety – Rather limited, every day the same. Croissants, bread, yogurt, cereal, ham, juice and coffee.
Quality – Coffee was ok, even though it was from a machine. Croissants were yummy!
Cleanliness – All tables were cleaned very fast, we were impressed.


Value-for-money relation:
Rather good for Venice – in general, it is a more expensive city. We were overall very satisfied with the hotel.

Bottom line – would I stay here again?
Yes, I think so. The room was comfortable, the service was good, conveniently located, the price was reasonable. Everything you need.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 18, and got our very own private patio. Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaraMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. The room was small and had old furniture, but fortunately the beds were comfortable. The maid kept the windows opened while we were out so we had problems with mosquitoes. The breakfast was good. Easy to find from the Santa Lucia train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakskov, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My warmest recommendation, polite and very helpful staff. My mother and I had such a nice and memorable stay at this hotel in 2008. Close to the railwaystation in a quiet narrow calle and close to the canals and streetlife.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were also travelling with Edward D'mello & family and it's appalling to note the attitude of the hotel staff. Imagine you land up thinking that all the bookings have been done, as mentioned by Martina on the previous day before starting our trip to Venice. We were shocked to note that the hotel staff had given the room booked by us, to someone else just because it was the peak season and they managed to get higher rate. If they had little concern for their customers they would have taken immediate action to find a solution to the situation we were in. Instead they are trying to blame the customers once again. We had a lovely time in all the different places we stayed in Austria, viz., Vienna, Salzburg, Sankt Johann Im Pongau and also in Florence and Rome. But never again will I visit Venice with my family ever again nor recommend this hotel to anyone because of the sheer arrogant attitude of Pavi and Martina. Pavi because he acted naive and ignorant of the situation while on duty and kept calling Martina to find out what really went wrong and Martina for her don't care attitude - not bothered to even meet us f2f to sort out the situation. I don't know who played the mischief but then the room was given to someone else just because they got a better rate. This is the only hotel we faced problems in our entire 15 day tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Claudees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were disgusted with the service of Villa Rosa. We did a booking online for two rooms with Villa Rosa more than 3 weeks prior to our visit and when we were en route to Venice, the hotel calls up at the last moment saying that our credit card was declined. Despite that we gave them new credit card numbers and the hotel deducted the required fees. When we landed there, the hotel said that they had given out our rooms to someone else because we arrived half hour late. All our pleas fell on deaf ears.

Over and above that, the staff were extremely arrogant. The front office desk staff, a boy called Pavi, said arrogantly, "This is not my problem. You have to sort out your own accommodation." Pavi was also too painful despite the fact that we had children with us. It was only after we threatened that we would call the police, did he make alternate arrangements with another hotel, Hotel Adua, nearby.

We booked the hotel after reading the reviews here which said that the place is quiet and beautiful. The reality is something else. It is actually a narrow lane, led through a street stinking of excreta and filth.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Edward236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elenamarazzi, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Mr. ,

Our staff contacted you three times ( two e-mail and one phone calls) to advise you your credit card information were incorrect and therefore the reservation was cancelled.

Our staff did not withdraw anything from your credit card, we found you another Hotel because you were harassing

Our staff made everything must be done in these situations

It was Mr. Pavi NOT YOU to call police because of your arrogant , aggressive , rude behavior.

Sincerely

Elena Marazzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#191 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#161 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#241 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#232 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#90 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rosa

Property: Hotel Villa Rosa
Address: Cannaregio 389, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Rosa 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing