We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well run hotel near train station on quiet side street”
Review of Hotel Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rosa
Ranked #179 of 385 Hotels in Venice
United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well run hotel near train station on quiet side street”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our ground level corner room #15 was a pleasure to return to each day for a restful night despite the 50+ British teenagers (some acting about 10) only because the staff worked very hard to mange their noise at night and because the room door was pretty soundproof. The bed was pretty hard for my taste, and the shower was tiny - very typical in Europe.

Waking to the aroma of fresh baked croissants each morning was wonderful as was the hard boiled eggs, yogurt, thin sliced white cheese and mystery meat, rolls, and cereal. The grapefruit juice from the machine was ok, the orange juice was barely passable. The coffee machine drinks were also passable, and wonderful cafe lattes and espressos were available for reasonable purchase price at the tiny bar in the room. The breakfast room was spacious and very well served and the buffet breakfast was better and much more substantial than typically found in even higher star hotels.

The 24 hour staff and room care were top notch.

The various short flights of stairs and landings were comfortable and quiet.

Some minor things that could be better:

Although there was a single pull down screen on one window, it would barely stay down, and the bath window didn't even have one. Naturally, when the staff opened the windows each morning after we left for the day the mosquitoes wandered in. For the life of me, I cannot imagine why EVERY window in Venice that opened is not required to have a screen given the 100% mosquito experience (even in late March) - and this is the ONLY hotel I have stayed in (even 3 star!) that had even a single window screen, and bath fans (also virtually non-existent) to draw the moisture out would help immensely with minimizing mold stained (our shower was MUCH better than average) caulk and minimize the need to open the windows to let nature in because of the lack of window screens.

The alley could easily be kept clean of the consistent small amount of debris by a few minute effort each morning.

Despite the free multiple high speed wifi access points throughout, we could only find one at the breakfast bar that was strong enough to work well with our FREE wifi phones The room wifi was weak unless you stood on a chair. As a computer guy, I concluded that the range could be significantly increased by using better APs. Unfortunately, we got word the 1st night there that a friend had suddenly just died, and my credit card vanished between the water bus ticket window and the waiting area the next day, so having the wifi not work well that night or the next day until we convinced the desk to reset the router and we found the optimum signal locations was a real challenge.

Stacking up the many bags of laundry each morning on the handrail side of the ground floor stairs made it difficult to use the rail (why not stack on other side?)

All in all, this fine hotel is far better than much higher stared hotels, and is in a perfect location near the train station to avoid the 7 euro (each way!) or many bridge adventure with luggage.

We highly recommend this place, especially if you can snag it for the very good 50 euro price we did (must book months ahead).

Hint: the Santa Lucia hotel next door has a huge sign (from the alley, look above it to see the small Villa Rosa sign) and has a big tile sign on the sidewalk at the entrance to the alley at the main walking street 200 meters or less from the train station.

Room Tip: #15 street level was spacious and quiet (once windows closed) and good light (with window covers ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uds0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    250
    89
    28
    22
See reviews for
129
244
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastchester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The staff at this hotel were warm and accommodating to the highest degree. Without going into details, they went above and beyond to ensure that any lack of approval was compensated for. Once this hidden litte gem was found, life was great. One of our rooms has a wonderful little patio. The breakfast was much better than the usual continental and the dining room was quite attractive and felt more upscale than I had expected given the price. Just two minutes from the train yet close to everything, this hotel is hidden behind the main road along the canal so a challenge to find. The hidden location makes for a quite nights sleep, a welcome change from the inner city noise we had in Florence. The bathrooms in our rooms were adequate and no different than what I was expecting having been to Italy on prior occasions. The cleanliness was noteworthy both in the rooms and the bathrooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liège
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Staff very friendly and efficient and 24/24 hours desk gives good safety. Room very well cleaned with everyday service including sunday, very good bed, very good shower, but cannot stop bedroom heating system and we have to keep window open. Good self service breakfast, good quantities but no whole bread choice and fruit juice machine taste little "chemical". Very good hot chocolade. No hooks in bathroom to hang clothes and wet towels. Free wi-fi but only in lobby. Good sound insulation of the room (hotel was full most of the week). Anyway price / quality is nice : i will come back !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
2 Thank FrancoisUlysse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were traveling with our 20 year old daughter and had booked a room for 3 many months in advance. We were put in a room that could only be described as an attic. The receptionist half heartedly offered to help with luggage. It had low, bizarre ceilings and you could only get to the window by climbing over the double bed. I woke up the first morning with a few bites on me but the second morning my daughter had dozens on her...her face and hands. These had to be bedbug bites, not mosquitoes as we were there in winter. We traveled for 3 weeks in Europe and had no other issues anywhere else we stayed, just there. The walkway to the hotel frequently had piles of dog poop. Yes it was close to train station but we did not enjoy our stay here at all.

Room Tip: If you have any luggage at all, ask for 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyV1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elenamarazzi, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Your review leaves me speechless.
Every year we carry out a preventive pest control for bed bugs just because it happened that we had years ago and when we implement this operation, we have not had more .
The company that makes this service has just finished performing this operation and evidently reconfirmed that all our rooms are in no way infested with bedbugs.
So I recommend you to think twice before making inferences and make judgments defamatory towards our structure.

I remember very well that during your stay you come in reception complaining for mosquito bites and that a customer is intruded by telling you that she had had the same problem, which was mosquitoes that he had personally killed and keeping the window closed you would solve the problem.
Here in Venice winter this year was not very hard and then the mosquitoes do not die , especially near here there is a park with lots of trees and unfortunately a lot of mosquitoes.

Sincerely

Elena Marazzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great location only five minutes from Train station and 10 minutes bus station. About 20 minutes from St Marks Square and Doges palace. Tidy reception and friendly staff. Room was OK and bed comfortable. No in-room tea making facilities but we took our travel kettle which was well worth packing! Our only criticism would be the bathroom- which was very small and was barely enough room to move around. The shower cubicle was tiny as has been commented on before- if you are large ( or fat) you would just not get in, and as noted by a previous reviewer there was no where to put the soap so you had to hold onto it and throw it out into the sink when finished! Also black mould in the shower door seals- not a pleasant sight or good sign.! Free Wi-Fi was a bonus
The breakfast provided was adequate and plentiful. Really for Venice a good priced hotel and a good location but if they could sort the bathrooms out it would be a lot better!. Literally 25 metres down the alley is a great bar that does good "Tapas/Food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyCStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hopefully these facts were help you make a decision. This review is written to help others not suffer in a vacation like we did. Hotel is hidden away in quiet area off the busy streets, impressive classy entrance, professional front desk staff, especially Enrico. Front desk help also included helping me charge my iPad (as we didn't bring the correct charger) and getting us hot water at night so we could enjoy a hot tea in our room. Housekeeping is another story. We had Room 45 - could hear the neighbors talk in normal conversational tone & snore all night, and there was black mold in the shower, in addition to the shower door not working, causing water to flood into bathroom. We had to throw towels down on the floor so no one would slip. We returned to the room later - the 'new' towels were clearly not new as they were soiled. We suspect they just returned the floor towels to the rack. Shower was extremely small (we're 2 small Asian ladies and we're used to small European showers) and in doing small movements, would easily bump into faucet and it shuts off. There was NO soap rack - so you either put your soap on the ground (imagine trying to bend over in a small shower??) or the outside the shower on the sink. There's NO hook for you to hand towels or clothes?? We're well traveled and not high maintenance... but you don't realize how important these BASIC items are until they're not available. For what we'd paid for the hotel, the basics of having a soap rack and hook should be expected items... after all, we're not in a 3rd world environment. We also closed the windows so as to not allow mosquitoes to come in (huge issue in Venice). When we returned to the room, window was opened. We spent the night swatting mosquitoes. Thought we had it all - and heard buzzing all night and got eaten alive, interrupting our sleep.... in addition to the snoring from next door. We'd like to see this hotel succeed more, but it's in need of some upgrade of standards in the housekeeping department. We're paying for SLEEP to enjoy a vacation - we didn't get much. By the way, our door could only barely open half way as the night stand was in the way. Would have preferred if they removed the 2nd night stand. Safety/Fire hazard, isn't it? Good thing we weren't any larger or we'd not be able to enter the room! Also, hallway is all marble and very narrow - maids were talking loudly as their voices traveled and forced us to wake up from already disturbed nights.

Room Tip: Do not get Room 45 (mold, thin walls, no soap rack or hooks, door only opens 1/2 way) and make a not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuntgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elenamarazzi, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for the appeciation for our Staff.

I know the measures of some of our showers are a issue , in effect in our soon restauration works we are going to remove the bidet to enlarge the shower.

Anyway the "mold" you saw it's not mold but old silicone that must be repalced. I'm sure housekeeper didn't replace the towels you used to dry the floor, they never made something like that in many years working here.

I'm also sorry you were not able to sleep well, in these case, since you stayed 3 nights , if you let us know we would have moved you in another room, more quiet.

I hope you'll give us another chance to change your mind about our property

Sincerely

Elena Marazzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband,brother and I stayed for 2 nights in May. It is a bed and breakfast- the breakfast is a variety of breads, butter and jam in a little basket that the owner brings to your room in the morning. We arrived at the hotel quite late (we caught the boat from the airport to Venice island late at night)- and the hotel is about a 10 min walk from the boat drop off point. The location was a little difficult to find (but everything is in Venice)- bring a map ahead of time or use your phone to find the location as we did (we used the Trip Advisor city guide application). There is late check in available- If you arrive late, you can ring the bell and the owner will open the door for you (she didn't looked that pleased though!). It is well located- a good base to go and explore on foot from. The room was very big, and clean. I think the hotel offered good value for money. The b&b is quite small- only a handful of rooms, and can be a little noisy as the rooms are close- but the noise did not disturb us as it was only a little bit. We found the hotel to be part of the Venice experience- and it looked over a little lane-way which was very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AZL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Caprera
Hotel Caprera
#163 of 385 in Venice
440 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#201 of 385 in Venice
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#237 of 385 in Venice
662 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#88 of 385 in Venice
996 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#303 of 385 in Venice
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rosa

Property: Hotel Villa Rosa
Address: Cannaregio 389, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Rosa 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing