We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Stay”
Review of Hotel Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Rosa
Ranked #170 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Hotel Stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Very NICE! Close to the Train Station and Canal. Restaurants nearby, within walking distance to all of Venice.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WANDERLUSTinME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    242
    85
    25
    21
See reviews for
121
238
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

This hotel is tucked away off the main strip, but in a great spot for getting to and from the train station! Hotels further away may have better views, but are also much more difficult to get to (stairs, bridges... expensive water taxis!).

Staff were friendly (comedic at times!) and rooms were spotless, if tired. The airconditioning was an unexpected bonus, as was the little terrace we had infront of our room. Other twin rooms were much bigger (a friend's had a double and a single bed!) but we were happy enough with ours.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We booked the hotel at the reservation desk at St. Lucia train station when we arrived in Venice. I had checked out prices and locations prior to the trip but it was a last-minute deal and we were flying standby so we didn't want to book anything and lose a deposit. We were very pleasantly surprised at our find and the good value price we received especially considering it was Holy Week (week before Easter) in Italy.

We had a little trouble locating the street and hotel from the directions we were given but it is a reasonable 5-10 minute walk from St. Lucia train station. We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and checked in right away. The room was clean and efficient with enough space for the two of us. The beds were quite firm and the bathroom clean but small. The hotel is well kept but older and quaint.

The hotel desk staff (especially Martina) was very helpful and accomodating to show us locations and recommend sights, shops and restaurants nearby. The breakfast room and sitting lounge is just off the entry lobby. The breakfast was a decent selection for a continental service with cereal, breads, pastries, meat and cheese slices and various juices. They serve coffee, espresso and capuccino to order. The breakfast room was usually quite busy but we were always able to locate a table right away.

The hotel is located in the Cannaregio district near the first bridge over the Grand Canal at the Ferrovia Vaporetto stops. Most locations for sightseeing are within a 20 to 45 minute walking distance but you can catch the vaporetto to the other islands easily. If you plan to do much use of the waterbus it is best to purchase either a daily (24hrs for 18euro) or multi-hour pass as the cost can climb quickly at 6euro per ride. Obviously to go to Murano or Lido you will need to use one of the boat services.

There are a lot of touristy shops and restaurants along the main passage following the Grand Canal so there is no shortage of options. There is a grocery and street market about a 10 minute walk further down past the alley leading to the hotel. If you go over the nearby bridge to St. Croce you will come across some less touristy and more authentic shops for items such as Murano glass and Venetian masks as well as some great food and some quaint out of the way and quiet campos for strolling and people watching.

Overall I highly recommend the hotel and felt it was a good value. We paid 100 euro per night for a twin room for our 2 night stay from Wednesday to Friday. If we had booked by phone or via the internet prior to our arrival we would likely have gotten a better rate for those days but this was the lowest cost quoted by the reservation desk when we arrived.

I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

The location of this hotel is very convenient, it is not far from the main city attractions and it can be easily reached from the railway station.
The staff is very nice, helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, cosy and decorated in the old Venetian style. There is a very spacious balcony and you could have a very beautiful view! Overall, this hotel is a very good value for the price they charge.

  • Liked — Very convenient location
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

This is a great place for 1 star. It is very close to the train station and we were only staying for 3 days so it was quick to get in and out. It's also right next to the main boat dock so also convenient. The hotel is down a small street that you could almost miss if you don't know it. It was clean, friendly and convenient!! We had a room in the garden outside of the dining area and we struggled with mosquitos which I think it typical of Venice. Every time we went in and out of the room, we all bunched together and then zoomed in closing the door as quickly as possible. My family stayed in the regular hotel and I don't think they had a problem. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again. It was a great bargain.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2goNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

Location is great for the train station and 3 bridges to negotiate from the bus station. Room was compact but clean and warm with shower and plenty of storage. Breakfast was adequate as was the service - as mentioned by a previous poster - only 2 staff serving and they manage fine. Reception staff helpful.

20-30 minute walk to St Marks or a vaporetto (very convenient for the vaporetto stop outside the train station). Good location for reasonably priced restaurants and cafes.

Good value for money by Venice standards.

Would stay again.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Size of shower room
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#193 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#164 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#237 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#232 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#91 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rosa

Property: Hotel Villa Rosa
Address: Cannaregio 389, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Rosa 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing