We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Antiche Figure
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel in a junior suite while on tour with Nada's Italy- Italian Treasures tour. The room was very nice with a canopy bed and a wonderful shower. It was down an alley and was quiet for the most part. The breakfast was very tasty and the location was close to the bus station so that made our departure quite easy. We particularly enjoyed the steps of a large building next door that served as a gathering spot for canal watching and music by a variety of performers. The area had some good restaurants in the streets that stretched behind the canal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pa7w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 3,877 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff went out of their way to make our stay convenient and comfortable -- giving directions, booking concert tickets, making dinner recommendations and reservations. What you would expect at a 4 or 5 star hotel. The service turned extraordinary, however, when we decided to forego an overnight trip to Ravenna (we had already spent a day in the Veneto Region visiting Palladian Villas and a day in Padua with a late night entrance to the Scrovegni Chapel and decided to conserve energy and see more of Florence).
So on a late night return to Hotel AF we asked if we could stay 2 extra days. The night clerk checked and said yes. But in the morning the owners reported that he had not checked the latest bookings and in fact they were full. Not to worry, however, they had booked us into a nice 3-star nearby for one night and their own 4-star, the Grand Canale Hotel, the second night... and would see that our luggage was moved from one hotel to the next and the next. Not only that they negotiated or offered lower rates than we would otherwise be paying. So in the span of 6 days, we sampled 3 Venetian Hotels in San Palo and Santa Croce. All were high quality but the friendliness and ambiance of the Antiche Figure were outstanding. By the way, the location, on the Grand Canal but near the Piazzale Roma and facing the railway station, is not the most picturesque. But when we saw hundreds of tourists hauling luggage up and down bridges or looking puzzled about directions, we were delighted by its convenience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived in Venice having no idea where we were going or where the hotel was. Got off the people mover and found that it was very close! One bridge and we were there. Staff were amazing so helpful and friendly, we were offered the canal view upgrade and took it. The room was beautiful and so big for Venice, great view also. Bathroom is fine. Breakfast was very nice, always offering cappuccinos etc
It is a great location. Quite a walk from the touristy Rialto bridge etc which is why we liked it, those areas are so busy. It is easy to get around on the people mover, or fun to get lost walking through the beautiful streets! Lots of good restaurants very close by. Would most definitely stay here again, thank you for giving us an amazing stay in Venice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ljg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We liked how all the staff were accommodating. They gave us suggestions for dinner that turned out to be the best meals that we had in Venice. The Manager enhanced our trip by giving us the right advice on how to best enjoy Venice and the room upgrade was much appreciated :-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nelliekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Fantastic location, gorgeous canal view room and the staff could not have been more helpful or efficient. We will definitely be planning a return trip.

Restaurant recommendations were spot on too.

J Scott, Solihull, UK

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jo_lynch50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We chose this hotel as we didn't want to be in the middle of the city and were extremely pleased we did. The location is excellent as its close to the both bus station and railway station. We took the bus from the airport and found the directions to the hotel easy to follow (about 5 mins walk).

We also wanted a room for 3 adults as our daughter came with us and its more fun to chat than be in separate rooms. We upgraded our room to one overlooking the Grand canal and the view was great.

The breakfast was self service continental - but had all you could want and the coffee was freshly brewed and brought to your table.

It was about a 20 minute walk to St marks Square (assuming you didn't get lost) but it was pleasant to wander thru the back streets/shops so probably actually took twice that long.

The only minor negative thing was that the air con doesn't get turned on till later in the year but we knew this in advance so took a piece of netting with us to put in front of the open window at night (fixed with blue tac).

The staff were friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank minianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We only had two days in Venice, so we were thrilled with our choice to stay at Hotel Antiche Figure!! The staff is amazing, just what a hotel staff ought to be...helpful, fun loving, polite and super accommodating. We had booked our room in advance and when we arrived there had been a cancellation from one of the Grand Canal view rooms. We were given the opportunity to upgrade or keep our reserved room. While we kept our original room, we absolutely appreciated the opportunity to upgrade at a discount. The rooms are beautifully renovated and decorated, you actually had the sense that you were staying in a very old Palazzo but with all the modern conveniences!
This hotel is PERFECTLY situated directly across the canal from the train station. Exit the train station, look across the canal and you can see it immediately. All that you have to do is go to the left 100 feet, cross the bridge and you're there, right next door to a lovely old church. One thing that really appealed to us is that while this hotel is directly across the Grand Canal from the train station, it is also away from the super busy tourist areas around St. Mark's Square. We appreciated the lower key neighborhood. Not in the hub, but there is a vaporetto (water bus) station right across the street. Easy peasy! (Bus station is easy walking distance from the hotel, too..everything sooo convenient while dragging around your suitcases.)
There are a zillion hotels and B&B's in Venice, but the staff is what makes this lovely, LOVELY place so very special. Beyond helpful...restaurant suggestions, directions to a local grocery, to the bus station, bus schedules...you name it, if you needed it, they would help you. We would not hesitate to return again and again. The Thompson's offer a huge THANK YOU for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hugs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,157 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,977 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,889 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antiche Figure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiche Figure

Address: Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £90 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiche Figure 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antiche Figure is inside a beautiful XV century building overlooking the Grand Canal, very close to the main entrances of the city, Piazzale Roma (Bus Station, parkings and transfers to / from Marco Polo and Treviso airports), Central Trains Station (S. Lucia), Venice Shore. It's the ideal starting point to experience the atmosphere between 'calli' and 'campielli'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antiche Figure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Figure Hotel
Antiche Figure Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing