We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Find on the Grand Canal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Antiche Figure
Ranked #10 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find on the Grand Canal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Loved this hotel! After staying in Rome and Florence, this hotel made the others pale by comparison. My daughter and I stayed here, in room 418 May 21 to May 23, 2014. We had a lovely twin room on the 4th floor. The room was clean, and I was thrilled to have both a bath tub and a shower! The air conditioning worked well as did the wifi. Other hotels we had stayed at had spotty wifi at best, which is an annoyance when you are trying to map a location or get information on sights you may be visiting. Also important to note: The roooms must have been soundproofed - we couldn't hear any noise from the train station or grand canal. I couldn't even hear the shower running in the bathroom! The location was perfect for us, as we didn't want to be lugging our suitcases on the vaparetto. It was also great when leaving Venice, as the bus station to the airport is a very short walk. The breakfast was amazing! We had a large selection of fruit, juices, capuccino, rolls, lunch meats, etc. The front desk staff were welcoming and delightful to talk to. Their suggestions for restaurants and navigating the streets of Venice were extrememly helpful! Grazie to the wonderful staff there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starchild0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,865
    548
    59
    7
    3
See reviews for
684
2,003
71
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Arrived frustrated and tired 4hrs later than planned thanks to French Air traffic controllers, yet again. It was like being greeted as if we were arriving at a friends house. We took a water taxi from Marco polo airport ( shared water taxis are a good idea only just over a normal motor taxi cost. and were dropped off at a landing stage 20 metres from the hotel. we had what i suspect was one of the smaller rooms on the 4th floor but it was immaculately decorated with quality finishes. Originally thought about eating but as it was late the concierge offered to ring a few restuarants locally but on balance we decided to just have a drink which we took at the small tables at the front of the hotel overlooking the Grand canal. The location is good away from the madness of St marks square but with everything easily accessible via vaporetto or by a 30 min stroll throuh the back lanes. We always chose vaporetto. Breakfast is a cold buffet but with proper coffee , all varieties, made on demand. Every member of staff we met was smiling and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our short pre cruise stay. On leaving the hotel got us a porter 5 euros per case who took our cases to the people mover to transfer to thecruise terminal . The offered a water taxi but pointed out 70 euro cost compared with Euro 12.
Very happy and will use again rather than the more expensive Bauer we used last time

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithg1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

If you arrive by bus or train this is very well situated, just across the Grand Canal from train station and a short walk to the bus station. It's on the grand canal and you can relax at the tables out front while enjoying a drink and in the morning take you breakfast out there. The staff are very friendly and helpful, they seem to really want you to return. They offered advice on places to visit on our short stay but were happy to let us make our own way when we told them it was our 4th visit to Venice and the last stop on a train trip. There are only a few rooms but there is a lift and everything was just right. There was a good choice at breakfast but don't expect a cooked option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a good hotel and we enjoyed our stay. The room is good (small as you would expect in Venice) but everything is clean and it was kitted up to a good standard. The breakfast is tasty and the made-to-order coffees are a nice touch. Location is excellent, though possibly a bit of a trek for some from the main sites around St Mark's Square (we enjoyed the wandering so this was probably a plus for us).

The only downside is that they have rather skimped on staff. We had to wait quite a while to check in - a problem which would never have arisen if they'd simply had two people at reception (or somebody available to be called) in the middle of the afternoon when we arrived. Staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful but for people who had issues the staff simply didn't have good enough language skilsl (French or English) to help properly. Again, not a problem for us but we saw other guests getting somewhat flustered. Given the quality of the rest of the hotel and the price for a room, the staffing was a rather surprising and disappointing oversight.

Room Tip: If you stay for several days you seem to get an upgrade automatically - at least that's what hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AleForna, Direttore at Hotel Antiche Figure, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest, Londoner135,
we thank you for your review, we will pay attention to your suggestions.

We are really very touched about your sentence
"staffing was a rather surprising and disappointing".
We are really sorry we did not meet your expectations but we want you to know that we tried to do our best even if it was not enough for you!

Through your review we would like to explain to future Guests how we normally solve the little problems you noticed in our organization.

Ladies working in the breakfast room are not fluent in English but there is always a Receptionist supporting them during our breakfast time and you can ask him/her anything you may need.
On arrival we explain to our Guests how breakfast will be served,
our breakfast is a buffet breakfast then it is very easy to serve yourself or ask to our staff anything you need.

In the afternoon whe have 2 people on duty running the Reception and the little Bar,
sometimes when we have different Clients arriving at the same time, it could happen that they have to wait a few minutes but for sure no more than 5 to 10 minutes.

You know dear Guest, we accept your critics and we will keep them in mind but we would like you to know that we work very hard every day to do our best and to offer to our Guests the most pleasent stay.

Hoping to welcoming you back in the future,
we wish you all the best,
regards,
Alessandro Fornasier
Manager
Hotel Antiche Figure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
515 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 929 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had an amazing couple of days here last week. Loved the hotel and loved Venice.

Before Arrival:
I had recently had an accident and felt that a water taxi would make it easier from the airport. The hotel arranged this and also confirmed reservation at local restaurant for our first night. Extremely helpful.

Airport to hotel:
A private taxi was sorted to take us from the terminal entrance to the port to save pulling suitcases. The water taxi waiting and took us on an incredible 30 minute journey right to the front of the hotel. This was simply the way to arrive in Venice and an experience that fully justified the cost. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Venice.

Arrival:
We arrived at about 11am and two of the three rooms were already ready for us. The hotel staff expected us, checked how the water taxi had gone and made us extremely welcome.

Rooms (315,114 and 115):
Felt like 'home' as soon as we arrived. Really comfortable, wonderfully decorated, and a decent size. At a stretch there was a side view of the grand canal. Bathrooms were great as well. Beds we very comfortable. Overall, great rooms!

Location:
Great for arrival via train or bus yet also on the grand canal. Took us about 10-15 minutes gentle walk to Rialto and took the Vaparetto to St Mark's. That said, our favourite part of Venice was not the famous sites, but just walking around the area directly behind the hotel along small canals with some really nice small shops.

Breakfast:
Was very busy just after 9am. A nice continental breakfast and great coffee to start the day.

Bar:
Nice little bar where we had a few drinks at very reasonable prices and well looked after by staff.

Staff:
Other reviews are spot on. Some of the best staff we have come across anywhere in the world. This includes the cleaners as well. Everyone wants to make your stay perfect. Thank you to everyone!


Our few days in Venice were just great. I am sure we will return. It almost felt like a massive adult theme park (Disney) that puts visitors in an amazing place that is completely geared towards their enjoyment. If we do return, we will absolutely stay at the Antiche Figure.

Room Tip: There all seems very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We chose this hotel on the basis of previous Tripadvisor reviews and were certainly not disappointed. Friendly and helpful staff who gladly provide sound advice for travel and places to eat. Room was immaculate with charming rococo features including a Murano chandelier and damask fabric wall coverings, a new carpet and solid marble bathroom tiles and fittings. Breakfast was very good and the coffee excellent. The location is perfect for bus, rail and vaporetto connections and being positioned opposite the modernist rail station does not detract from the view over the Grand Canal. I imagine you would certainly struggle to find any better value in this price range.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MintSauce0-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, during that time the staff went out of their way to help and were always cordial. The rooms were clean and recently decorated, breakfast was good, and the breakfast rooms were also clean and well decorated. Overall a very happy experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellys_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#36 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antiche Figure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiche Figure

Property: Hotel Antiche Figure
Address: Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiche Figure 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antiche Figure is inside a beautiful XV century building overlooking the Grand Canal, very close to the main entrances of the city, Piazzale Roma (Bus Station, parkings and transfers to / from Marco Polo and Treviso airports), Central Trains Station (S. Lucia), Venice Shore. It's the ideal starting point to experience the atmosphere between 'calli' and 'campielli'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antiche Figure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Figure Hotel
Antiche Figure Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing