We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Suite near Grand Canal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Antiche Figure
Ranked #10 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Romantic Suite near Grand Canal”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and it was perfect for our honeymoon. We received a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite with a canopy bed. Beautiful silk wall coverings and white painted furniture made the room feel bright, airy and romantic. We were steps away from the Guglie Bridge and walked the entire city. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I love this charming hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyCent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,912
    553
    60
    7
    3
See reviews for
693
2,034
74
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hadley, New York
Level Contributor
247 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We found this hotel online while researching for our two week trip to Italy. Based on the Tripadvisor reviews we booked the hotel.

After arriving by train from Bologna - we were pleased to discover the hotel is right across the grand canal from the train station - literally a 3 minute walk. Kinda sucky with two large suitcases, but still a great location. It's not the the craziness by the Railto bridge. There are a few terrific restaruants right around the corner.

We stayed in one of the apartment style rooms down the allyway next to the main hotel. No lift and on 3rd floor. Not a problem for us - but felt bad for the guy who brought our suitcases up on a 90 degree day. The room was very nice, super clean and they provide everything right down to a toothbrush and toothpaste!

The hotel provides breakfast - which we only ate one of the three days we stayed. It was okay - not the best breakfast I've had in Italy - but filled our bellies for the 8 hour flight back to the States.

Everyone at the hotel were super nice and accomodating. The area is very safe to walk around at night. The air conditioning in the room was sufficient but being so hot out we like the room to be very cool. The mini frig is stocked with beer, liquor and water for a reasonable cost. The noise level is okay - there were people in the room next to us that had smaller children that were a little on the noisy side - didn't bother us too much, just noticeable.

The location is perfect! We would stay at this hotel again when visiting Venice! It's a lovely romantic island city! Bring your walking shoes! The bus station is a 10 minute walk and only six euros for transport to the airport. I gave it four stars based on the AC and the breakfast. Otherwise everything else was great!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We caught the bus from the airport to Piazzale Roma. We saw the large bridge right in front of us and followed the instructions. From Piazzale Roma, proceed to the Grand Canal. Once there, do NOT cross the new bridge, Ponte della Costituzione, turn right and walk along the Grand Canal bank, after crossing two small bridges (1st bridge is a green bridge), you will see the hotel. Note the two bridges do have stairs so if you have luggage be prepared to pick the bags up and carry them. We were on a cruise and so to get to the ship all we had to do was back to Piazalle Roma and at the other end of the square was a train called the people mover for 1.30 Euro it took us to the ship. Brilliant!. I understand there is a shuttle bus but the people mover worked for us. Super fast, one stop. The hotel was opposite the vaporetto ferrovia which is like a water bus. Nice cheap wasy way to get around if you get lost walking which we did. The breakfast was very good, with unlimted cappuccino. Fab and the hotel is on the canal.The water front rooms were more expensive so we did not stay in one but the room was fine. The have both 110 and 240V for electrical stuff but if you you use the 110 it is very slow, to charge. The room was small but perfectly acceptable and typically European. No fridge but there was a safe. They have elevators. The distance to St Marks is not close so be prepared to walk for a bit or catch the Vaporetto. The hotel is also right opposite the train station. I thought the location of the hotel was perfect. I really liked the hotel staff. I would absolutely stay again as I think it is good value.

Room Tip: If the view is important to you then ask for a room overlooking the canal. We spent all day walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sushila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
312 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Hotel Antiche Figure is across the canal from the train station. The major tourist sites are a 20 minute walk away, but the water taxi and public transportation are readily available. Our room was fantastic and the front desk went above and beyond expectations. There are many good restaurants in the area and a gondola outfitter outside the front door of the hotel. With no streeets there is no traffic noise. The Hotel Atiche Figure is definitely on the "highly recommended" list.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delnor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Getting to the hotel from the bus station is very easy: cross the bridge, turn left at the park and the hotel is just around the corner. From the moment we arrived, the staff at the hotel were superb! We chose an upgraded room on the 3rd floor with a canal view for the first 6 nights. It was luxurious and had elegant Murano chandeliers, with 2 small beds added for the children. Breakfasts (cold buffet) were delicious and the staff surprised me with a chocolate cake on the morning of my birthday. Helpful advice, tips for the best shops for certain things and always a big smile - every single staff member made a fantastic effort to make our holiday special. Our last night was spent in the family studio attic apartment in the Annexe. It was very stylish and hidden away, in its little attic space and roof terrace. It also had a very well appointed kitchen, 2 TVs and great bathroom with a skylight. Both the canal and Annexe rooms had great soundproofing, so we slept really well. It is a short walk over the bridge to get to the waterbus station and we bought a 7 day pass for all of us. Even exploring the area around the hotel yields many interesting sights, amazing little restaurants (like Colpo de Mato where we ate a few times; their Gnocchi Bolognese is superb), Billa grocery store for all your needs, the laundromat and the prettiest ceramic studio where the artist creates her wares and her friendly studio cat preens in the window. Across the bridge from the hotel is the main shopping road, with a pharmacy close by. It takes you all the way to Rialto Bridge, but if you stop in each shop, you will need more than one day! Most tourists walk that way, so it becomes quite crowded. The best advice is to get a map from the hotel and just pick a direction. Getting lost is the best way to see everything, wander all the winding little streets and have a lot of fun along the way. The St Simeon Piccolo church next door is beautiful, but only opens on Sundays for 11 am Mass. Non-Catholics are welcome to attend the service and to hear the Gregorian singing. It was lovely to sit outside the hotel and have breakfast, watching normal Venetians go about their daily business. Evenings were relaxing, sipping an Orange Spritz outside the hotel, enjoying the spectacular sunsets. The complimentary Murano boat trip was fun and the glass museum had exquisite pieces inside - such a pity photography is not allowed. They do drop the price considerably (more than 50%), so take your time and bargain if you really want one of the glass pieces. Some days we just took boat rides along the Grand Canal to enjoy the sights. Burano was a wonderful trip too, and the rain helped get rid of most of the tourists so that we could take more people-free photos. Keep an eye out for the 1 Euro stores - they have many bargains. Other stores had 50% sales too, very useful for stocking up on gifts. The curio kiosks along the streets do give a discount if you buy a few pieces. Similarly, some of the shops give a discount too, if you ask politely. Do remember to pack enough mosquito repellent! We did not use it every day and had quite a few mosquito bites as a result. The casino charges a 10 Euro entry fee and is open from 11 am to 2 am. The Doge's Palace is a must-see and the Secret Itineraries tour is very informative too. Will definitely stay at this lovely hotel again!

Room Tip: Canal view if you like people-watching and seeing the river traffic and night life. Annexe room if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M00nberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Though, the hotel is not luxurious, it is comfortable and simple. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located right across from the station (Venezia S Lucia ).It is a very convenient spot that still has a lot of people even late a night, which makes it safer than some of the hotels inside the alleys. It is also close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

On stepping out of the train station at VENICE we were thrilled at the Grand Canal glinting in the sunshine before us, and to see our hotel sitting delicately right across.
We were a largeish group of 14, and had booked all the possible combinations, The canal view rooms are truly gorgeous. But our rooms and suite in the Annexe were also were also perfectly good. and with the Grand Canal right outside I dont think we missed the window views.
The hotel staff are super helpful and friendly. The breakfast is fabulous. We specially enjoyed sitting outside and enjoying the view of life in Venice go by as we nibbled on cheese or sipped coffee on a lazy morning.
It does add to the Venice experience that you dont have to trudge around with luggage hunting for your hotel and that you can sit out even at 2.00 am and enjoy the grand spectacle of the Canal.
We also enjoyed the free Murano tour organised by the hotel, and the boys enjoyed their outing to the Casino at night.
We only wish we could have stayed longer at the Antiche Figure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antiche Figure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiche Figure

Property: Hotel Antiche Figure
Address: Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiche Figure 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antiche Figure is inside a beautiful XV century building overlooking the Grand Canal, very close to the main entrances of the city, Piazzale Roma (Bus Station, parkings and transfers to / from Marco Polo and Treviso airports), Central Trains Station (S. Lucia), Venice Shore. It's the ideal starting point to experience the atmosphere between 'calli' and 'campielli'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Antiche Figure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Figure Hotel
Antiche Figure Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing