We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel in a unique and beautiful city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Antiche Figure
Ranked #7 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2009

My fiancee and I booked this hotel on the basis of the reviews we had read on Tripadvisor. We travelled to Venice on 16th February for a 2 night stay. The trip was a 60th birthday present for my fiancee's mother who was also on the trip. We had requested 2 rooms with views over the Grand Canal. Both rooms were very clean and furnished to a very high standard. High ceilings, and thick cream carpet. My only minor disapointment was the fact that the LCD television was not picking up any channels in our room. This was not important to us as we had no intention to spend any time in our room watching the tv when one of the most interesting cities in the world lay outside our hotel. We didnt bother to report it to hotel staff. However, I am sure had we done so, the matter would have been resolved immediately. The staff in the hotel were second to none. They could not have been more helpful or friendly. We were given great recomendations in terms of restaurants, sightseeing locations and airport transfers.
I cannot speak highly enough of the staff at this hotel. The manager, the concierge, the cleaner were all very approachable and made you feel very welcome.
The hotel is located in the north of the city near to Ferrovia, the train station. A Waterbus terminal was literally a stones throw from the hotel. We tended to catch the water bus back to the hotel at the end of a busy days walking. Part of the fun of Venice is walking through and over the narrow side streets and bridges. Plenty of hidden gems lie in wait in the form of churches, shops and world class photo backdrops. This city is truly unique and a must visit to any true traveller. A stay at The Hotel Antiche Figure only adds to the magic experience of Venice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottjohndavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,648 - 2,654 of 3,959 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Antiche Figure between 13 February and 17 February, coming to Venice for the Carnivale 2009 festivities. We stayed in room 312, overlooking the Grand Canal. What was best is that the room had apparently just been recently renovated, as the room smelled of freshly laid carpet (and yes, you could tell it was definitely new carpet). First and foremost, the room was incredible: greenish marble backroom, with antique-style fixtures; the bedroom was presented in very relaxing colors, beige, blue, gold, and yellow, with a lovely chandelier and sitting area; windows looked out onto the Grand Canal (see photos). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, greeting us every morning with a "Buongiorno," and ending every night with a welcoming phrase (thanks to the night manager, I think named Enrico ?). The hotel was well positioned up near Piazalle Roma and the train station, with easy links to the mainland. There were also plenty of gondolas and water taxis around as well, and the hotel was happy to arrange. I think the best thing about this hotel was that you had excellent access to "off the beaten path" Venice. So, easy access to the historical Jewish Ghetto in Cannaregio, wonderful shops around the Grand Canal right across the Ponte degli Scalzi, short walk to the famous Casino de Venezia (wear a suit or sportscoat, guys), and more, and more, and more. I'll be honest: crossing the Scalzi bridge and walking along the canal, you are talking a 30-40 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge, then a further 10 minutes to the Piazza San Marco. However, we found the areas in the more touristy neighborhoods to be overrun with people, busy, and loud. It was a welcome change, after a long day of photos, sightseeing, walking tours, boat rides, and cappuccinos, to come back and find a nice, lovely, quiet hotel waiting to welcome us with a much needed night of recharging sleep. And the walk to and fro the hotel alone was worth it, making your way through side streets, past the many hidden churches towering in the dark and through the labyrinthine passages that make Venice such a special city (and often at night, when the ghosts of the past really come alive). If this sounds appealing, then Antiche Figure is the hotel for you. So, here is my advice. Read all the reviews, listen to all the opinions, check out all the photos. But the fact is, put aside the hype and rating, and the fact remains: this is an excellent hotel, with excellent value, in an excellent location, and for what it's worth, for us, there was no better place to be in Venice. Full stop. And if you are looking for a lovely venue as well, take a moment and at least consider this lovely little hotel. You will not be the least bit disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkeats149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

The location is perfect for those travelling to Venice for the first time. It is opposite the railway station which makes it easy to find initially and to get around, whether you are walking or taking the water buses.
There are plenty of good restuarants nearby and it is easy to get to the main attractions.
The staff at the hotel were the most helpul of the three hotels we stayed at in Italy and were genuinely interested in the guests. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfasts were good value and the coffees excellent.
Although not an attraction a nearby bonus is the laudramat around the corner since laundry for a family of 6 costs way too much.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank david04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

I booked this hotel due to the rave reviews I read on TripAdvisor. I travel frequently and had high expectations for this hotel before arriving. I am pleased to say that my expectations were not only met, but exceeded. What this hotel has besides a great setting and clean and spacious rooms - it's core competence that sets it apart is its people. They seemed absolutely GENUINE in their approach and care that you have a wonderful time in Venice. From the lady who cleaned the room to Carlo on the front desk in the evenings, all were determined to ensure that my stay was fantastic. For example, after a long day walking around Venice, Carlo served me a drink in the hotel bar and chatted with me just like he was a friend. When faced with high waters from acqua alto, the staff met me at the door with rubber boots to walk me over to a dry area! This is service that I would expect to receive in a 5 star £500 a night hotel - but this hotel is reasonably priced in a fantastic location across from the train station. The delicious chocs on the pillows are a very nice touch as well. Thank you so much Antiche Figure staff - I will be back, :))

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

There's no point in echoing what everyone else has said so will keep it simple. If you want a superb quality hotel with excellent staff, is easy to get to & from and which won't break the bank (unlike EVERYTHING else in Venice!), you will not find a better option.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Juanking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We visited Venice for the first time in pretty awful weather - cold, rainy and snowy, The welcome from the Hotel was really excellent - they upgraded our room at a cost of 25 euro per night, which was a bargain as we had a great view of the Grand Canal for the duration of our 4 nights. The staff were really eager to help and recommended the best ways to get around - the Vaporreto, which are terrific - you see all of life and a fabuloous slow trip into the heart of Venice, or a tour of the lagoons. Don't go to Venice with disablilities - the place is not really equipped for it!

The Hotel is not in the prettiest part of Venice - it is quite a way from the centre but travelling by water bus into the centre is a great trip on its own. Yous see all the fabulous old palaces and just get off when you see someting you fancy.

The hotel rooms are well fitted, immaculately clean and the linen and towels of first rate quality, although the rooms are perhaps a little on the small side. Although it was an old palace the whole place is fitted to a great spec. The public rooms are too small - the lounge area and the breakfast area are actually quite small, however, wherever we went in Venice the intenal areas are not large. This is not a capital city like London, Paris, but anybody who is a romantic at heart will adore the place - it epitomises charm.

Venice for Brits is eye-wateringly expensive particularly with a devalued pound so be prepared!

The trip to the Murano glass factory is a must - you are under strong pressure to buy so if you don't want to buy DO NOT GO. However the trip by water taxi is great - as is the return trip.

Restaurants recommeded by marco were great - there is a lovely pizzeria at the back of the hotel worth eating at - just ask the staff -
they could not be more helpful. We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank andcommentary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

We stayed here for two nights and arrived by train. The hotel was extremely easy to find as it's just opposite the train station - getting bags over the bridge wasn't a problem as we only had one bag each on wheels. Our room (we were told it was their best room) was on the top floor and had dual aspect windows overlooking the Grand Canal. We had an enormous bed and the room was decorated beaufully in fairly typical Venetian opulent style. It wasn't the cheapest hotel we stayed on our travels around Italy but it was the best in terms of size, decoration and location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tournz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,215 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,021 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 387 in Venice
1,956 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 387 in Venice
864 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#76 of 387 in Venice
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antiche Figure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiche Figure

Address: Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £110 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiche Figure 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antiche Figure is inside a beautiful XV century building overlooking the Grand Canal, very close to the main entrances of the city, Piazzale Roma (Bus Station, parkings and transfers to / from Marco Polo and Treviso airports), Central Trains Station (S. Lucia), Venice Shore. It's the ideal starting point to experience the atmosphere between 'calli' and 'campielli'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Antiche Figure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Figure Hotel
Antiche Figure Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing