We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Antiche Figure
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient and more”
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My 2 kids and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights prior to our departure for a Mediterranean Cruise. It was too easy to get to. I didn't want to lug our luggage all around Venice looking for our hotel so I picked this one for what seemed like convenience. It all worked out. It is close to the bus station and train station. Also, it was nice and convenient when the morning came to depart for our cruise. The area is lively but not crazy. We did end up in an apartment instead of the actual hotel but it was right by the hotel and had a video camera system to get you into the building and I felt totally safe at all times. The room was gorgeous so no complaints there. The breakfast was typical European but we left full every morning before our adventures into Venice. Would highly suggest it to anyone wanting to stay on the island. If I go and stay on the island again, I will likely chose this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,902
    553
    60
    7
    3
See reviews for
691
2,028
73
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I don't know what else I can say about Antiche Figure that hasn't already been said! The location is great. It's a 20 minute walk to St. Mark's but honestly, that isn't where a visitor to Venice should spend much time. Instead, wander the side streets and canals and get as lost as possible! For this experience, Antiche Figure is perfect - it's location across from the Ferrovia makes it easy to find your way home no matter where you are since there are signs all over Venice for "alla Ferrovia". Plus, the hotel's location on the Grand Canal makes it easy to access the vaporetto, train, water taxi and gondola. You don't have to worry about dragging your luggage all over the city when entering and leaving Venice.

The hotel itself is beautiful - we stayed in two different rooms during our 7-night stay and both exceeded our expectations. The first room was in the main building and was decorated in traditional Venetian style with Murano fixtures and a lovely marble bath. However, the room was small for three people so we moved after three nights to a suite in the adjacent building. What a gem! These rooms are more modern but very luxurious from the floors to the linens and even the ceilings. There are some minor drawback to staying in this building: is there is no elevator and if you're on the top level expect to climb two flights of stairs. Also, the bedroom of the suite was dark...additional lighting would be welcomed. We found the beds to be harder in the newer rooms but the front desk can provide a soft pad that solves the problem - be sure to ask for it if you're not accustomed to a very firm mattress. The marble bathroom with modern fixtures was fantastic - we enjoyed the shower and it had very good water pressure.

Lastly, I can't say enough good things about all the staff at Antiche Figure, specifically Carlo. They are all so warm and friendly and speak excellent English. Carlo became our new best friend in Venice and never failed to be there with helpful advice on sightseeing, restaurants, and everything in general.

Staying at Antiche Figure was a huge part of our wonderfully perfect Venice experience and we are eternally grateful to the staff for their role in making our trip so memorable. If you want to experience Venice in a personal way don't stay at any other hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We stayed in the Altiche Figure for along weekend at the end of March. The hotel continues to maintain the high standard that numerous reviewers have previously mentioned.
We upgraded to a junior suite on arrival. The suites are located in a separate building at the rear of the hotel which means there are no views of the canal but you have the advantage of not having the general noise of the canal traffic. The standard of the rooms are extreemly high with a separate sitting area and cleverly designed small kitchen hidden behind smoked glass doors - not that we used it, but it was there if we had wanted to!
The staff contine to be extreemly friendly and helpful and go out of their way to ensure you have a good stay. At breakfast you are offered a cup of 'proper' coffee rather than that from the instant coffee machine in the breakfast room. The selection at breakfast was more than adequate for all but those guest who think if it's not what they have at home then it's not good!
The location of the hotel is ideal, being only a couple of hundred meters from the bus station with its direct transfers to and from the airport (€3 each way). Getting about on the water bus is easy but I would recommend walking, as even the small back streets have signs directing you to Rialto or St Marks (or Ferovia to get you back to the hotel). The range of shops you can find in these small streets are amazing and you seem to find a different route and different things to see each day.
We were told that the Altiche Figure will soon be opening a new 4* hotel on the Grand Canal. If they maintain their current standards - and service seems to come naturally to them - then the new hotel should be something to look forward to for a future visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Antiche Figure. The staff graciously held our bags for us as we checked in early. They even had them bags waiting for us in our room when we got back which was nice. The room itself was great with a nice view of the canal. The bathroom was quite large compared to other hotels in Italy. They offered computer access down in the reception area for free.

All of the hotels in Venice seem to be expensive so while this was one was also high in my opinion, the value was still good. But the location was great in terms of easy access to the train station. Really can't beat that.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank facemask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Good hotel, very easy to find esp. for first time visitors to Venezia. Excellent service. Disappointingly small room at side of hotel which was a little dark .

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddiemitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Antiche Figure hotel from March 28 - April 3 (7 Days & 6 Nights) and the reviews are dead-on accurate. Our last stay in Venice was 10 years ago when we were backpacking Europe, and frankly we now like to go back here every 1 or 2 years ... now that we can afford more a luxurious traveling lifestyle. This was the perfect spot for us. We were looking for a room decorated in traditional Venetian style and we got it. We also wanted a room overlooking the canal, and got that too. After several emails with Gianni, Michele, Yisel, we got the room we wanted. The Blue rooms are overlooking the canal and is excellent if we want to enjoy the views outside or just watch the new arriving crowds from the train station. I just hope Antiche Figure keep their prices reasonable and affordable and they will remain one of the best valued hotel in Venice. When we arrived, Carlo was very nice and showed us around, giving us a choice of the traditional rooms or brand new suite in another building (with hydro-massage showers). We opted for the traditional Venetian room overlooking the canal, just as we planned. The bed was very nice and soft. The bathroom/toilet is Italian marble and very well appointed. The bath tub can be slippery, so be careful. The cold breakfast was superb - ham, salami, and bolognia, cappucino, orange juice, serial and milk, and croissants. And if ever there's a need for improvement, I would say - hot scrambled eggs and bacon :) We also booked a Vivaldi Concert (Le Quattro Staggioni) and we enjoyed it thoroughly. I talked to Francesca and she said I should go to the concert where they wear the 18th century musician customs and we took her advice. Mikhael booked us without a problem and we got front row seating. Vivaldi, a son of Venice, just like Mozart is a son of Salzburg, should be heard when you are in Venice. Le Quattro Staggioni (The Four Seasons) is one of my favorite classical masterpieces and this completed my stay in Venice. Since the Antiche Figure is just across the train station, my wife and I went to Verona for a day's trip. We visited Casa Guiletta (the home with a balcony where Romeo climbed to see Juilette or Guiletta). Verona is also very nice. And we came back to a nice hotel after a tiring day. If you are ever tired of walking, the Antiche Figure hotel is also just across the Vaporetto stop. You can get a 36 hour pass for 23 euro or a 72 hour pass for 33 euro. You can get to San Marco, Rialto, Murano, Lido, Guidecca, and Georgio easily. We like to walk, so it was OK not to stay near San Marco - the point is to walk and get lost in Venice. And everytime we come back to the hotel after a tiring day of sightseeing, Mikhael, Carlo, Francesca, and Gianni would always greet us with a smile if they were not busy serving other guests. The friendly atmosphere and culture of the staff is worth 5-star. As they say, it's not just the place, it's the people. Combine the nice rooms, the location, the service and welcoming staff, and the price .. and you got a great value hotel that is more than three-stars in my book. I hope they offer discounts for loyal guests. My wife said she will only stay in this hotel in the future, and I agree with her.
If you ever wonder with this hotel is called 'Antiche Figure' .. it's because they found an 1860 photo of this building. And in that photo, there were fresco paintings of antique figures on the facade of the building that is now this hotel. Unfortunately, the painted frescos has washed out. I hope that the owner restore the Fresco painting - that would be awesome. A lot of buildings in Venice are undergoing restoration, so why not restore the fresco paintings outside the Antiche Figure? Thanks again Antiche Figure for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Located virtually opposite the train station, separated by the grand canal. Only problem was that we had to cross a bridge to get to the hotel, which was a bit more tiring with an infant, stroller and 2 heavy suitcases. Hotel staff are excellent and as mentioned on another review, can make excellent suggestions for restaurants. We payed a little extra for an upgraded room at the suggestion of staff given our infant. This was located in a new separate part of the hotel down the side alley. This room was more spacious than their regular rooms and also had a small kitchenette, which we appreciated given our infant. The kitchenette looked like it was rarely used and lacked kitchen utensils, but the staff did provide items at our request. Overall, very satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impressionistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antiche Figure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiche Figure

Property: Hotel Antiche Figure
Address: Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiche Figure 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antiche Figure is inside a beautiful XV century building overlooking the Grand Canal, very close to the main entrances of the city, Piazzale Roma (Bus Station, parkings and transfers to / from Marco Polo and Treviso airports), Central Trains Station (S. Lucia), Venice Shore. It's the ideal starting point to experience the atmosphere between 'calli' and 'campielli'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antiche Figure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Figure Hotel
Antiche Figure Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing