We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Antiche Figure
Ranked #10 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Venice was a beautiful city and the fact that we stayed in a great hotel so close from the parkade made getting in and out easy.

Having never been to Venice before I didn't know what to expect regarding hotel rooms. I booked this hotel because it was highly rated on Tripadvisor and everything from all the reviews are bang on!

Would highly recommend this hotel for the location, the food and the service. When we checked out the manager came over to me and asked how our stay was and asked if there was anything they could have done better for the next time we stay. That was appreciated.

The quickest way to get to the hotel is to NOT cross the main bridge over the grand canel but stay to the right and head towards the highest green roof Cathedral after your second smaller bridge.

You will not be disappointed with your stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NonRIUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,734)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Antiche Figure
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,438 - 2,444 of 3,734 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2009

About this hotel. Yes, the friendliness of the staff is quite amazing, you feel that you have come to visit old friends. You only had to ask for something and it was done straightaway. The location of the hotel is perfect - our room overlooked the Grand Canal and there was such a great atmosphere when you stood on the balcony and watched the world go by. One reviewer commented that there was a lot of noise from the water buses on the Canal, however we found the double glazing extremely effective in excluding the noise and were not at all affected by it. The staff were also so helpful in advising where to visit, the best way to get there, when to go and went to great pains to point you in the right direction.

Apart from the excellent hotel, we absolutely loved Venice, the sights, the sounds, the atmosphere - all were so thoroughly enjoyable and so uniquely Venice! Do make sure you wear good walking shoes though, as we were told the best way to see Venice is to get lost there! You can see so much more if you wander down all the little back streets. But take a map! Also there is just nowhere to sit down unless you sit at one of the many cafes but you have to order something, you can't just rest for 10 minutes.

One thing to bear in mind - Venice is very expensive! We were expecting this and as we live in London thought we should be used to that but were quite shocked when we visited the renowned Cafe Florian and the bill came to 60 euros for two coffees, one diet coke and one chocolate cake!!! Plus you are charged extra (6 euros per person) for the benefit of listening to the music being played outside! Still you have to do these things once in a lifetime at least. We also did the gondola ride, 80 euros, but again if you go to Venice you just HAVE to do it. Do visit as many of the churches as you can fit in, they are all so awe inspiring. We were only there for 2 days and felt that we should have stayed at least another day, hopefully we will return at some point in the future and make sure that we add an extra day.

For all those intending to visit Venice - do stay at this hotel and enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My wife and I chose Venice to spend a few quiet days reconnecting after nearly a year of separation during my assignment in Iraq. I cannot imagine a nicer place than the Antiche Figure. We took a junior suite in a separate building a few steps down the calle away from the noise and bustle of the Grand Canal. The bedroom was bright and airy with a small separate sitting room and tiny kitchenette built into the wall. Perfect. Carlos, Jani, and Michel took care of every request, serving us a Spritz Venezio in the early evening in front of the hotel where we could watch the boats ply the canal as the sun set, and then suggesting a restaurant for the evening meal. Make sure you get directions and be prepared to wander and ask for help, but don't give up, these guys know their restaurants and clientele. We had the gnocchi and crab sauce at "Giorgione" on their recommendation, with a bottle of Paladin Salbonello. Wonderful! The next night was a bottle of Valpolicella Brigaldera at "Fontego dei Piscatore", where the owner, Mr. Lolo, insisted we try the cuttlefish pasta. Wow! Breakfasts were a quiet simple delight. Make sure you go to the first stop to get vaporetto #1 for your Grand Canal cruise; you'll be sure to get a bow seat in the open. (Francesca advised us to do this.) The trip to Murano for a glass factory tour is worth it just for the private water taxi ride out to the island. The sales pitch after the tour is relentless, but the glass is astoundingly beautiful. The Anitche's location is the best in Venice, just steps from the train station and a nice walk to everywhere in the city. We took the vaporetto along the canal to a starting point each day and walked from there. Many thanks to all the great people at the Antiche Figure for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCKFallsChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We turned up with two children under 5 and were quickly offered to trade in our canal view room for a backstreet apartment much cheaper which was perfect for us and kept the noise away from the honeymoorners! Location was great and service very good.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteRome_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We usually stay in an apartment on the grand canal when we visit Venice, but as this was unavailable thought we'd try the Antiche Figure. We needn't have been apprehensive - the hotel and staff were excellent. We felt that our room at the side of the hotel was rather dark, but we weren't in Venice for the room! Next time we'll book a room overlooking the canal.
The outstanding thing for us was the service.... friendly staff who aim to please can be something of a rarity, but everyone who works at this hotel wants their guests to feel comfortable and to get the most out of their visit to Venice. Great value breakfasts at only 7 euros get you off to a great start to your sightseeing day - well worth the money. This hotel deserves its high placing on the best hotels list.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daze9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My 2 kids and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights prior to our departure for a Mediterranean Cruise. It was too easy to get to. I didn't want to lug our luggage all around Venice looking for our hotel so I picked this one for what seemed like convenience. It all worked out. It is close to the bus station and train station. Also, it was nice and convenient when the morning came to depart for our cruise. The area is lively but not crazy. We did end up in an apartment instead of the actual hotel but it was right by the hotel and had a video camera system to get you into the building and I felt totally safe at all times. The room was gorgeous so no complaints there. The breakfast was typical European but we left full every morning before our adventures into Venice. Would highly suggest it to anyone wanting to stay on the island. If I go and stay on the island again, I will likely chose this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I don't know what else I can say about Antiche Figure that hasn't already been said! The location is great. It's a 20 minute walk to St. Mark's but honestly, that isn't where a visitor to Venice should spend much time. Instead, wander the side streets and canals and get as lost as possible! For this experience, Antiche Figure is perfect - it's location across from the Ferrovia makes it easy to find your way home no matter where you are since there are signs all over Venice for "alla Ferrovia". Plus, the hotel's location on the Grand Canal makes it easy to access the vaporetto, train, water taxi and gondola. You don't have to worry about dragging your luggage all over the city when entering and leaving Venice.

The hotel itself is beautiful - we stayed in two different rooms during our 7-night stay and both exceeded our expectations. The first room was in the main building and was decorated in traditional Venetian style with Murano fixtures and a lovely marble bath. However, the room was small for three people so we moved after three nights to a suite in the adjacent building. What a gem! These rooms are more modern but very luxurious from the floors to the linens and even the ceilings. There are some minor drawback to staying in this building: is there is no elevator and if you're on the top level expect to climb two flights of stairs. Also, the bedroom of the suite was dark...additional lighting would be welcomed. We found the beds to be harder in the newer rooms but the front desk can provide a soft pad that solves the problem - be sure to ask for it if you're not accustomed to a very firm mattress. The marble bathroom with modern fixtures was fantastic - we enjoyed the shower and it had very good water pressure.

Lastly, I can't say enough good things about all the staff at Antiche Figure, specifically Carlo. They are all so warm and friendly and speak excellent English. Carlo became our new best friend in Venice and never failed to be there with helpful advice on sightseeing, restaurants, and everything in general.

Staying at Antiche Figure was a huge part of our wonderfully perfect Venice experience and we are eternally grateful to the staff for their role in making our trip so memorable. If you want to experience Venice in a personal way don't stay at any other hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,072 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,926 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#28 of 385 in Venice
876 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,147 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antiche Figure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiche Figure

Address: Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £98 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiche Figure 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antiche Figure is inside a beautiful XV century building overlooking the Grand Canal, very close to the main entrances of the city, Piazzale Roma (Bus Station, parkings and transfers to / from Marco Polo and Treviso airports), Central Trains Station (S. Lucia), Venice Shore. It's the ideal starting point to experience the atmosphere between 'calli' and 'campielli'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Antiche Figure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Figure Hotel
Antiche Figure Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing