We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly convenient location with exceptional staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Antiche Figure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Antiche Figure
Ranked #9 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly convenient location with exceptional staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

My wife and I always look for good value "boutique" hotels when we travel, realizing we are going to spend little time in the room, but still not wanting the chain hotel feel. In Venice, that is not difficult to do and we had several choices. We selected the hotel Antiche Figure for convenience, based on its location right across from the train station. We were given a well-appointed corner room overlooking the grand canal (see photos). The room had everything we needed. Venice was only our second stop in Italy, so although we didn't realize it at first, this turned out to be a reasonably sized room by European standards. My original concern that it would be noisy due to its location did not materialize. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

The continental breakfast was definitely better than average, with a good selection of the usual pastries, apreads, cold cuts, cappucinos, etc. all of high quality and with attentive service.

Although it is not located close to most of the Venice sights, we did not find that to be a problem. We walked through the maze of alleys to a few locations, and took the vaporettos to others. Both of those were great for experiencing Venice, in our opinion.

The clincher for our opinion that this is a great place to stay was how we were helped by the front desk. I mistakenly left the voucher for a prepaid tour of the Doges' Palace in the room and didn't find out until I got to the entrance 25 minutes before the tour start time, so going back to get it was out of the question. As a last resort, I called the front desk, gave them permission to enter our room and described where they would find the voucher. I asked them to fax it to the ticket office. Ten minutes later, we were joining the tour, thanks to the staff's willingness to help.

Overall, a strongly recommended place to stay in Venice. If you have the same experience as we did (minus the forgotten voucher, I hope), you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivaldis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,827
    543
    57
    6
    3
See reviews for
672
1,976
69
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Our stay at the 'Antiche Figure' for two nights was fantastic. The hotel was beautiful and the service was fantastic. We had the deluxe room that has a small balcony and over looks the grand canal, which was great. We actually drove to Venice after initially going to get the train and found that the hotel is within easy walking distance for both. The only possible downside for some people is therefore that you are on the opposite side to the main area around 'San Marco' square. This to us was actually a good thing as it was nice to be away from that whole area at night and around a 30min walk through the streets. You probably see a lot more anyway and may take a lot longer if you are traveling with your wife like me as the shops are never ending.

Breakfast was included in our stay at the hotel and was lovely to eat outside as you watched Venice life walk and float by. All amenities mentioned in the brochures for the hotel are there and most importantly work well. Overall, the hotel itself is fantastic and the staff can't do enough for you. You usually don't even have to ask for something as they are always asking you if there is anything you need or if they can help in any way. The hotel has good management and are a credit to them and the hotel.

We had a fantastic stay and can't recommend the 'Antiche Figure' enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpitzieAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

I have just returned from a truly wonderful holiday in venice my friend and our four daughters ranging in ages from 15-21 stayed at the Hotel Antiche Figure I cant recommend this hotel enough the staff are the most helpful I have ever come across nothing was to much trouble one of our party celebrated a birthday during our stay they organised a beautiful cake for us, offered suggestions on where to eat and places to visit.
The rooms are of a very high quality we were all upgraded to suites upon our arrival which was a lovely surprise. We also liked the location of the hotel as it was away from the hustle and bustle of the Rialto and St Marks area but still within easy reach.

I will return to Venice and the hotel with my husband it was a truly magical holiday and will be recommending the hotel to any one who will listen.

THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF FOR MAKING OUR STAY FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanderchilston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

This hotel is charming. The price is reasonable, and the ammenities are worthwhile. While there's no internet connections in the hotel rooms, there is free internet in the lobby. Our room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is included with the price, and by European standards, the breakfast is elaborate. On our last day, there were torrential rain, and the hotel offered us the use of an umbrella. We've never had that kind of courtesy in the past. Even though it's considered a 3 star hotel, it was much better than the 4 star hotel where we stayed the previous week. When we return to Venice, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bseo-pero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed at the Antiche Figure for 1 night after a Mediterranean cruise. We were a family group of 16, and arranging for 6 rooms (3 triples and 3 doubles) was easily accomplished by email. Our room was a triple--a king size (I think...maybe queen) bed and they brought in a twin. A little small for 3 adults (my husband, 23 yr. old son, and me), but would have been fine for 2 people. It was very charming and the decor was quaint. The front desk was very nice and helpful--we were 16 people pulling luggage after a 12 day cruise, and we arrived around 10 am. They stored our luggage in one room, and the rest of the rooms were ready in a couple hours. The location was extremely convenient from the cruise port. I arranged a transfer to Piazzale Roma through Princess Cruise Lines, and from there we walked (over 2 small bridges) to the hotel. Their website directions were perfect. In hindsight, I would not pay Princess Cruise Lines for the transfer to the Piazzale Rome, which was $24 US per person...a bus ride 3/4 of a mile. I could have arranged 2 water taxis for all 16 of us cheaper...and we would have been taken right to the hotel, since is is on the Grand Canal. Breakfast was OK (no eggs or bacon to the disappointment of my "boys"), and the staff was very nice. The front desk gave us the sales pitch to visit the Murano factory for "free", but we didn't "bite". They also explained how to find your way in Venice. There were signs pointing to The Rialto Bridge or San Marco Square, and then there were signs pointing to Piazzale Rome and Ferrovia (train station) on the return. It was very easy to get to St. Mark's and then get back to our hotel, which was right across from the train station on the Grand Canal. I made the trek twice--once when we arrived (too hot and crowded) and once in the early evening (perfect). We found a great little restaurant between the hotel and San Marco (St. Mark's) that looked like it was frequented by locals. Buy your drinks and souvenirs before you get to San Marco because the price jumps at the Square! I wish we had stayed another day or two in Venice. One day was definitely not enough time!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ktwofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

What a beautiful little hotel! Stayed with my husband and two daughters for 2 nights and loved every minute of it. The girls had a very pretty room on the side with no view and my husband and I were offered an upgrade for half price to a lovely room overlooking the Grand Canal. Both had great bathrooms worthy of a 5 star rating, Everything was spotless and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Great continental breakfast which you can have in there cute little dining room or outside overlooking Grand Canal. Great location close to the bus and train station with many shops and restaurants close by. Decent walk to St Marks but plenty of water transport at your door to get you there. Would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

This hotel was a great value for an expensive city- only 3 stars but I found the breakfast good, the room was nicely decorated ( we stayed in a suite and it accommodated the 5 of us in our family) - The staff were very nice and extremely helpful. the location is excellent across from the train station and right on the Grand Canal. I would highly recommend this hotel for a venice stay

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Italylover1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antiche Figure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiche Figure

Property: Hotel Antiche Figure
Address: Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiche Figure 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antiche Figure is inside a beautiful XV century building overlooking the Grand Canal, very close to the main entrances of the city, Piazzale Roma (Bus Station, parkings and transfers to / from Marco Polo and Treviso airports), Central Trains Station (S. Lucia), Venice Shore. It's the ideal starting point to experience the atmosphere between 'calli' and 'campielli'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Antiche Figure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Figure Hotel
Antiche Figure Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing