We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude and indifferent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torre dell'Orologio Suites
Ranked #265 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hotel is right off San Marco square, which is a good location. Because of this, I think, they feel like they don't have to try at all for customer service because they will book up anyway. After making our way through a crowded city during a taxi strike, we found out that our suites had no lobby so we had to find out way to San Marco Palace to check in, and to do eveything. Totally inconvenient. They were packed with customers so no one seemed to care that we had been promised a room with a canal view, a two bedroom suite, and a suite off the street, none of which happened. In fact, all the patrons at the desk were unhappy which is probably why the staff seemed so miserable and nasty. It was such a stark contrast from our hotels in Rome and Florence. I am just glad that it was not our introduction to Italy because they could not have made us feel less welcome. And that was for a very overpriced suite. I sent the management a note and they just told me that everyone else seemed satisfied, so I guess that is just their attitude. At least it was clean.
Pick somewhere else. You can find way better prices just a couple of minutes toward Rialto bridge. Next time I'll do that too.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room off the street. We had asked and did not get it, but it's worth tryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

The hotel is situated 1h10 min by water bus from the airport. Water bus is 15 euro each way per person or you can take a water taxi for 110 euro and be up to 4 people in it. It's the only way to get there. You exit the water bus to 'San Marco' or 'baccaria' and walk through San Marco square and the basilica to get to the hotel. It's literally 1 min walk to these points of interests. The location couldn't be better. We arrived early (around noon) and we only had to wait 15 min and our suite was ready. Room 123 is very big with a kitchen, huge living room, big bedroom, i didn't find the bed comfortable. I could feel every springs and I was actually 2 twin beds pushed together. the bathroom was very nicely appointment. Breakfast buffet is also included, they serve eggs, yogurt, croissant, cereals, fruit salads etc. the food was just "ok". the staff was nice and helpful and allowed us a late check out as we were still tired from time zone change. This place is at walking distance to the main attractions and lots of restaurants and shopping. Their wifi is very weak and you seem to be only able to access it between the lobby and the dinning room.and even sometimes it wasn't working. No wifi at all in the rooms. This is a very small hotel with only a few rooms. Great for small stays.We only stayed one night pre cruising.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momdad5kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The hotel was located centrally next to St Marks Square which was the major benefit of this hotel.

The rooms weren't great: no curtains, bathroom was tiny, CNN was the only English channel, no thick curtains over the windows. The bed was very comfortable though and the room was big. We did request a canal view which was granted and the room wasn't noisy.

The buffet breakfast in the morning was standard but did the job.

Overall the hotel was fairly expensive for what it was (granted it was in the centre of Venice).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbloom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

the best location, huge room for an European hotel,is true that consists of several buildings linked and there is no internet in the rooms, but they don't lie about it!!! and the room even have a kitchenette and a dinning set !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Three night stay in February 2013

Location;
Set just off St Mark's Square and a 5 min walk from the Rialto bridge, location is ideal for those wanting to be near major tourist attractions. Lots of nice restaurants nearby too.

Room;
A beautiful, spacious and clean room with traditional venetian decor. The room had a safe and a TV and was cleaned to a high standard daily. Bed was very comfortable.

Bathroom;
Clean and spacious bathroom. Towels and toiletries were provided. The temperature of the shower did sway a little bit from warm to hot, but nothing terrible.

Breakfast;
A plentiful buffet was provided in a beautiful breakfast salon with canal views. There was plenty of variety.

Staff;
Staff were very friendly and spoke good english. They provided me with useful info on how to make a day trip to nearby islands, how to use public transport and best way to go to the train station at the end of my stay.

Value for money;
I felt this hotel was very good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank comic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed here for my honeymoon. Hotel is 2 minutes within walking distance of St. Mark's Square. We were told we had a double suite. The suite was large but it was dingy. Shower was still wet in the tub when we went to use it- looked nothing like the pictures on here, reminded us of a hospital. Presentation was awful because there were several (full) trash bags outside of our room. There was a large balcony overlooking a canal with two seats and a table, but overall it felt like the rooms were oddly furnished and in need of a good scrub.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Wonderful location as advertised, but terrible experience. We booked particular rooms and paid 3 months in advance to get the suites we needed for our family. We reserved two-bedroom suites each with a separate living room. When we arrived, we were taken to rooms that were not what we reserved, and not adequate for our group. We got rooms with one bed and a sofa-bed. The extremely rude young desk clerk insisted we got what we needed (she said there were enough beds so she didn't see what the problem was) and that there were no rooms like we reserved. She refused to contact the manager, or to give us any other help to get adequate accommodations. I have never had such a bad travel experience or worse treatment. We wound up staying in the hotel because we could not get other rooms so late in Venice in summer -- sharing a room with our adult daughter on a sofa bed, boy and girl teen-age siblings sharing a sofa bed in their parents' room, etc. The hotel refused even to refund the substantial difference in price between the room we got and the rooms we reserved.
This hotel should never be recommended for anyone.

Room Tip: No good rooms, because no good people. The hotel could be lovely with proper management, as the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 4438anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#264 of 387 in Venice
219 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#205 of 387 in Venice
1,147 reviews
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#164 of 387 in Venice
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#67 of 387 in Venice
928 reviews
Castello
San Giorgio degli Schiavoni Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre dell'Orologio Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre dell'Orologio Suites

Address: Sestiere San Marco 202A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £93 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre dell'Orologio Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Torre dell'Orologio Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dell`Orologio Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing