We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #231 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Very nive hotel 2 minutes walking from the Venezia Mestre train station in a calm and quiet street. THe girl at the reception was very kind and helpful, she speaks good english, though i talked to her in italian, but i also heard here talking in english. The room was nice and clean, as the whole hotel. It's not in Venice, but with train or buses you can reach Venice easily.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, but better if it's not close to the common livingroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littledaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

It is in mestre, not in venice. The person at reception doesnt speak English, he only speaks Italian (it wasnt a big problem for me beacuse I speak Spanish but for other people that's a problem) . This person is disagreeable!!. You cant pay with your credit/debit card, only cash, if you dont have cash you have to walk 10 mins for an atm in a horrible neighborhood. This place is not cheap (28 euros/night/person). My room wasnt in the same building of the reception. We was 6 persons but we had a 5 persons room and one of us had to sleep in other place. I was in december 2012, the calefaction was terrible, if you touch that thing all the building will be without electricity and that thing is in the middle of the room!!! , the calefaction didnt work very well so it was cold all the time. You have to go at the common room for internet and this room is very small and dirty, this room is in the same building that the reception but like my room wasnt there, I coludnt use internet when I'd want. It is the worst hostel I've ever been!!!

Room Tip: Dont reservate this place!!! Look for an other place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carola149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locandabelvedere, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

dear client
As its explained in the website the hotel is located in marghera-venezia, 10 minutes by bus..
all the year we offer the best values for a good staying and good rooms.
Chilling commun room and terrace area are used by all the clients where they exchange there stories and adventures after spending a long day walking and discovering the beauty of venice, so each person should keep them clean for the others.
Our staff speak very well english and we give free maps on the check-in plus all the informations that u may need and we accept cash and credits cards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I am a student travelling Europe with 3 friends - we booked this hostel after researching on the Internet and thinking it looked reasonable for the location and the price.
For what you pay (approx €25 per night) it is appalling!
The directions given by the 'hotel' make no sense & fail to mention there is a main road near by.
Upon arrival, we were then told we had to pay extra for city tax which they conviniently forget to mention.
The hotel itself is disgusting! The carpets are dirty - it appears as though people have been sick/spilt various things and the staff haven't bothered to clean it/replace the carpet.
The rooms are average - not worth the price you pay at all. The staff do not give you toilet roll etc.
The common area is also poor - with a small fridge and no choice from the vending machines.
The staff are very insistent that this is closed at midnight therefore you cannot access water etc that you have stored in the fridge - you do not get a fridge or TV in the room as they claim on their website.
They also insist that you cannot sit outside on the terrace past this time therefore you are confined to your room - particularly annoying if you are a smoker!
The general area around the 'hotel' is vile & the club that is apparantly 2 minutes away is in a disgusting area.
We ventured out of the hostel on our 2nd night only to be greeted by prostitutes and seedy men.
I would never recommend anyone to stay here - pay the little bit extra and stay on the Ventian islands - you will not have a good experience here!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank JemmaPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locandabelvedere, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

As its explained in the website the private rooms have private facilities.
Commun room have big tv and machines for beverages and small snacks and the terrace area is open 24 hour.
The sharing bathroom alwayshave 2 roller of toilet paper but if its finish in a short time, should be asked for it.
Our hotel have the perfect location for the people who are looking for a quiet and peaceful sleeping night after a long walking day in discovering the beauty of venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

First of all, this hotel is nowhere near to either Venice or the train station which it claims to be only a minute away from. The directions are impossible to follow and are written in terrible English.
Secondly, the hotel is in a super old building; the awning on the front is old and tattered, the carpet throughout is from decades ago, and all the appliances are terrible. The vending machines are all over priced, though the owner makes a show of using his special key to get coffee and candy for free throughout the day. The fridge is small, crowded and smells like death.
The staff is cold, unwelcoming, and the male owner is absolutely rude. He complained about me charging my phone in the common room (because the dorm has only one outlet), about having my feet on the coffee table, and about being too loud. On the last night, a pillow had been moved in the room and te owner yelled at me for laying in a clean bed, when I had been out all day!
The location of the hotel isn't as great as it could be, though it is only 5 minutes from a great pizzeria!
It is also a good place to meet other travellers!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louisdabelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

7 minutes by train into city; 1.2euro same as bus #6 & #6/ but why wait for a bus trains run every 5-7 minutes all go to Venice SL. Venice is built on water ther are misquitoes prepare. 1 star hotels have wear and tear you are there to sleep & use Internet which work fine. The directions are correct once you find the hotel the first time it is easy. Most dormitories have bunk beds & shared bath some not ensuite. Baths were cleaned daily. Individually keyed rooms, no lockers, free wifi, nice English speaking staff. Happy to have saved $$ by staying in Mestra @ The Belvedere.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATWwithScott2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This is just outside of main Venice and you need to cross the bridge to go to the main Venice area. There is very good direction given on the website that takes easily to the lodge.
Location is convenient, bus stop is nearby & get to Venice in 15 minutes on train also very frequesnt. Very nice & helpful staff.
Good professional meeting room, good to work at night. Nearby neighborhood and bakery were lovely.
Rooms were clean and Comfortable. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again.
Moreover there are gifta available like T-Shirts which is an absolute surprise. I stayed there in 2004 also and it was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shyam_banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Nuova Locanda Belvedere
My boyfriend and I stayed here in June for 2 nights, and, trying to save money, booked a room with 4 beds. The reviews and photos we saw on hostelworld [--]looked nice, and we figured we could share a room with 2 others for 2 nights. I don’t know how much they paid hostelworld to post the photos they did, but what we saw was NOTHING like them. We think they must have one nice single room that they use for photo purposes, and that’s it. We were put in a room with 2 bunk beds and 2 cots (that’s a total of 6, not 4 beds) and when we asked, they told us it was busy and didn’t offer to refund any of our money. There is no age restriction here, and we had a full room of men (I was the only girl) one of whom was around 60, and sat on his bunk with no shirt and just leered at everyone, not speaking to anyone either night. As well, although this was a hostel-type accommodation, there was no kitchen or common room, and the grocery store is a good 20-30 minute walk away. The train to the Island is close by and is only 1EUR each way, but in the rooms, there were no lockers, no toilet paper for the bathrooms, and no towels. We had to wear bug spray to bed due to the mosquitoes, and even in early June it was extremely muggy and hot and difficult to sleep in.
If you want our advice, spend an afternoon in Venice altogether, and then go to Murano Island on the Waterbus. It’s similar scenery, but much less touristy, MUCH cheaper, and has all the glass-blowing factories that you can go to and watch for free. Venice is really expensive and is a big tourist trap. Gondola rides are 80-100EUR for 45minutes and although it’s what you want to do when you show up, if you’re on a budget (which if you’re looking at this “hotel” you probably are), consider riding around on the water bus (but be sure to buy a day pass before you get on otherwise you’ll pay 6EUR per direction!).

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank traveljunkie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Al Piccolo Hotel
#243 of 387 in Venice
67 reviews
Hotel Altieri
#353 of 387 in Venice
336 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 387 in Venice
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Giuliano
#346 of 387 in Venice
264 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#210 of 387 in Venice
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Via Carlo Mezzacapo 1, 30175 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £28 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Belvedere 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This budget hotel is located in the center of one of the most enchanting areas of Venice, City Garden.In a privileged position in Marghera, Locanda Belvedere is located in the hustle and bustle of city life, yet close to the bridge connecting the mainland to the historic center of Venice (7 km). The hotel's location offers easy access to the various sites of the city and its surroundings, it is located near the highway, subway, train station and bus stops that have a very high frequency. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Marghera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing