We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small But Nice”
Review of Ca' San Polo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ca' San Polo
Ranked #169 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
East Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small But Nice”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

hotel was fairly easy to find following directions provided by hotel and water taxi driver. We had booked 4 rooms between the 8 of us and found that booking and pre-arrival was very easy and there was a lot of communication between us and the hotel.
Our room for 2 was a decent size, queen size bed, bureau, desk in bedroom and a small bathroom. Bathroom size was average for Italy. Shower was one of the easier ones of our trip although we had trouble with closing the doors to keep the water in the tub.
Overall we were happy with the hotel and the service provided. The location worked out as it was near two water bus stops and easy to walk to and from other areas of the city,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, STAFF at Ca' San Polo, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest
thank you very much for your appreciative comment. We are very glad that you had a nice time here. You are welcome anytime you want to come back!! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    155
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
73
253
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Don't be mislead by this hotel's four star rating. I would have a hard time giving this place two stars. It is dark and dingy, the girl at the front desk blatantly lied to us when we checked in, the wifi did not work the whole time we stayed, the beds were uncomfortable, the bathroom was cramped, the sound of water running through the pipes in the wall kept us up at night. Terrible. The worst place I have stayed in all of Europe and I have spent the last two summers traveling to 15 countries here and more than 30 cities and towns. FYI, this is the first hotel I have written a bad review for in the last 12 months. Trust me - it is not worth your money.

Room Tip: Take a pass on this place - there are way better places to stay in Venice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to inform you that we are very sorry for what we have read above. One of the main characteristics of our hotel , and for which we are often praised, is the kindness and helpfulness of the staff. You were welcomed you with the same courtesy and attention.

As far as the wi-fi connection, please notice that in booking.com it is openly and clearly highlighted that it works only in common areas and not in the rooms. The reason why we told you that it was working in the room it is that the room we had assigned to you is very close to the internet box and therefore the signal is very strong there. The second room were you were accommodated according to your request doesn’t benefit from the same privileged position and advantage.

We also want to bring your attention on the fact that our facility, as all the historical buildings in Venice, is very old (it stems from the 15th century) and even though renovated and refurbished, it can at times be noisy.

At last, seen our willingness to meet you halfway in your requests (changing your room and making ourselves available for you in the following days), if we had heard directly from you, while you were still here, all the inconveniences you were disappointed from, we can assure you that we would have tried once more to find a solution that could satisfy you and make you happy. The thing we cherish the most is customer care.

Anyway we take every remark as an encouragment to improve our service.

Best regards

The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sindal, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Really charming, clean, great situated and affordable hotel in the center of Venedig.
You need to inform the reception about yor arrival time, as it is not opened 24/7, but they send notifications about that before your arrival.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amularczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest
we are very grateful for what we read above! It is a pleasure for us to know that our guest have found their stay here a 5 stars one!! We hope to see you again here in Venice anytime soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very friendly staff were helpful in pointing out local restaurants and landmarks. Room was decent size and clean (we were upgraded on arrival). Location was perfect for exploring Venice whilst staying out the way of the main commercial area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_sincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very happy that you appreciated the kindness and willful spirit of the staff along with the location of our hotel. Thank you very much! You will always be welcome at Cà San Polo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
294 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The friendly staff doesn't make up for the poor stay. The room is so small you can nearly not turn around, your view is... well there isn't any, you look at the balcony of somebody else. The bathroom isn't that clean - considering the space it should be possible to make sure what exists is clean.
The location is okay but not very close to the train station, with luggage it's a fair walk.
Wifi doesn't work in the room, but there isn't a common space to sit. Reception is only open until 8pm, (you can open the house with you room card afterwards).
Overall not quite worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globusat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, THE STAFF at Ca' San Polo, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear guest,
we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at Cà San Polo. Our facility was taken out of an historical palace dating back to the 15th century where in the past there were actual apartments. This is the reason why some of our rooms are smaller and the view is the typical one you can have from a venetian house. Anyway we offer a choice of 4 different types of rooms, so, according to the availability, it is possible to select the kind of accomodation that most meets the needs of our guests. We are also very displeased that the cleaness of the bathroom was not up to your expectations. We really pay special attention to cleanness and we always try to offer a good service on this regard. We thank you anyway for your remarks because every suggestion is for us as an encouragement to improve our service.

The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were there 4 nights at the end of july. Well situated (near San Toma vaporetto stop) and in a quiet part of the town ;-)
A good surprise inside, since the entrance is hard to locate and does not seem very appealing at first sight... Our room was confortable and spacious, bathroom and breakfast were O.K., staff very helpfull!! Nice little restaurants nearby, reasonable walking distance to the market and the railway station... I would return there anytime ! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calimerooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for recommending our hotel. We thank you very much for your positive comment. We are very glad that you had a nice stay by us. Hope to see you soon again!

The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very good location, close to San Toma the water bus station. If your luggage is not that heavy it is not a tough job at all to walk from piazza le Roma. It is in a small street in the heart of San Polo, very quiet in the night- which was perfect for me. Good bath room, nice warm shower. Staff are friendly and very helpful with giving transport info. I was in Venice last year but stayed outside the city ( cross the bridge in mainland Italy), but it was for sure the best choice to stay inside Venice, the city is different when the night comes:)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, THE STAFF at Ca' San Polo, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Nicole,
thank you for your positive comment on your stay by Cà San Polo. We are very glad you appreciated it! Thank you again!

The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#109 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#103 of 385 in Venice
407 reviews
San Polo
Ca' San Rocco
Ca' San Rocco
#135 of 385 in Venice
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#134 of 385 in Venice
382 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Falier
Hotel Falier
#209 of 385 in Venice
377 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#179 of 385 in Venice
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' San Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' San Polo

Property: Ca' San Polo
Address: Sestiere San Polo 2696, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#85 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' San Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, attention to detail, located in the heart of Real Venice , of small dimensions in the way of greater distance walking; be reached in 10 min walk from the railway Saint Lucia and from Piazzale Roma. Ideal to feel Venetians in Venice, to visit one of the most beautiful and romantic cities in the world with short distances on foot and o enjoy, from 22.00 onwards "VENICE FOR US" CA'SAN POLO then is surrounded by restaurants, taverns and "bacari", all carefully selected by Fabio Mioni to be pampered even in the palate. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ca' San Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca San Polo
Ca San Polo Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing