We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel and very helpful staff”
Review of Ca' San Polo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ca' San Polo
Ranked #171 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is located close to the central station (~10 minutes walk). If you are not carrying heavy luggage, I would advise you skip taking the water bus (Vaporetto) 1 or 2 to reach the hotel (via. Toma station). It took us 45 minutes with the Vaporetto.

Back to the hotel, the room and bathroom was very clean and well maintained. Aircon was effective. There is no wifi in the room, but it is available on the 3rd floor and roof. Having said that, even though I was in a room on the 1st floor, my laptop was able to connect to the wifi, so not so bad. The staff is very very helpful with directions to the eateries, places of interest etc. and we were very pleased with the service.

The only downside is the late check-in (at 4pm) and early check-out (10am). Although the hotel does allow guests to hang around on the 3rd floor (in the dining area) after they have checked out and holds luggage, we felt that the check-out at 10am is still very early. Another minor thing is that there are no egg dishes in the breakfast menu, so for someone who does not take meat, it is somewhat of a let down. But overall, we had a very good experience at Ca San Polo and will return when we get a chance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank in-articulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guests,
we thank you very much for this nice comment, we are very happy you had anice stay here at Cà San Polo and we will definetly welcome you back with great pleasure!

Best regards

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Staff in this small hotel is great and very helpful, from fast answering on emails to briefly explaining where is best capuccino in neighbourhood. When you book the room they send you detailed map how to reach hotel, so don't worry for that,it is 15 minutes walking to bus station, when you are close to hotel there is sign on street wall. Location is very good, only some rooms can be little noisy. The only other downside is small hall,stairway and small old elevator so on the first it looks like a budget hostel. But if you want to sleep in building from 15th century in heart of Venice everything about this hotel is charming once you put bags in the room. Anyway, building is well renovated. Room interior is very nicelly redecorated with many details,very comfortable bed, clean bathroom, wonderful old ceiling-wood panels. We had great staying, hotel deserves rate 4.5, it has some special charm, will stay again when in Venice next time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MM051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Cà San Polo and its staff thank you for appreciating it good quality and service. We are very happy about your comment. We hope to welcome you back soon here!

Best regards

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Ca' San Polo is located both close to the central station and Piazza San Marco. The rooms are clean and comfortable and contain a safe and fridge, however the beds are rather short if you are over six foot. Wi-fi can only be accessed in central areas and is generally slow, but this isn't too big an issue if you are only there a few days. Accommodation in Venice tends to be more expensive than other parts of Italy, but the hotel is priced reasonably for Venice. The breakfast is a bit pricey, but it is easy to get your own breakfast from bakeries and cafes nearby.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rc5061991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
we really thank you for your positive comment on Cà San Polo. Thank you for staying with us and we are really working so that next time you will stay with us the service will have even more improved. Thank you again

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Staying here made me truly appreciate Venice. I had visited before but stayed in much more crowded and commercial (and less enjoyable...imho) areas. The location allows you to explore areas of Venice to which you might not otherwise come, though it is only steps off the path from Rialto to San Marco. The hotel is lovely and I started every morning on their beautiful roof deck with an early coffee.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs on the 4th and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for giving us such a good score! We really appreciate it and hope to see you here again very soon!

Best regards

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We (a couple on a week-long Venice trip) stayed here for four nights and were extremely pleased with everything the hotel had to offer. Every member of the staff was very friendly and helpful, providing a map upon arrival to help us find our way around and allowing us to store our bags on the day of arrival and departure. The room was nice and big, with a comfy bed and air-conditioning (important in Venice in August!). Everything was super clean and well-kept. The breakfast was good. The location is awesome - a 10-minute-walk from the train station, roughly the same distance to Rialto bridge and about 20 minutes away from San Marco, but at the same time conveniently hidden away so you're not in the midst of all the tourists (of which there are very many in Venice in the summer!). It is a bit difficult to find, but keep your eye out for the hotel signs between Ferrovia (train station) and Rialto. Lots of great restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 45, at the very top of the stairs, was spacious and had a gorgeous ceiling (wood panels)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ml0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for being so detailled when describing what you likde about Cà San Polo and we are very pleased to know that it was many things!! your comments gives us the enthusiasm to keep up with our good service. We hope to see you soon!

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

It's a bit of a walk from the Rialto bridge, but that is what makes this place the best. It's nice and quiet, and near enough to the local parts of Venice that are not so touristy. Comfortable room and air conditioned! Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank EverTravellingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
we take this opportunity to tahnk you again for chhosing Cà San Polo and we are very happy that you found it very comfortable and that it met your needs! Awaiting for your next time here we send you our best greetings.

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

There are 15 rooms in this small, little hotel. We stayed in a deluxe double room. We love the place. it is quaint and charming in its own way.

The location of the hotel is a little tricky to get to as Venice has a lot of small alleys. Getting lost in Venice is part of the experience. However, upon reserving a room in the hotel, they will provide clear directions of getting to the hotel, by foot (15 mins walk) or by the vaporetta. The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk to the Rialto Bridge and 5 minutes walk to the Vaporetta (San Toma) station.

Check-in was a breeze as we got to Venice in the late afternoon. The receptionist was very helpful, giving us a basic orientation of getting around Venice, dining recommendations and tips on visiting the nearby islands. We followed a few of the dining recommendations and were not disappointed.

The room is very clean and overall, we are very satisfied with our 1 night stay there. However, the shower area in the bathroom is a little small. The cleanliness of the bathroom makes up for the size.

The next day, it was raining heavily. We deposited our luggage at the reception area. Alice was very nice to lend us an umbrella to go around the island. Thumbs up for good service!

We had no breakfast for our deal. However, there are many cafes in the area nearby for a yummy sandwich and a cup of coffee. So don't worry about not having breakfast at the hotel.

Note that free wifi is only available in the breakfast area.

Overall, we will strongly recommend this hotel and the price is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sunbaby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guests,
we are really thankful for your nice comment on your stay here. Thank you for listing all the qualities that make Cà San Polo a perfect place for a woderful stay in Venice. Thank you again for your positive words!

Best regards

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#115 of 385 in Venice
900 reviews
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#117 of 385 in Venice
431 reviews
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#127 of 385 in Venice
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#187 of 385 in Venice
339 reviews
San Polo
Ca' San Rocco
Ca' San Rocco
#126 of 385 in Venice
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' San Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' San Polo

Address: Sestiere San Polo 2696, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#84 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £89 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' San Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, attention to detail, located in the heart of Real Venice , of small dimensions in the way of greater distance walking; be reached in 10 min walk from the railway Saint Lucia and from Piazzale Roma. Ideal to feel Venetians in Venice, to visit one of the most beautiful and romantic cities in the world with short distances on foot and o enjoy, from 22.00 onwards "VENICE FOR US" CA'SAN POLO then is surrounded by restaurants, taverns and "bacari", all carefully selected by Fabio Mioni to be pampered even in the palate. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ca' San Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca San Polo
Ca San Polo Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing