We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Nearby Hotels
US$866
US$497
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,311
US$938
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$356
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Albergo Marin(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Colombina(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$386
US$333
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$450
US$311
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$426
US$365
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$950
US$646
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal(Venice)
US$1,191
US$1,094
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
89
148
36
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
148
36
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvaporetto stoptrain stationgreat locationgrand canalcroissantsjewish ghettoenjoyed our staydefinitely stay here againsmall hotelwater busmurano glassrestaurants and barshighly recommend this hotelwonderful hotelbooked this hotelbreakfast roomlocanda
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The location is great, right next to the water cab stop. We decided to walk from the station and it was quite easy. This is very close to the vibrant market but far enough not to hear the noise. Breakfast was basic but nice. Overall, we had a nice stay and was happy about it. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbhijitRayNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Beautiful, old hotel close to the vaporeto stop and casino. Our room had a nice balcony facing a small square. The bed was though extremely hard, the room very noisy! The maids had their inventory just outside our room and made so much noisy at 7 in the morning! The breakfast was very poor, too much sweets. But we would like to give a big thanks to the wonderful black haired receptionist who spoke extremely good english (not very common in Italy) and made our stay in Venice beautiful with lovely restaurant tips! Best service every! Big hugs to you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Locanda Ca’ San Marcuola is about 50 yards from the San Marcuola vaporetto stop. It is in an older building, but inside it was quite modern. We had a 4-person room for the three of us. Our room overlooked the square, where everybody passes by when they get off the vaporetto, talking loudly in the process; how later the hour how louder they talk. We should have asked for a room at the canal side, which would be quieter. Our room was about 10 by 12’ large; the bathroom was around 8’ x 8’, but the shower was small, which seems to be the standard in many of the hotels we have been. The room is otherwise quite comfortable. And as mentioned by others, they have the slowest lift in all of Italy. It was easier to just take the stairs. And their prices are very reasonable considering their location.

Breakfast was continental, but copious and good, with a waitress scurrying around to serve the food. The location is great. There are lots of good restaurants nearby, and the main drag going to the Rialto, to the Piazza San Marco, and the Piazzale Roma is just around the corner. The casino is next door, just in case. They never look crowded, as far as we can ascertain.

Most of the guests take the vaporetto to get to Piazzale Roma, from where they take the No. 5 bus to go to the airport. And vv. There is actually a more convenient way to get to the airport from the hotel. From the hotel you turn right to go to the main drag (turning left will take you to the vaporetto stop) and then turn left (away from the direction to San Marco Square). After walking for a few minutes you will reach the Ponte Guglie bridge, which is a bridge with steps. Don’t go on the bridge but turn right on the Fundamento Pescaria, and 50 yards further you will see the Porta della Guglie boat stop. Total time to get here from the hotel is less than 10 minutes. From there, every half hour, a motorboat stops to take you straight to the airport. This is the Linea Arancio, also called Alilaguna (there are many different water bus companies in Venice) who will charge you €16 for the trip. Or you could buy a ticket ahead of time at a tobacco store for €15. The trip takes about 40 minutes. At the airport quay, the boat will stop at the furthest berth, and signs will tell you that it is a 7 minute walk to the airport. I have seen people huffing and puffing pulling their suitcases, because they don’t want to use the carts to save money. The carts are actually free; you have put in a coin (€0.50, 1, or 2) to unlock the cart, but when you reattach the car to other carts at the end of the trip, you’ll get your money back.

See also: http://www.travelswithhok.com/From_Schladming_to_Venice/Entries/2013/4/24_III__Venice.html

Room Tip: Get a room on the canal side; should be quieter than one on facing the square
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploddinghappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

this hotel is very central, yet far away from the busy tourist areas. its located just off strada nuova and 10 mins walk to rialto bridge. a vaporetta stop is 50 yards from hotel. be careful though as the no 2 vaporetta does not always stop there. the number 1 does.. we stayed in a superior room (202) which was charming. it had a little balcony and side view of the canals. breakfast was ample, continental. we booked through booking.com and at 510 euro for 3 nights, it seemed reasonable enough in comparison to other hotels. i would definitely recommend this hotel. also i would strongly recommend venice travel card from venice connected.com. we bought a 72 hour card to include return bus from airport. it cost 43 euro each. the card needs to be validated on your first journey. your 72 hours starts from then. a single vaporetta journey costs 7 euro and only valid for an hour. with the venice card you have unlimited use of vaporettas to include lido, murano and burano islands

Room Tip: room 202 spacious room with nice view of side canals
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citygirl033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We spent six days in Venice and enjoyed our stay at this fine hotel. Our room by a side canal was large and comfortable and we enjoyed the small boat traffic and a few gondolas that sailed by our window. The breakfasts were good and well run, the staff is friendly but we were told there would be a concierge, when there really isn't one, just desk clerks, some with limited English. Other than the fact that the shower is the smallest we encountered in four weeks in Italy, we had absolutely no complaints until the last 24 hours. We returned to our room to find the door was wide open, which is always alarming. Luckily nothing was taken. What was truly upsetting occurred the final morning, when we were preparing to leave for the airport. We had almost finished breakfast and were ready to leave when the desk clerk told us the Vaporetto wasn't running because of a regatta. What???? Why someone didn't tell us about that earlier is still beyond us. We paid for our stay the night before and it wasn't mentioned then, in spite of our saying we wanted to get an early start. Nor was it mentioned at our 6:45 wake up call. If we had been told then, we would have made it to the last Vaporetto before the regatta began. It was raining and we were very lucky to be able to quickly hail the last water taxi on the canal, which cost us an extra 40 euros, plus the loss of the Vaporetto ride we'd already paid for in a seven day pass. On the bus to the airport, we learned from other travelers who stayed at different hotels that they were warned about the regatta the day before AND their hotels made alternate plans for them. We really felt let down by Locanda.

Room Tip: 101 was large and comfortable by a side canal that gets some boat traffic that can be a bit noisy during the day if the windows are open. Otherwise the room is very quiet at night. We liked that we didn't need to use a lift.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews