We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Novotel but not bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Venezia Mestre
Ranked #158 of 384 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Afer stayin in Novotels in France and Switzerland this was a bit disappointing. Although moder in was beat up and lobby not to clean. The staff was helpful, Venice island is a quick bus ride and the room was descent. The bed was not very comfortabe but ok.

Room Tip: All roms have views, but there is nothing to look at.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleg1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Venezia Mestre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

This was our second stay at a Novotel while traveling Europe. Over all it was Ok. The dinner service was slow, and overpriced for what you got. Don't order a steak, I thought Italian food had flavor. The pool area was clean and well kept. That was the best part of the hotel. The front desk staff was helpful. The hotel is about a 20 minute bus ride from Venice. The bus stop is not close to the hotel and you have to Jaywalk to get back to the hotel. Breakfast was just OK, nothing great. I would only stay there again because it is one of the only reasonably priced hotels with a pool close to Venice

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAR1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Mr.

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Ettore Cavallino,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

After staying at three different hotels in Rome, Florence and Torino it was nice to end our trip at Novotel as it was fairly new, modern, free wifi, great pool, best breakfast of all the hotels i stayed at and most like the north american style hotels and standards that we are accustomed to (not that i minded the other hotels i stayed at which all had their own character).

Washroom was spacious and clean. Beds were comfy, there were a lot of large tour groups but they didn't bother us at all - was a nice atmosphere with lots of other families with kids.
To get there from train station or airport you pretty much need to take a cab unless you really want to get on a bus and do all that. There is a bus but with luggage etc. it can be a bit of a hassle but the bus stop is close to the hotel and just a few stops away so it is possible...
But to get to venice by local bus is very easy. The bus stop is right around the corner and a 20 minutes takes you right to the island and you can walk all around from there.
Only thing is if you are coming back late, the bus drops you off further from the hotel and the first night this happened we found that walk back to be a bit scary. There were no people around, it was dark, we had to go under and underpass and it was a farther walk than i was told it would be by hotel staff. As we were just women and two children i advised the staff they may want to give people a heads' up about the walk late at night so at least we know what to expect. Rest was all good. Got a very good price on our stay and i would highly recommend it to families looking for good value, excellent amenities and good access to venice via public transit.

p.s. relaxing by the pool was amazing and kids love the pool area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Mr,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Ettore Cavallino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here with my family after a cruise trip where we spent an extra day in Venice. As such the hotel worked out OK but nothing more. It´s offers good rates - and much better rates than hotels in Venice - but of course you´ll then find yourself in Mestre and not even in central Mestre but a bit in the middle of nowhere. However, the hotel is close to a bus that will take you into Piazzale Roma in Venice in maybe 30 minutes. If you´re looking for a base from where to explore Venice and the day after having less hassle getting to the airport then it´s worth considering the Novotel. However, the week before we stayed at the Hotel Tritone in Mestre and it was much better value and much better located - slight more expensive but worth it. I have stayed in many Novotel all over Europa and this one is defintely not one of the best. When we were there the hotel was full of several very large travel groups (bus trips of teenagers etc.) and it got very crowded and the staff seemed quite stressed (probably with good reason). There´s a nice looking swimming pool (but way too small) and an OK restaurant. Breakfast was OK, nothing special. We had dinner there too and the food was fine but the staff (though friendly) barely spoke English and even though there were quite many waiters at work they didn´t seem to co-ordinate a lot, mixed up the orders from another table with ours etc. It all made things a bit tricky. Bottom-line: a nice enough hotel but one can find a better deal in Mestre. However, if parking is an issue then the Novotel might be more interesting. It had a large parking lot, so If the purpose is just to find an OK hotel while on the way past Venice on a car holiday then it may be worth considering.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanishFamilyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sepahan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Arrived at hotel at 10am realizing that we probably wouldn't get checked in as check in time was stated as 12. Were allowed to leave our luggage in a room near reception, then we headed to the pool. The pool attendant was not happy about us taking a small case to the pool, but agreed when I explained it had our change of clothes in it.
Stayed at the pool, which was nice, until 1pm then left our towels, suntan lotion etc on the sunbeds while we went to check in.
Surprised to discover our room still wasn't ready. Receptionist called housekeeping and told us to take a seat while they waited for the room to be ready.
By 1.30pm still no word from reception so I returned and he admitted that he had forgotten!
Finally got our key and headed up to our room on 5th floor.
The carpet had not been vacuumed and the bedding on the childrens' bed was covered in hair and fluff. The room had a damp odour and generally appeared shabby - the plasterwork on the walls was unpainted in areas. The room overlooked an overgrown area.
I placed my travel documents, boarding passes and IPAD in the safe and quickly realized that the safe was flooded with orange liquid. I removed the items and luckily my documents were in a plastic folder so were not too badly damaged. I then noticed a half full packet of cigarettes and lighter under one of the tables and decided at that point that we were not accepting this room.
Reported to reception who were apologetic and offered to clean the safe and room, but since we had already wasted so much time I asked for a change of room. They sent a bell boy to help with our luggage and we moved to another room on same floor. This appeared a bit cleaner but still had a strange odour - the housekeeper had left the window fully open, so was obviously aware of this.
Placed our valuables in the safe and realized that we needed to swipe a credit card to lock the safe.
Returned to the pool to find that our towels etc had been moved off the loungers (as we had been somewhat delayed) and we were left to sit on the wall! The hotel had approx 200 rooms, and only 10 sun loungers!
Went to look for food and couldn't determine if the hotel was serving at the time (3pm) so headed outside to look for somewhere nearby. The hotel is located on a busy road/motorway and there was only a petrol station (under refurbishment) and a LIDL supermarket nearby.
Restaurant for evening meal more like canteen. Minimal menu & poor quality food.
Will I be back - NO !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welltravelled505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andersen61
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#124 of 384 in Venice
510 reviews
Castello
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#111 of 384 in Venice
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#86 of 384 in Venice
1,064 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#61 of 384 in Venice
909 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Venezia Mestre

Address: Via Alfredo Ceccherini 21, 30174 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Venice
#12 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#80 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#140 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Venezia Mestre 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Venezia Mestre is a modern 4 star hotel with 215 rooms, strategically located only 2 km from Venezia Mestre railway station, 7 km from the centre of Venice and 10 km from the airport. Ideal for business trips, it offers a Convention Centre with 6 meeting rooms (250 guests), business corner and WiFi access. To discover Venice, take the scheduled hotel shuttle service to Piazzale Roma. Also features rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, NovotelCafé restaurant, outdoor pool, garden and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Venezia Mestre Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venezia Mestre
Novotel Mestre
Mestre Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing