We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Venezia Mestre
Ranked #153 of 384 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT recommend”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

1. Far from Venice, there's buses but it's not convenient
Plus Mestre is dead quiet at night, nothing much nearby

2. Located in the middle of nowhere, by a highway, inconvenient to get around ( there's barely any sidewalks)

3. Horrible staff at reception, I remember the names of the specific ones however it doesn't matter, just don't stay here.

4. Charged us TWICE without making an effort to make clarifications or try to solve the problem
What a JOKE ! Instead they just push the responsibility on us, basically implying it's your own problem now go away

Some may think this is an okay hotel, but you can definitely do better
Keep Looking, there's much better options

DO NOT RECOMMEND

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. ,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

However you made a double booking with restrictive conditions by entering your personal data for 2 times and the promotion included a discount on the public rate with advance payment.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,
Ettore Cavallino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    1,041
    421
    115
    62
See reviews for
1,120
445
52
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

First about the location - This hotel is in a place called Venezia Mestre - which is 10 km away from the island town. The bus stop is just 200 m away & you can get a bus to venice every half hr & it takes 20 - 25 min to reach venice. We booked this as we were getting a good rate for a 4 star property. We stayed for 2 nights
Now about the hotel - Absolutely worth the rate they charge, Check in was smooth - the reception desk people were very helpful & explained us about how to get to venice. We booked a executive room with King size bed & sofa. Comfortable & big room. Pretty spacious (after having experienced rooms in rome & florence).
Food - Breakfast was good. Had a decent spread. One of the nights we dined at the restaurant. Good stuff but a bit pricey.
We were checking out early morning 5 :30 am on the 3rd day & the reception desk arranged box breakfast for us.
Bus was available at 6 am to go to mestre station ( hardly 10 min)
Overall a very good experience - if you are not too strict on staying in a hotel on the island town - this can be a good option

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krithika_2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.
My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.
Yours sincerely.

Ettore Cavallino,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We are a family of 5, stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and 5 days. We were little shocked with the poor amenities and services. The staff were really unfriendly and some were very rude. Our reservation experience was horrible and we had to wait for one hour to get our room ready, eventhough we arrived at the specified time for room readiness. To top it with they made the wrong reservation and we had to wait for another additional hour to get us an additional room
Unfortunately, the hotel is far from any place that you would like to go to as a family.
We will not stay at this specific Novotel, as our personal experiences with other Novotel hotels were very positive

Room Tip: Try to locate other hotels with some friendly staff and cleaner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karim-Eldin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. ,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

However, your reservation was for 4 people, while you were in 5 people and our rooms are approved for a maximum of 2/3 adults 2/1 children.
I remind you also that the rooms are available from 12:00.

We would like to reassure you we have already put in place the necessary measures to guarantee that the standard meets your expectations. We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,
Ettore Cavallino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I booked this hotel to stay for 2 nights during my visit to Venice Italy. (not a good idea at all!, see conclusion at the bottom!)

The hotel is located in Mestre, an outer urban area on the mainland of Venice.

I wanted to stay in at least a 4* hotel and one that would be in the range of $125-$190/night, and this met the match. As hotels in Venice itself offered bad hotels at the same range and to stay in a 4* hotel one would have to pay over $300/night... no thank you...

The hotel is located on the highway and it takes 20 minutes drive to go to Venice Island. There is a bus station near the hotel where one can take buses labeled "Venizia" that will take them directly to Venice, Piazzale Roma.

coming to the hotel:

The lobby is large with several couches and entertainments such as business centers and Xbox consoles to choose from. The staff were very helpful and answered all questions swiftly in english.

There is a bar where one can unwind and relax and have some booze..

The breakfast is normal, possessing all necessary foods such as toast, corn flakes. At night the breakfast area becomes a restaurant for a good dinner (try the margherita pizza!).


All was good but i was disappointed in the rooms, the rooms were quite big, thats not a problem, but the air conditioning was not powerful and functional to cool the whole room. I wasn't able to sleep my nights well because the room was hot and opening the windows would cool it but risk letting in insects.

I complained the reception about it, they sent a guy who could hardly speak good english. He came inspected and said that the room was too hot due to the constant sunlight it received during the day time, as a result the AC is not cooling well, also he wanted to be 'smart' and said that i could open a window to cool it....duh!

In addition, the internet was very appalling..!, it was very slow like the primitive age. luckily i got great internet from my TIM sim card of italy.


In conclusion,

If you came primarily to visit and move around the island of venice, i would not recommend this hotel at all!

Firstly, it is very far and located in a highway where the atmosphere is dead at 9pm already.

It takes 30 mins by bus to go from the station near the hotel to venice, and even the buses are never on time, i have always waited at least 6 mins more than its actual arrival time.

it is good in all aspects, but the air condition is bad in the rooms. and also offers poor internet.

Room Tip: as soon as you check in, see if the AC works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. ,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.


We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,
Ettore Cavallino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights, clean, tidy and comfortable.
Bus stop is just around the corner that takes you to Piazzale Roma in Venice. (Note: wear insect repellant if using the bus - there is a manky stream just behind the stop and we were eaten alive by mosquitos)
Found the bar staff quite helpful, was getting a cold by this stage of the trip and the bartender was ever so helpful in making me a lemon and honey drink.
It's not advisable to eat dinner at the hotel...worst meal of the trip and pricey given the crap quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.
My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.
Yours sincerely.

Ettore Cavallino,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#131 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#195 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#110 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#85 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#238 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Venezia Mestre

Property: Novotel Venezia Mestre
Address: Via Alfredo Ceccherini 21, 30174 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Venice
#13 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#78 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#141 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Venezia Mestre 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Venezia Mestre is a modern 4 star hotel with 215 rooms, strategically located only 2 km from Venezia Mestre railway station, 7 km from the centre of Venice and 10 km from the airport. Ideal for business trips, it offers a Convention Centre with 6 meeting rooms (250 guests), business corner and WiFi access. To discover Venice, take the scheduled hotel shuttle service to Piazzale Roma. Also features rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, NovotelCafé restaurant, outdoor pool, garden and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Venezia Mestre Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venezia Mestre
Novotel Mestre
Mestre Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing