We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and it had A/C”
Review of Hotel ai Tolentini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel ai Tolentini
Ranked #208 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best location and it had A/C”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I had a difficult time finding a room in Venice that would accommodate our party of 4. I was travelling with my teenage daughters and didn't want to be separated in different rooms. When we arrived in Venice we really had nt idea how to get to the hotel but turned out to be close to the Rialto Bridge and the train station. One of the advantages of this hotel was that we didn't have to carry/drag our luggage though the winding alleys and frequent bridges of Venice. When we arrived we were greeeted by the Albergo who we had sent an email to the night before telling him of our approximate arrival time. In the ad for the hotel they ask that you phone when you arrive but we didn't have phones but we did have internet the night before and he was quick to answer. The room wasn't big but it was big enough for us. My daughers were happy with the bunk beds.

The hotel is well situated as far as getting around the city. We were able to get to San Marco Square in about 15 minutes once we knew where we were going (thank you to the person who put arrows on the building!) We were also very grateful for the air conditioning in the room.

Only one criticism would be that the breakfast that was included was not adequate. A coffee and a bun was about all there was offered, although the coffee was very good, it was not enough to start the day with. Other than that, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetTraveler010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    115
    41
    6
    15
See reviews for
58
132
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Zurzach, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I was traveling with my friend Deb and her 2 daughters, age 18 and 15.
It was a real challenge to find accommodations that could handle 4 people in a room,
let alone one in Venice.

The Hotel Tolentini, was very accommodating. The room was a good size, king bed, with bunk beds on the side. We all slept very comfortably, we had a small fridge to keep the girls pop and our wine cold :) Also the bathroom was very clean, good supply of towels (bring your own shampoo and rinse, there were not enough for 4 girls).

You were given breakfast coupons that you could use for a coffee (capachino or macciatto, or orange juice) and a bun or croissant, at a local coffe shop steps away under a tree in the courtyard of the walk way.

The location was very easy to find from the train station, which was very handy as we had a lot of luggage to drag around and it was appreciated that we only had about 10 minutes to walk from the station (over a few bridges) to the hotel.

The location was also extremely handy to go shopping or sight seeing around Venice.

Room Tip: clean, lots of towels, fridge, and room for 4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This hotel is located about 5 minutes from the Grand Canal, the bus station and the train station. All main attractions are within walking distance or water bus stops are not far.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us full instructions on what bus to catch from the airport and offered to meet us at the bus station to take us to the hotel.

The room was basic but clean, the bathroom was tiny but as we didn't spend much time at the hotel it caused no problems.

The hotel is located on a main pedestrian walkway so there was noise outside but not enough to disturb us when asleep. The sound of wheeled suitcases on cobbles with forever remind me of Venice :)

Breakfast is not served in the hotel but we were given vouchers for a cafe very close for free breakfast. This did not cause us a problem. There are no drink facilities in the hotel room i.e. tean and coffee making and no room service.

Dinner was no problem as there are a multitude of restaurants within a few yards, in fact there is one right next door to the hotel.

There is free WI-FI in the hotel, which we found very handy. At the end of our stay we were able to leave our case in a locked location after we checked out as our flight was later in the day. We were given keys so we could retrieve our case whenever we needed to.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break and if we ever return to Venice would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

It's not easy to find inexpensive accommodation in Venice and I wouldn't call Hotel ai Tolentini inexpensive elsewhere. Anyway, it was what I had expected: a modest place near the bus station, the railway station and vaporetto stop. There're also some important attractions very near the hotel: Scuola di San Rocco, the churches of San Rocco and Frari etc.

The room was basic, a little bit shabby and quite small. It hadn't been cleaned complitely before my arrival. The surprising thing was that the shower wasn't in the bathroom but in the room, although covered by glaswalls and curtain. There's no breakfast available in the hotel, but just around the corner there's a coffee bar.

The street beneath the windows is quite noisy, so that might disturb some guests. During my stay of four days I just met the receptionist twice, so last day after having to leave the room I had to take the luggage to safe in the railway station (my plane left in the evening).

Hotel ai Tolentini is not a good choice for a romantic holiday in Venice, but for those who want to move around it's a good option with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meryem66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed there for 4 nights in (I guess) one of the cheapest rooms. 70 euros per night.
Of course this is without any breakfast. On our arrival, the guy (he wasn't the owner) spoke that they can offer a breakfast at 5 euros per person per day, but when we agreed to it (at least for the first morning), he told us that it was better to take our breakfast somewhere near the San Marco square. So, strange that he offered us breakfast when he doesn't was to deliver it when you agree to it.
For the rest, the hotel had just done some renovation and in the hallways you could still see the results of the renovation on some spots.
We had a room which was just on top of the restaurant next to the hotel. So, saterurday night we had a lot of noise of their customers until 2 or 3 in the morning. Please note that from 6 in the Morning, Venice starts to come alive.
The benefit of the room, was that it was supplied with 2 venitaltors to get some air circulation (it needed in the summer).
The walls of the hotel are quite thin, since our neighbors left monday morning very early and spent the whole night chatting and packing.

Overal, good location (close to the piazzale roma) and close to the train station, but the accomodations could be better.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dries2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

For the money this hotel is a great find. its location is perfect a couple hundred meters from Pizale Roma, where everyone arriving into Venice by air, train or cruise ship comes.
and there is plenty within walking distance in Venice.
The new owner is a wonderful guy and the service was wonderful

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We stayed for two nights, we were told the room would have a ceiling fan, air conditioning, coffee and tea making facilities, in room safe, water views. Well we got none of them. we were next to the walkway which was very noisy. good location from station and that is all. can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#167 of 385 in Venice
295 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#97 of 385 in Venice
484 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#203 of 385 in Venice
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#104 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#91 of 385 in Venice
570 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ai Tolentini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ai Tolentini

Property: Hotel ai Tolentini
Address: Santa Croce, Calle Amai 197/G, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#135 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel ai Tolentini 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel ai Tolentini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Tolentini Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing