We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great affordable place to stay in Venice”
Review of Hotel ai Tolentini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ai Tolentini
Ranked #208 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Odenville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great affordable place to stay in Venice”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Great place to stay and had AC which is a big deal in August. Very clean, affordable and let us leave our bags after check out so we could continue to see the city as long as possible. The entrance looks like a small ancient place but is deceptive you go in and up a flight of stairs and it is very modern and nicely decorated. One of the nicest places we stayed in our European travels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melody t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    113
    40
    6
    15
See reviews for
55
132
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Great hotel... Only one star but More like three. Air con, blast at cafe around the corner, tv and great staff to help you. Near bus and train station. Staff gave us great directions by email on how to reach hotel and even time table and map for bus to airport. I love Venice. Great city

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel ai Tolentini, June 11-14, 2012. We had a top floor corner room with a private bath. The room was very spacious and the bathroom, was a nice size. Our room had a safe, a/c (with your own remote control - fantastic!) and television. There is a great restaurant, on the lower level; we went twice! We loved the location, near the Santa Lucia train station and vaperetto's. The staff were very friendly, spoke english and were a great help. They have a free area to store your luggage, for free. We loved it and would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaAurora66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My boyfriend and I were arriving into Venice late so we wanted something close to the train station that wasn't too difficult to find. Great location, quiet place, and clean. The A/C worked and we had a great 2 nights there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackolatern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We were were originally booked into a different place owned by the same people, but were moved here due to some maintenance works happenig. The move actually turned out really well - arrived around 11:30pm so Alessio came to meet us at Piazzale Roma and walked us the 5 mins to the hotel. Great service from him.

The place itself has good sized rooms, bathroom is small but wasn't a problem for us. The only issue we had were a leaky a/c unit and no hairdryer in the room, but both sorted quickly with no fuss.

Location is the main selling point, easy to find when you arrive in Venice and is also pretty easy to navigate back to when roaming the Venice streets!

Overall a good place to stay for a few nights at a decent rate

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajwilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I had a difficult time finding a room in Venice that would accommodate our party of 4. I was travelling with my teenage daughters and didn't want to be separated in different rooms. When we arrived in Venice we really had nt idea how to get to the hotel but turned out to be close to the Rialto Bridge and the train station. One of the advantages of this hotel was that we didn't have to carry/drag our luggage though the winding alleys and frequent bridges of Venice. When we arrived we were greeeted by the Albergo who we had sent an email to the night before telling him of our approximate arrival time. In the ad for the hotel they ask that you phone when you arrive but we didn't have phones but we did have internet the night before and he was quick to answer. The room wasn't big but it was big enough for us. My daughers were happy with the bunk beds.

The hotel is well situated as far as getting around the city. We were able to get to San Marco Square in about 15 minutes once we knew where we were going (thank you to the person who put arrows on the building!) We were also very grateful for the air conditioning in the room.

Only one criticism would be that the breakfast that was included was not adequate. A coffee and a bun was about all there was offered, although the coffee was very good, it was not enough to start the day with. Other than that, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetTraveler010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Zurzach, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I was traveling with my friend Deb and her 2 daughters, age 18 and 15.
It was a real challenge to find accommodations that could handle 4 people in a room,
let alone one in Venice.

The Hotel Tolentini, was very accommodating. The room was a good size, king bed, with bunk beds on the side. We all slept very comfortably, we had a small fridge to keep the girls pop and our wine cold :) Also the bathroom was very clean, good supply of towels (bring your own shampoo and rinse, there were not enough for 4 girls).

You were given breakfast coupons that you could use for a coffee (capachino or macciatto, or orange juice) and a bun or croissant, at a local coffe shop steps away under a tree in the courtyard of the walk way.

The location was very easy to find from the train station, which was very handy as we had a lot of luggage to drag around and it was appreciated that we only had about 10 minutes to walk from the station (over a few bridges) to the hotel.

The location was also extremely handy to go shopping or sight seeing around Venice.

Room Tip: clean, lots of towels, fridge, and room for 4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#164 of 385 in Venice
292 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#200 of 385 in Venice
550 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#110 of 385 in Venice
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#106 of 385 in Venice
475 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#233 of 385 in Venice
656 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Falier
Hotel Falier
#217 of 385 in Venice
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ai Tolentini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ai Tolentini

Property: Hotel ai Tolentini
Address: Santa Croce, Calle Amai 197/G, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#135 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel ai Tolentini 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ai Tolentini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Tolentini Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing