We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Sant'Andrea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Sant'Andrea
Ranked #200 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Surrey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Room with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was a good size with large bathroom. We had a double and single bed in the room. The only thing was the wardrobes separated the room so we were separated and couldn't lay in bed chatting. It was nice to see the original beams and exposed brickwork. The room was very warm. The breakfast was ample and replenished all the time. The staff were very helpful and room cleaned daily with clean towels. We took the bus from the aiport and the hotel was quite easy to find from the bus station. The water bus stop was just around the corner from the hotel, this took you to St Marks Square and other stops en route. The main station is about 5 mins walk which is very handy when moving on to next location. We booked a walking tour and gondola ride (separate) in advance of travel. This saved wasting time when we got there, not sure if it saved money. The gondola ride was worth every penny (just under £100 for the 3 of us). Make sure you have comfy shoes on, a rain mac was advisable whilst we were there. Plenty of places to stop off for food/drink.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor. There is a lift but you have to request this at reception. The stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    243
    145
    24
    20
See reviews for
99
281
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here in this 2 * hotel in a double room for 3 nights in April 2012. First impressions of the room were that it was quite small but it was comfortable and impeccably clean. Ideal for a couple planning to use it as a base, as we did....we were up early and back late to make the most of our time in Venice. It was about a 15 minute walk to San Marco and very accessible to many restaurants. It was also nice and quiet despite being behind a bus station. There is Wi Fi available as well. Breakfast was fairly basic (continental style), but adequate for our needs as it's a must to sample the local delicacies as you explore this wonderful city! (Save money for your visitor tax upon check out, adaptor with extension lead would come in handy for charging phones, cameras etc.). We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 103 (first floor) was very quiet, could pick up wi fi in the room as near to wi fi area but sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraJWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very nice hotel, the bathroom was huge , the bedroom was great , location brilliant. I agree the breakfast could be better a bit of fruit would be nice

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shedevil49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Lovely spacious room and very large bathroom - all very clean.
The hotel is very well situated to the bus terminus but not impacted by noise.
There are a lot of stairs but, so has Venice itself.
Breakfast was continental - a little more variety would have been nice but it was nice and plentiful nonetheless.
Enjoyed a very pleasant stay here and will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sungal00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This 2-star hotel offers a very good quality/price ratio. My room was basic but comfortable and clean. The hotel is close to the train station (it takes 5 minutes on foot); you have a ferry stop to Murano on your doorstep and just round the corner (Piazzale Roma) you can get on ferry boats to the city centre. Breakfast is good. The staff was kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, which is served by the hotel's free wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavideTorino79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

If you are expecting luxuary this is not the hotel for you however, if you want a cheap comfortable nice hotel then you should look no further than this hotel.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was nice and comfortable and clean, beds were comfortable, bathroom was good, room was warm.

Breakfast was basic but nice and filling

Very close to a major water taxi stop and bus station for the mainland, rail stn is also in walking distance.

All in all this is a good base for someone wanting to explore Venice

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank exe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The rooms were nice, clean and rather spacey. The food was quite nice/average. Very good location as it is a couple of minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, the Grand Canal and the cruise boat docks. Our view was out the front, we watched The Tourist one night on a cruise boat's huge screen :D
The staff were not very helpful though and seemed grumpy, but not rude, I think it is just their way. Their English was not good either, but my Italian is worse.So don't let this put you off, it was an amazing building, looks a little rough on the outside, but nicely updated inside.
Good value + good location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#222 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#211 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#202 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#273 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#196 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#242 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sant'Andrea

Property: Casa Sant'Andrea
Address: Santa Croce 495/b, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Sant'Andrea 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Casa Sant'Andrea" is a former monastery built in the 16th century and modified in the 18th century, that has recently been beautifully renovated to become a typical Venetian Palace. Overlooking the S. Chiara canal, “Casa Sant'Andrea” offers the unique combination of a relaxing Venetian atmosphere and the convenience of being only a few minutes away from the Venice airport (by bus), the railway station (walking), and main roads. Designed to offer accommodation to business parties and groups as well as private families, it offers elegant interiors and light and spacious rooms, with or without bathroom, decorated in a modern and comfortable style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Casa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sant`Andrea Hotel Venice
Casa Sant Andrea Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing