We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Torcello Island

Torcello Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.11*
and up
Private Excursion by Typical Venetian Motorboat to Murano, Burano and Torcello
Ranked #41 of 604 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This small island is a bit off the usual Venetian path, but it’s worth seeing. Its Santa Maria Assunta church houses impressive mosaics, its bell tower offers great surrounding views—and it’s home to Locanda Cipriani, a well-regarded restaurant and hotel that played host to writing legend Ernest Hemingway .
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Venice is a fantastic place to visit, but if you have the time check our the outer island of Torcello. It is fascinating to see an island that once had 10,000 people that is now scarcely populated. It is still beautiful and gives a contrast to the congestion of Venice. You can almost imagine its former glory.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RonCathy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    396
    202
    66
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Refreshing break from Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

If you have 4-5 days in Venice take the time for a break from the maddening crowds and visit some of the islands. Even the boat ride across the lagoon begins to relax you. Torcello is quiet and serene with very good restaurants and two beautiful Byzantine churches. I have seen a lot of mosaics all over the world, but the ones in the larger Basilica are breathtaking and worth the trip by itself. If you want to make a day of it you can easily see all three islands - Torcello, where Venice started, Burano, island of lace a colorful homes, and Murano, center of the most beautiful glass in the world.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdestree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Having read lots of great reviews we were looking forward to visiting this island the most, how wrong we were, we much preferred Murano and Burano.
Don't get me wrong, it is a beautiful place to visit and has one of only two bridges without a parapet in Venice, we cooled off in the church and sat in Attila the Huns marble chair (allegedly) just outside the church, we sat in a shaded area and got bitten a few times, beware of small flying insects!
Worth visiting but would not return if back in Venice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blanche&DaveMcColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet and Quaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visited Torcello in Early July, caught the vaparetto direct from Fondamente Nuove to Torcello. We had our 5 day vaparetto pass that we had purchased at the ticket box at Rialto stop. There isn't a lot to see on Torcello, but it is really peaceful, we went about 9.30 am before it got too busy, in fact it was very very quiet at that time. Follow the path when you get off the vaparetto, there are also places to get food and coffee, probably only need a max of 2 hours on this island then catch vaparetto back across to Burano

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kezzab57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice and Interesting Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Even with the long vaporetto trip, stepping onto this island and visiting the churches was well worth the time. So much history is wrapped up in these churches which can be searched by the internet. One of the best trips to take around Venice and highly recommended. It was not crowded at all when we visited the island.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CrockerGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torcello Island also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Burano, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Torcello Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing