We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 4star hotel”
Review of Foscari Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Foscari Palace
Ranked #93 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice 4star hotel”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Very friendly nice little hotel well located on the grand canal with easy access to no 1 water bus station, room are ok but not fancy , stuff is very friendly. 20 min walk from San Marco sqr, breakfast is ok , the coffee is bad, nice Irish pub two blocks down

Room Tip: 108 is facing the grand canal but views are from an old gym with broken equipment inside, Better as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IssyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    288
    70
    40
    26
See reviews for
154
584
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

A very comfortable hotel, with pleasant staff and lovely rooms. In our superior room, the decor was just right, and there was plenty of space, including a little entry lobby, and a beautiful view sideways to the Grand Canal. A very nice assortment of choices for breakfast. The rooftop terrace was quaint, but the view was brilliant! No sense of claustrophobia here. The location was perfect for catching the vaporetto from the Ca' Doro, and also for walking through the pretty Venetian alleys to San Marco.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12greenleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hotel experiences can be memorable for the things that stand out, and sometimes these are unfortunately negative. In the case of the Foscari Palace, our five nights brought us only positive experiences. While our room on the 2nd floor did not have a view of the canal, it was spacious with a comfortable bed and good size bathroom. We found the breakfast buffet to be generous with a good variety of product. The hotel's ground floor lobby has a patio/dock with space for 2 tables that steps out over the canal, a nice place to enjoy breakfast from the main dining room. Water taxis can access this area and it is here we waited for our complimentary water taxi provided by the hotel and included in their free offer of a glass-making tour on Murano Island.

So with nothing really to fault about our stay at this hotel, it is the actions of some of the staff of the Foscari Palace that left a favourable impression with us. Their general friendliness reminded us of more of the personal service usually on offer at smaller, boutique hotels. Two specific examples come to mind. Firstly, while the dining room has an automatic coffee/tea station for use by guests, I found out on the first morning of our stay that it does not make a macchiato style coffee. One of the breakfast staff on duty went to the kitchen and made it for me. For the following four mornings, the same staff member would come to our table and always enquire whether she could make the coffee for me. The second example of examplary service concerns the assistance we received from the staff member at reception (day shift). We wanted to post a box of items back to Australia to lighten our load for the remainder of our trip, and enquired about postage costs. This staff member recalled she had some details of costs from another postal service (an alternative to the Venetian postal service). She made phone calls, provided a box for our items, gave us a quote of the cost. All we had to do was place our items in the box. She took care of everything else - saving us money, and more importantly, time.

There are enough reviews for this hotel commenting on its convenient location, cleanliness and facilities. We confirm all the positive reviews. For us, it was the superior service delivered by some of the staff that made our stay memorable. We would gladly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank domeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We've just returned from a week's stay at the Foscari Palace and with so many other TripAdvisor reviews of the hotel there is little to add that hasn't already been said. Despite what some reviewers have said, our experience was that every member of staff we encountered was really helpful and pleasant, a real plus was that breakfast was served for a three hour period (only on one day did we see that one couple had to wait for a table for a couple of minutes or so) and you didn't find that the breakfast buffet had been stripped bare if you were late down because the staff were constantly replacing plates and dishes of food before they were even empty. Wi-Fi was readily available with a good signal. Don't worry about noise from the vaporetti stop being close because although you may hear it with the windows wide open, it didn't bother us at all as it's close enough for easy access to it but just far enough away not to be a nuisance. Buy a bottle of Prosecco from the shop 50 metres away, sit on the rooftop terrace looking at the sun set over the Grand Canal and enjoy! We did.

Room Tip: You'll always pay more for a Grand Canal view but if you can get a deal, especially out of seaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JourneymanNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel is in a superb location right on the Grand Canal. It is just a short walk from the Ca'Doro Vaporetto stop (No. 1 vaporetto) and immediately outside the hotel there is a traghetto (gondola ferry) across to the Rialto market - cost 2 euros pp. We had a superior room which overlooked the campo although if you leaned out of the window you had a great view of the Grand Canal. The room was clean, large and the beds were comfortable. On arrival we did ask to swap to the room next door as the first room we were shown only had one window - making it a little dark - whereas the room next door had two windows and the bathroom also had a window. Whilst you don't spend a lot of time in the room we did prefer the much lighter one. I had been a little concerned, before my arrival, because after having booked the hotel, I noticed a couple of Tripadvisor reviews stating that the staff were rude and various things didn't work in the bathroom. However, were delighted to find this was not the case - all the staff were charming and helpful. Here I would particularly mention Lisa, Tatiana and another lady on the desk on our last day (whose name I omitted to ask). All were happy to offer assistance - Tatiana answered my many questions, booked a delightful restaurant for us prior to our arrival, Lisa cheerfully dealt with many requests (including the one to change rooms) and generally we felt everyone wished to please. The decor of the bedrooms was a little bland but on the other hand it was clean, well appointed and there was plenty of storage space and (most unusually these days) plenty of hangars! There was a great choice at breakfast in a pleasant breakfast room but the winning point had to be the fabulous roof terrace - the view is not to be missed!! All in all we felt the hotel was a great find - if you particularly wanted Canal facing rooms I would go for the ones on the second floor.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are large but do not face the Grand Canal. We looked at the Canal facing rooms but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2bpampered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Nice hotel, big bathrooms, very close to the center of Venice and just next to the Canal Grande. Wifi: foscari2012 (but keeps jumping off if you close your browser, so remember to log in again) - and very friendly staff!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ElmaRazic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudffolk uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is lovely and the location is superb. On arrival we were met by lovely staff and able to go up to our room two hours early which was great. The windows are huge and the view from ours (room 105) was great as we could see the grande canal as well as the square to the right. The room had loads of storage space, draws, cupboards etc. The bathroom is a little tired and a bit smelly but nothing closin ght edoor doesn't sort out! The beds are very VERY hard...but we are used to memory foam so praps for others they would be ok. Our tip is to get the blankets out of the wardrobe and use those as covers which means you can use the green bed covers as extra padding.
The continental breakfast was perfect for us, lots to choose from and all very nice. The coffee from the machine is lovely. There was some hot food available but we didn't have any so can't comment.
The reception area and public areas are all beautifully decorated and walkinig out on to the little veranda to the right of reception was beautiful. We sat in the sun watching the boats for ages. Another fab thing about this hotel is the rooftop terrace...we went up in the day but also at night which was magical. Venice is beautiful and Foscari Palace a great base from which to explore.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
Cannaregio
Hotel Pesaro Palace
Hotel Pesaro Palace
#112 of 499 in City of Venice
856 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#62 of 385 in Venice
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#44 of 385 in Venice
1,147 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#29 of 385 in Venice
2,275 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#57 of 385 in Venice
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foscari Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foscari Palace

Property: Foscari Palace
Address: Campo Santa Sofia 4200 / 1 / 2, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#126 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#131 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Foscari Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Foscari Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foscari Palace Hotel Venice
Foscari Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing