We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Ranked #338 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had a pleasant surprise when we arrived at this hostel. Our room was so large that it was divided into two! We basically had our own rooms. Bed linen was provided. The bathroom was separate but very clean. Ther
Two downsides were the location and the lack of wi-fi. The hostel was right on the edge of the island which is better than being off the island but we would've preferred to be closer to the action. There are a few great restaurants around the hostel though.
Free wi-fi is available but it doesn't seem to work on iPhones.
There are good kitchen facilities and a cosy common room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

We found out what one star meant the hard way. Our room overlooked the noisy street, and had no air conditioning - forcing us to decide between suffocation (the room stunk of cigarettes and urine) and no sleep due to the noise from the street. We subsequently asked for a pedestal fan, which cost €3 per day. You also had to pay for wifi. The breakfast was not included in our stay, which is lucky since it would have cost us €5 for individually sealed mini toast and jam. There was a dead bug stuck to the shared shower for the entirety of our stay (three days). Worst of all, the gentleman at reception was incredibly rude and condecending. I strongly advise against staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

i got a room at the 3rd floor, and there's no elevator (a big mistake not to left my luggage at the Santa Lucia, unfortunate for me that luggage storage in Santa Lucia is costly).....the shower room need to be redecorated. the room itself is clean and tidy. the location is near the santa lucia, but it will be quite far from Piazza di st. Marco. the lady is quite helpful, but the guy speaks limited english. Value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Fine small hotel in a beautiful area.
Two steps from the station and the vaporetto stop.
Plenty of cafes nearby, including the budget Breck with Italian menu.
There is a large supermarket near piazza di Roma,
Staff friendly, rooms are spacious, hearty breakfast, WiFi in the room.
No elevator.
Good value for money.
Very grateful to Magda, always friendly and positive, sorry, it was not possible to say goodbye to her before leaving.
I am pleased to dwell in the Minerva again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllaSpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

There are two parts to the hotel, on either side of a main street/lane. The reception is on the left hand side (including some rooms) and the part we stayed was across the lane. We had a room on the third floor (room 37) and it was very large. Beautiful high ceilings, very clean and tidy, windows onto the side lane. For the price (and Venice can be expensive) this place was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

reading some reviews i wanted to cancel this hotel and re-book another but was talked round into staying, sorry!! but i was very wrong. the rooms were big clean and the bathroom had the biggest shower head. one of our party was in a wheelchair and they immediately started fussing and offering a ground floor room, the staff were very nice and professional. the area is near the ghetto and the casino, here you will brush shoulders with the locals and tourists. its not as busy as st marks sq or the rialto bridge but the shopping is more high street and i think a jewel of an area to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandererhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

this is a really sweet little hotel, friendly staff and the room was really nice. the breakfast was fine, but nothing special, but for between 35 and 40 euros per night pp in venice, what can you expect? ours was one of the rooms without it's own bathroom, but the bathroom was always clean and just a few steps from the room. everything about the hotel was good for me, but the real star was the location, a few minutes from the rail station and in cannaregio, which was my fave area of venice, especially for going out in the evenings. the only possible downside is that it is on the main street, so can be a little loud, but this being venice everything tends to go quiet after 10/11 in the evening!

Room Tip: you can ask for a room with or without a bathroom - price varies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zzao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Belvedere
#231 of 385 in Venice
80 reviews
Hotel San Giuliano
#345 of 385 in Venice
261 reviews
Hotel Altieri
#352 of 385 in Venice
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#347 of 385 in Venice
330 reviews
Hotel Airone
#349 of 385 in Venice
338 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#264 of 385 in Venice
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva & Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva & Nettuno

Address: Lista D Spagna | 230 Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £37 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Minerva & Nettuno 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Minerva & Nettuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva And Nettuno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing