We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stunning church” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria dei Miracoli

Santa Maria dei Miracoli
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.89*
and up
Hidden Venice Walking Tour by Night
Ranked #26 of 588 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A stunning church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hard to find but well worth the search - the church is amazing - we were also lucky enough to go to a concert by a school from Liverpool which was one of those magical moments

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CUB535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    174
    32
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very interesting visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were a group of 4 women who visited this museum together.We all enjoyed it ,although as I have a special interest in textiles and fashion perhaps I got most out of it.However we all agreed that it gave a real feel of what it may have been like to live in a mansion in days gone by.Of particular interest is the small stature of all mannequin.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not really as rainbow and magical as hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Perhap the idea of rainbow marble invoked a magical image but we didn't find this church that unique. The marble was still mostly pink , grey and yellow and not much more spectacular than many churches we'd seen.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Llinderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Most Beautiful Church in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Santa Maria dei Miracoli is hands-down the most beautiful church in Venice. The phrase most commonly used to describe it is "a jewel box," and that is exactly what it is like - small, decorated only with different shades of marble, with a barrel-vaulted gilt coffered ceiling. The exterior has recently been restored and looks splendid - exquisite early-Renaissance Venetian architecture. The Miracoli is off the beaten tourist track although not at all difficult to get to (just 5 minutes from the Rialto Bridge), and it is never crowded. Unlike the Frari or the Salute or San Marco, the church has no great art or historical associations. But it is, and has been since I first saw it in 1974, my favorite building in Venice. Do yourself a favor, make time, and go see it. Although be aware that the Miracoli is known as the "Wedding Church" in Venice because so many people want to get married there, and so it is sometimes closed for weddings or rehearsals. (When we visited it on June 12 we barely got in before a wedding rehearsal began.) There is the usual 3-euro admission fee, worth every penny.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A gem tucked away in a tranquil location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We found this church by accident as happens in Venice!! It is a gorgeous, glistening, marble gem that reflects the power of the people. It isn't crowded and ,due to recent work looks fantastic. There are so many riches on offer in Venice it isn't possible to see everything but if you are wandering around and stumble across it, go in!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeWhatDSees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Maria dei Miracoli also viewed

 

Been to Santa Maria dei Miracoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing