We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel.”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #251 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here 4 nights during carnaval. We liked the place. It takes a 30 minutes walk to San Marco or you can take the boat. The rooms are small but with everything you need and they are clean. Friendly staff. We booked via Ebookers flight with Brussels airlines and stay at a very reasonable price during the carnaval.
The breakfast is OK only ... the coffee is not good but on demand the waitress served us capuccino and esspresso.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Tiniest entrance, crazily big maze of a building inside!
Stayed for NYE (Which was pretty expensive due to time of year - 185 euro for the night)
Room itself was "compact" with an inbuilt shower/toilet room at the end of the bed (Not ideal really but if you prefer they do have external toilets in the building also) also probably wasn't the best colour scheme - Deep Red Stripes.... Made the room look even smaller.

Breakfast buffet was neither mine or my boyfriend's 'cup of tea', very, very basic.

Overall the bed was comfy, the water was hot, the room was clean, the staff were friendly, hotel was ON Venice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Some reviews of the Hotel Nazionale seem to be way off and actually unfair? This is a budget hotel by Venice international standards, in a perfect location near the train and bus stations, literally on the Grand Canal and very close to the vaporetto stop Ferrovia. I. It's category, this hotel is great. It's extremely clean. Rooms are small but functional with lots of storage and decent bathrooms. We stayed in room 449 on the 4th floor. Decent continental breakfast. Can't fault the staff either, everybody was very helpful. The immediate vicinity is very good, with lots of shops, bars and restaurants, and on the scenic route to San Marco. Perfect for a short stay in central Venice, without breaking the bank.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank LB6931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The room is small, the bath even smaller, hot water pressure was almost zero. The only thing this place has going for it is location and the front deck. Denise at the front desk was extremely helpful. She gave us dining recommendations which were excellent and at one point took us by the hand to a restaurant she wanted us the eat at.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71don71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

If it wasn't for the location of this hotel, I would have given it a terrible review. The bed was higher on the foot then the head. The air conditioning didn't work at all. The private bath was a complete joke. When we asked to switch rooms, we were pretty much laughed at. It was sweltering in the room, and we couldn't open our window because of the mosquitos. Friends of ours were staying just down the street, their hotel was MUCH better than ours, at the same cost. Stay away if you can.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

- Service: Always ready to help, but obviously one has to understand that sometimes the receptionists are busy, so that is why sometimes they might be reviewed as not friendly. When you are polite to them you will be well served. A porter helped us with luggages to our room.
- Room: Rooms are a bit small but more than enough, and it is not true that you do not have space for luggages. You have the wardrobe and cupboards to use for clothes, hence you can place the empty luggages by the wall on the side. Beds are very comfortable. Rooms are very clean, no smell, and cleaned every morning.
- Showers: A bit small too, and the shower may be a little bigger - a bit uncomfortable. Toilets equipped with towels, soap, shower gel, etc...
- Internet: Internet available in the lobby room and very fast. A free 10hour (not consecutive) code is given. I watched a football game perfectly in the lobby.
- Breakfast: Very clean breakfast room. Few selections but the food is fresh and very good. The croissants are delicious. Breakfast includes ham, cheeses, bread, croissants, nutella, jams, cereals, milk, coffee, tea, water, juices, etc...
- Room service: The shower was flooding on our first attempt. We called the reception and the porter arrived immediately. The handyman came in the morning when we were out and they did not just fix the blockage perfectly, but they changed the whole shower equipment and we realised that they even cleaned and changed the lightning of the room - a full service.
- Common toilets: these are also very clean and no smells at all, found on the first floor near the breakfast room.
- Others: no insects whatsoever except for a mosquito there and then when you open the windows, like any other hotel in Venice. No bad smells. Very helpful with maps, vaporetto service, restaurants' recommendations, etc...

Few words - a three star hotel which is worth every penny - i just cannot believe some comments which at first were going to change my booking. What better can you expect from a €200 for three nights in Venice... Thanks HOTEL NAZIONALE.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms as they are next to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Nazionale's appeal is its amazing location - literally just steps from the main train station, with easy access to all parts of Venice at all hours of the day. It's definitely a bit rough around the edges. We had a triple room, and there was barely room to walk between the beds. Also, one of our fellow guests spent the night passed out on the hallway floor, just outside our door, and nobody seemed to pay any attention to it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkyHighYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#336 of 385 in Venice
371 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#345 of 385 in Venice
326 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#263 of 385 in Venice
841 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tre Archi
Hotel Tre Archi
#250 of 385 in Venice
725 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#300 of 385 in Venice
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Address: Lista Spagna Cannaregio 158, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £60 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing