We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Salieri
Ranked #198 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed here 2 nights, in comparison to other hotels in Venice this was quite cheap. So i would put this in a budget hotel category...and for a budget hotel this definitely deserves 4*. Would have been a full 5 but for couple of very minor things. The double bed we was expecting was actually 2 singles pushed together (minor issue). There was abit of a smell when you first entered the room but which quickly disappeared when you opened the windows. Other than them 2 very very minor issues this hotel is a gem at this price. Breakfast is included in the price in the restaurant next door, there is cereal, croissants, bread and little biscuit type things. Usual tea, coffee, milk and orange juice available. People who say the breakfast is basic should remember that this is a very cheap price for a hotel in venice. Our room was a cosy size and had an en suite, it was very functional. The hotel itself has plenty of character and has 3 floors, no lift. The receptionists we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. It is located near to the Piazzale Roma (main stop for buses and coaches from the airports). Would take 10 mins max from there but we stopped off in a little restaurant before we found the hotel. Overall a great little hotel that fulfilled our needs and we will definitely be visiting this hotel again when we next come to vence.

Room Tip: Theres 12 rooms, 4 on each floor. rooms 1-4 are on the first floor and they work there way up. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pavan_and_Navpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this small hotel in Venice. Hotels in Venice were pretty expensive and Locanda Salieri was one of the cheaper options here. It was about 10 mins walk from the train station as we had heavy luggages. When we arrived, it was quite expected - furnitures were old and the reception had a smell. There was no lift and the reception was very kind to give us a room on the second floor (we had booked a room on 3rd floor). There was no one to help us with our baggages and we had to lug it up ourselves.

The room was clean and smelled nice, the furnitures were however quite old and tv very small. Room was quite spacious and toilet clean. Wifi connection was quite stable as well.

Breakfast was at the restaurant next door. Basic but adequate.

Service was pleasant, they try to answer any questions you may have. You can also ask for a map from the reception. Was puzzled with the housekeeping on day 2 though. They cleaned our room but did not change our towels...

Overall it was a very basic hotel, would recommend it if you just needed a place to sleep in expensive Venice. I will pay for a better hotel next time though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplelove11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had a room just under the roof. It was room 12. At the first glance it was quite good: a large bed, a table, chairs, a cupboard. There was a shower and air conditioning. Then we started to reveal shortcomings. Firstly, my wife saw a bug or rather some kind of caterpillar. It moved very quickly but finally we were able to kill it. After that we imagined these caterpillars everywhere:) But, fortunatelly we saw and kill only one after that. Secondary, air condition in the next room worked very loudly for me at least. My wife slept very well, but I had problems because of that sound.

But then we found a big big advantage. There is a small area on the roof on which you can sit. We came out of the window onot that area, sat there, drank wine and had a very pleasant view on the channel.

Room Tip: If you choose #11 or 12 you may use a small area on the roof. Read my review for more details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

A great value small hotel within easy walking distance of the Piazzali Roma where the Marco Polo airport buses arrive and depart. Easy to find and a good base to walk around Venice. We had a small double room (very adequate) with en-suite (very nice with a good shower) and air conditioning (not absolutely silent but quiet enough to leave running all night). Our room was on the top (3rd) floor (very quiet) and although there is no lift life was made easy by the willing assistance of the friendly english speaking young man on reception who carried some of our luggage. Breakfast was good and taken in the adjoining restaurant. Not a 5 star hotel but fantastic value for a good budget establishment. Our experience puts this hotel top of our list and we will have no hesitation in booking a room there when we are next in Venice.

Room Tip: The higher the room number (of 12) the further from ground level and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

It was good that we only stayed here for 1 night only on our way to our Venice-Rovinj ferry, otherwise, consider other hotels in better locations nearer to Venice' attractions. Though the room has a view of the canal (you have to pay extra for this), the bathroom was clean but reeks of chlorox smell; the room very tight (not unusual in Venice) and furnitures were so dated with the chair not fit to sit on as it is just a cushion without support underneath it. The armoire has that old, unventilated smell so we did not put anything in it. This hotel is supposed to have air condition but we cannot use it because according to the receptionist the season is over and the central control is off. So, on a unseasonably warm day (end of Sept.), we had a very uncomfortable sleep. Also, be aware that beside the hotel is it's restaurant that closes 12:00 PM which means, that there will be lots of noise inside and outside the restaurant until 12:00 PM or so. I requested the female receptionist to place a restaurant for us but when we arrived at the restaurant we were told that they never received a call/reservation from our hotel but was kind enough to seat us. Most important, a very valuable personal item was taken; a first in our 15 years of travel.

Room Tip: Before placing a reservation, make sure you will have access to an air condition, if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were both very impressed with our hotel stay. This hotel is very close to the bus and train station which was great since our stay was short and convenience played a big part in the hotel choice. Trust me you do not want to be dragging your suitcases/bags around Venice unless you are staying there for a few days and will be taking a water taxi to your hotel.

Having done my research and reading reviews about the place I requested a room with a private bathroom and a A/C. The room was very basic and small but clean and efficient. For the price it really is a great value in Venice. We did not spend much time in the room so it did the job. We had a “view” but I wouldn’t recommend paying extra for it since the windows are rather small and I could have done without. The staff was great and very helpful. If you are checking out early make sure you speak with them and get sorted out the night before need be. The breakfast next door was typical, coffee, cheese, ham, croissants etc. The bread was freshly baked and you could tell it was made there. We bought bottles of water and snacks from a café down the road. I highly recommend the gondola ride they offer because it was a lot cheaper than booking a gondola ride any other way plus Alex gives you a very personal gondola ride and shows you Venice from a local’s point of view.

My one regret is that we did not go to the restaurant adjacent to the hotel both nights. The food was the best I had during my vacation, the entire staff was extremely friendly, the wine they recommended was perfect and the singers/violinist and candle light created the best mood. I highly recommend going there at least once for dinner and order off their specials menu.

When I return to Venice I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissE-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I picked this hotel based on reviews, price and location. I was not disappointed. The hotel is an easy 5 min. walk from P.Roma, you only cross two bridges, very important if you have luggage. I had room #3 which had a balcony overlooking the canal, very nice. Room size was normal for european standards, water was always hot and wifi was reliable. Breakfast was in the restaurant next door. Not bad, but I am not a big breakfast eater, so it maybe a bit spartan if you rely on a large breakfast to start your day. Location was close to the train station and many restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for room #3 if you desire a nice view of the canal with a balcony. It is slightly more money bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank car4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#130 of 385 in Venice
939 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,904 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#257 of 476 in Venice
30 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 385 in Venice
2,160 reviews
Hotel Laguna Residence
#261 of 476 in Venice
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Salieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Salieri

Address: Fondamenta Minotto Santa Croce 160 | Canale del Gaffaro, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#144 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £108 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Locanda Salieri 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Locanda Salieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Salieri Hotel
Locanda Salieri Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing