We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Salieri
Ranked #199 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights in late August 2013. Great location on quiet canal an easy walk from St Marks. Arrived late at night but this was not a problem. Very friendly service. Conveniently located near bus and train stations

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a canal side room and are glad we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkayax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    159
    53
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
203
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed recently for 2 nights. The room was very small but full of character. We had a view over the garden which was lovely as the sun was going down.
The breakfast was very nice and served in a nice restaurant next door.
It is in a good location about 10 mins walk from the train/ bus station with lots of lovely canals all around.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diningout4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent a few nights in Venice where hotels are notoriously expensive, and service can be diffident because of high demand. I can highly recommend Hotel Locanda Salieri for its excellent value. It is easy walking distance to bus, and train station, located on a quiet canal, and within comfortable walking distance of St Marks. Also close to vaporetto stops. Our room was very comfortable and offered all the amenities we required. Breakfast is offered next door in their restaurant, in a charming courtyard, where you can also dine in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryn539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Aloha from Hawaii.

I stayed at the hotel from 26 July through 2 August 2013.

The only glitch was someone other than Gianluca confirmed a change in my plans when I emailed them and I didn't have the right room for the first two nights. Make sure if making any changes to your itinerary -- and I'd made a few via email, so it's easy to see how this could have happened (that more than one employee may respond) -- get in touch with Gianluca himself to be sure you're in the right room, etc. He's a solid guy, really nice, super vibes, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Love that guy. Good people.

A canal view single room was large, with compact but roomy enough bathroom w/shower. Super modern and excellent toilet and shower. Don't remember any hot water problems, maybe a bit less hot during peak morning hours, but excellent overall room, bathroom, and great little balcony overlooking a pristine sample of Venice. Some photos are attached, and the breakfast superb!

It is served in an outdoor back private courtyard area of the restaurant which is adjacent to the hotel. Lush with greenery, it has plants of all kinds, trees, and an authentic small Venice courtyard feel -- intimate, private and welcoming like a garden setting you'd want to be in over and over again, with staff that are pleasant, friendly, and make you feel at home. This hotel offers this tranquil place to you, sometimes all to yourself, each morning.

Breakfast consists of you picking a table for yourself, then they bring you a roll and a croissant. If you want more, they always brought more (for the experience shared here, at least). There are jams, preserves, chocolate, butter and other things for the bread, plus a little more bread on the counter, and... hard-boiled eggs. Plus cheese and cereal, orange juice and coffee. I think that was it. And water. So each day I'd have the served bread items with a wedge of the cheese in each, and a hard-boiled egg. It made a great sandwich. The setting was serine. What a fantastic way to start the day. I will treasure my time just there in the breakfast area, let alone my large room with a stunning view, day or night. The energy it provides in terms of a cool setting to get your day started cannot be underestimated. Something good happened there. I just felt great there each morning, and one time Gianluca was doing some photos for a new website, and spent time talking with me, looking at the map. It was a blessing to have a host like him, and our chat that morning in the empty breakfast room I will always treasure.

Location for bus visitors perfect. Highly recommend if wanting an easy way to experience actual canal-front hotel living and come via bus (cheap and easy), this is a great option. There are so many hotels, though, so countless other great places await there, with many other likely hosts similar to Gianluca, I imagine.

The Coop grocery store is ESSENTIAL. Items for friends back home like pasta from Italy, to cheap soda, beer, wine and every other food a grocery store in the states may have. It reminded me a little of the Don Quiote Japanese grocery stores we have in Honolulu, as for selection, but catered to Italy. Great prices, close to the hotel, and the 20 oz. beer, .85 Euros -- cheaper than a 1.35 Coke -- was as tasty as any beer I've ever had. Unreal prices, lower than in Hawaii, basically, on everything. Pizzas down the block away from the bus station about 2 blocks were 4.50 E for a small plain -- 3.50 for a marinara. So tasty.



If you stay there and this review helped and was accurate, please tell Gianluca Dave from Hawaii says aloha. He'd remember. I gave him some nice stuff from here-- coffee and chocolate covered macadamia nuts-- he was a wonderful host and all his staff I encountered over a week fantastic. My best to them all.

Room Tip: Ask for/book a canal view room. Ask for one with a balcony; small but nice to have. Take advantage o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travels808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a really nice experience at this hotel and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone traveling to Venice that doesn’t want to pay an arm and a leg for a hotel room. The hotel is very simple but has everything that you need for a comfortable stay. It is right on the water and they have a really nice restaurant next store that they serve you a complimentary breakfast. The owners were nice and even made sure to be available when we arrived at the hotel, even though, due to flight problems, we were arriving at 1 something in the morning. Also, the hotel is located close to Piazzale Roma which I thought was nice because that is where the buses and taxis can get to which made getting to/getting out of Venice with our luggage much easier. Additionally, the location is away from the huge crowds near San Marco which is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotts Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We needed a few rooms for one night before hopping onto a cruise ship. This adorable hotel located on a quiet canal was perfect for our family. It was clean, comfortable, affordable, casual, authentic and had everything we needed. Cute shops and restaurants are located nearby and we enjoyed the free breakfast in the outdoor courtyard. I would definitely recommend this place and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the courtyard and others overlook the canal. I think both views are equally as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mindi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Tiny room, no 'frig, tiny bathroom, tiny window looked onto small canal. Hardly worth paying the extra for a canal view. Everything is old but clean.
The Wi-fi worked well in the room and in their restaurant. It is well situated, being a short walk for those arriving by train or cruise ship. Otherwise, a porter will bring your bags to the hotel for a small fee. The
140 Euros per night seems exhorbitant for that class of hotel but maybe you can't get much better in Venice.

Room Tip: If booking into older type, small hotels, check if there is a lift. Lugging suitcases up narrow sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Residence Palazzo Odoni
#117 of 385 in Venice
436 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#128 of 385 in Venice
900 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel al Malcanton
Hotel al Malcanton
#222 of 385 in Venice
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#83 of 385 in Venice
1,040 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca dei Polo
Ca dei Polo
#16 of 462 in Venice
571 reviews
Santa Croce
Maria 3536
Maria 3536
#35 of 222 in Venice
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Salieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Salieri

Property: Hotel Locanda Salieri
Address: Fondamenta Minotto Santa Croce 160 | Canale del Gaffaro, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#145 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Locanda Salieri 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Locanda Salieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Salieri Hotel
Locanda Salieri Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing