We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, but the owner's a crook” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Pisani Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Pisani Canal
Ranked #293 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice hotel, but the owner's a crook”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

the place is nice, and price/quality is very good for Italian standards and considering the excellent location. it is an "extension" of another hotel so it is not staffed off-hours. rooms are clean and well equipped, breakfast is decent. But...

during our stay, shower screen fell from its hinges. no misuse from us there. without it, showering would have been a mess. the owner started to give us excuses: it's holidays, I have no more rooms... in the end he got it repaired, but he tried to charge us 50€ for the repair, as he had to call a different mechanic for his was out of town. We wouldn't pay for that, but then i forgot some personal belongings in the safe. Well, he was so kind as to mail them to me, charging me 24€ for an 8€ stamp (Venice to Barcelona). a crook.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nestor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    43
    16
    8
    15
See reviews for
23
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

I can't really review this hotel since we did not stay here. I booked it online and then received an emailed confirmation of our reservation. After traveling about 15 hours to get there I was looking forward to a shower and a place to rest, but they I'd not have our reservation and had no rooms available. It was a little confusing to figure out what happened because of the language but I deduced that their online reservation system is not exactly automatic. There must be some kind of middleman or human component that caused me to have a confirmation and them to have zero record of it.

I still give them 3 stars though because the owner spent about an hour finding us another room. It was a Friday and Saturday night so the town was very busy. The hotel we ended up with was not in as good of a location as casa pisani canal, but we were happy to have a place to sleep and still had a great time.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BusterBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We (couple aged 23 & 26) have never been to Venice before and were worried abut staying on the lagoon islands as this would be added things to think about with the travel etc.
I am so glad we paid a little extra to stay at this hotel as the location was amazing! As people have said, it is really hard to find initially as the directions on the website are not great - however, if you arrive into fdt. Nuove on the boat bus, turn left and continue over the bridges until you see the hospital. If you turn down the street before the hospital (I have name written down somewhere, so contact me if you would like it) and continue until you reach the square, cross the bridge to your right and turn left after the gelato shop- this will take about 5 mins to reach the hotel.
We stayed in a standard room...The rooms are very small, there are no English channels on the tv if you like to watch the news in the morning, and breakfast is limited- but I have been told that this is the norm in Venice.
The hotel was very clean and quiet and you really feel a part of the city as it is a little bit like you have your own apartment there.
The staff weren't awful but weren't brilliant either - but nothing that impacted on our stay.
We found a brilliant cafe/pizza place on the front at fdt nouvo called Cupid's - the food was great and cheap and their prosecco was lovely. The waitress is called Barbara and was brilliant!!!
I would definitely recommend going to St Marco's square at night as well as in the day, it is a very different atmosphere and is so romantic.
One thing to note is that you are not able to take cameras or large bags/any rucksacks into the basilica. They ask you to leave your bags at their "cloakroom" around the corner. We weren't keen on doing this so didn't go that day.
All in all we had an amazing time- I'd recommend getting a pass for the boat bus to hop over to Murano and Lido - make sure you take your beach stuff to Lido as the beach is lovely.

If I go back to Venice, I would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We arranged our trip to Venice through Jet2holidays.com and we were expecting to stay at the Locanda Canal however upon arrival we were moved to the Casa Pisani instead (it's sister hotel). The receptionist from the Locanda Canal Hotel walked us to the Casa Pisani and showed us to our room. We were pleasantly surprised, despite some avaerage reviews. The room was spotlessly clean, with a comfortable bed, air conditioning and mini-fridge. For what we paid, we could not have asked for more. As expected, (due to being in a different country), we had some slight language barriers at breakfast however the staff certainly did their best and were pleasant with it. There was no receptionist at this hotel so in the event of things going wrong, it would be quite frustrating however we had no problems at all. We did find the hotel difficult to find each time we went back to it so make sure you highlight the street or nearest one on your map before you leave for the day. We would recommend both this hotel and the Locanda Canal (which we moved too during our stay due to the arrival of other guests - strange at the time as we found out at breakfast in broken English that we were changing hotels, but our luggage was transported for us and it was closer to San Marco so it was no real hassle). Italy generally has basic hotels so if you go with low expectations you will be in for a treat. If you are like my husband and I, you will only really use your hotel for sleeping in and use your time in Venice exploring.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LowreyDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband and myself had a lovely stay at Casa Pisani. We had booked a suite room that faced the canal - the room was very large, clean and well kept, had a four-poster comfortable bed, pull out couch and two chairs and was equipped with all the amenities we needed (wardrobe, mini bar/fridge, hair dryer, towels etc). The continental breakfast served each morning was more than adequate given standard European ideas of what breakfast is (it had cereal, croissants, bread, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit and juice/coffee/tea). The woman who served the meal was very nice and understood Englsh well. This place was very private and suited us perfectly for our honeymoon. My only advice is if you are looking for a 24hr full service hotel, this isn't the place for you as there isn't anyone at the front desk (however our room was cleaned daily). We had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend to any of our family or friends!

Room Tip: Room 105 was where we stayed - had two lovely balcony windows overlooking the canal and a gorgeous f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

After browsing through lots of hotels, I stumbled across this one and what a find! It was perfect in all aspects - location, cost, room and staff. We preferred a smaller hotel to the hustle and bustle of a larger one, so it was very private. Would definitely recommend!

Julie & Steve
Stockton on Tees

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank PortJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

If you are going to Venice, beware of Casa Pisani Canal (Cannaregio 6105, Cannaregio, Venice 30131). The hotel offers accommodation on the internet and in the picture looks very nice. But our experience was terrible. First we had to wait 10 minutes in front of the hotel for the hotel employee to show up. Although we ordered a room for four, in the room there was only a double bed and the hotel attendant spread two chairs for the next two beds, leaving no space in the room. When we complained, he told us there was no one available. After our insistence, he called his boss who rejected our complaints and began to shout over the phone. We left the hotel frustrated and were forced to look for other accommodations. To our surprise, Casa Pisani still charged us for the room. We do not recommend this hotel to anyone. They are rude and cheats.

Room Tip: Stay out of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Locanda Canal
Locanda Canal
#300 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Leon Bianco
Locanda Leon Bianco
#203 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#219 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Vagon
Hotel Al Vagon
#179 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#218 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#103 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pisani Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pisani Canal

Property: Casa Pisani Canal
Address: Cannaregio 6105, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Pisani Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Pisani Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pisani Canal Venice
Casa Pisani Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing