We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location but unjustified big price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace Bonvecchiati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palace Bonvecchiati
Ranked #95 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good location but unjustified big price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

PLUS:
We booked at PALACE BONVECCHIATI a triple deluxe for 2 adults and 1 child in august 2011. Room very clean, and clean sharp at time. Room size and amenities adequate. Very comfortable king bed. Reception staff polite and helpful. Fax in room, and private international phone number. Ceilling air conditioning very well working, very silent and the fan good setted in order to not disturb. Carpet alteranates floor tiles in a good way.
MINUS:
Not a design hotel. The room furniture doesn't seem to be recently refurbished in an old fashion style. Rather seems to be a really OLD one. SEE PHOTHOS. There are 2 brothers hotels in connected buildings: bonvecchiati - the cheaper one, and PALACE bonvecchiati - expensive one. Breakfast is served in the same place, in a crowded restaurant, same food and drinks. Poor breakfast for a FIRST CLASS 4 stars hotel. No selected food, you ussually find in, let's say, a french first clas 4 stars hotel. No free wireless connection in room. When complained, receptionist jocked to me: "air only is free in venice". Hard to understand, after we stayed this holliday in Monte Carlo 5 stars and Provence 5 stars hotels, where no one receptionist could afford such an answer !! But we have no complain regarding this. We have humour everywhere.
Comparing prices with 5 stars luxury hotels and 4 stars first class boutique hotels in monte carlo and france, or in rome, and lugano, or in wien, I think this hotel is overpriced for what they offer.


Our score for palace bonvecchiati : 8,5.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ovigalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    468
    105
    30
    21
See reviews for
218
770
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Excellent location, only c.400metres from St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge.

Rooms of moderate size, but very clean, comfortable beds and well equipped.

Reception friendly, efficient and helpful.

Breakfast busy, but good service, selection ok and opportunity to sit outside.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teesside_tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

A small confusion in the beginning (when booking, it was never mentioned that our suite is in the Palace Bonvecchiati, which is the "sister" hotel of Hotel Bonvecchiati, so when double-checking before our arrival, first we were told that we don't even have a reservation... but it was cleared up in a minute or two).
Hotel is in a very convenient location, central, but quiet.
The room was very spacious, clean and elegant. Bathroom was perfect too. Even had a walk-in wardrobe.
The staff was very helpful and cheerful. They even ran around the neighboring shops to organize a birthday cake and have as a surprise at dinner for my darling.
The gondola picked us up on the hotel's doorstep.
We payed the previously quoted price, no surprises with the bill.
All in all, I would recommend this place to everyone, even if it is a bit pricy, but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gergoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Visted Palace Bonvecchiati for the third time in March this year. The hotel suits our needs. Upon arrival we were shown to our room which did not have a bath only a shower. I returned to Reception and asked for a room with a bath to be told the hotel was full. I informed the clerk that we had made the booking some nine previuos and did not want just a shower. After some muttering we were given a room with a bath. This is the only trouble we have ever had in this hotel and the clerk we dealt with we have never seen before. We did complain about him. The rest of the staff were great and extremely polite and helpful. Yes we will go back again it is such a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Unfortunately we though we found the hotel to be ok, we were shocked at an additional fee on our credit card a month after we returned. Evidently we have been accused of taking 2 hangars. We did not, we actually brought our own. This cost of over $30 for just 2 hangers outweighs any good comments and I find outrageous. Some housekeeper has a lovely closet, and the hangar company has quite a mark up.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank travel4lifenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Beautiful well appointed room in a great location midway between St Marks Sq and the Rialto. Dining terrace overlooks a canal junction, so you breakfast as the gondoliers pass by!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewb1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed there 1 night and got upgraded to a junior suite which is very nice of them, great room, beautiful and with a small view on the canal! We weren't too impressed by the appearance of the reception and elevator for a 'palace', it was just average but again, the room made up for it.
Internet wasn't free which I thought wasn't normal for a hotel of that price but it seems like it s often the case in Venice. They have 1 computer in the lobby.
Breakfast was OK but nothing special and not cozy as you are in a big room sharing with hundreds of guests from 2 hotels.
With a discount I d go back there.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDude23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bonvecchiati Hotel
Bonvecchiati Hotel
#133 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#38 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Bonvecchiati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Bonvecchiati

Property: Palace Bonvecchiati
Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4680 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Venice
#60 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#104 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Bonvecchiati 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Palace Bonvecchiati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Bonvecchiati Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing