We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace Bonvecchiati - Great Hotel, Great Location, BUT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palace Bonvecchiati
Ranked #100 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Palace Bonvecchiati – Great Hotel, Great Location, BUT!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked 4 Deluxe Double rooms for our group of 4 couples. Upon arrival we were told all rooms were upgraded to Junior Suites at no charge. The rooms were large, comfortable, and well appointed. Our room had a balcony\patio that was almost as large as the room. They even gave each room a complementary bottle of champagne.

The hotel was in a great location. We were within a few blocks from shopping and the Rialto bridge in one direction, and St. Mark’s Square a few blocks in the other direction.

The one disappointing part of the hotel’s policy is that even though we booked the rooms without pre-paying for them, the hotel charged my credit card for one night’s stay for each of the 4 rooms 7 days before we arrived. We have never been charged in advance for a room that was not pre-paid and you should be forewarned about this.

Another hotel where we stayed in Italy said charging the credit card in advance for a non pre-paid room is not even allowed in Italy. Not sure if this is true, but it doesn’t seem like a good way to do business. I can understand pre-authorizing a credit card without actually processing the charge, but not actually putting the charge thru. In our case the charge was for 1620 euros 7 days before we arrived.

If you are looking for a quality hotel in a great location, Palace Bonvecchiati is for you. Just be aware that they will be charging your credit card in advance for all rooms booked with your card.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    493
    116
    32
    26
See reviews for
234
819
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at The Palace Bonvecchiati for two nights at the end of a 15 day holiday in Italy. The water taxi from the train station was 80 euros as they had to travel a bit further. We checked in early and were escorted by Ugo to the room. The room was good sized with a lovely bathroom on the 4th floor. We were given the name of a restaurant they recommended, Trattoria Do Forni and they told us to ask for Diego. When we arrived we were escorted to a separate room in the back. This was a very expensive tourist trap. I was very disappointed in the referral. After a completely sour experience another staff member referred this restaurant again. There is obviously some arrangement with the hotel and the restaurant ...don't go there. Other than that, great hotel and wonderful location. I would stay here again, but would not take their restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSFMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel in the heart of Venice for four nights (June 14-18). Ours was a quiet room with a roof top view, which suited us just fine. This hotel is central to the Ponte Rialto and Piazza San Marco, and practically next door to the best gelato in Venice!!! Breakfast was always good. Helpful staff although the maid neglected to refill the tissue box, which was an issue as we both had head colds. Wifi not free. Bed comfortable. Overall clean and ambient. A lovely place to lay your head while exploring beautiful Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShakespearesGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here six nights late May, early June. Two rooms -- two friends in one room, two friends in the other. Four problems with front desk. (1) Friend who shared my room arrived three days later; I left note with front desk telling them which room he was in. When he arrived, he was given key to the other room, not the one he would be using. (2) I asked if towels were available on Lido, was assured there were none, and I would have to buy beach towels when I got there. We went one afternoon, rented a cabana, and found that towels were readily available for rent at the cabana. Hotel staff should be more familiar with their own city. (3) I checked out about 6:45 a.m., intending to catch Alilaguna boat to airport from Rialto at 7:33. Man at front desk said there was no 7:33 departure, and I would have to go to San Marco to catch different boat. I showed him print-out I had made of Alilaguna schedule a few days earlier; he assured me it was mistaken. Rushed to Rialto to catch the 7:03, and made it, and learned that there is, in fact, a 7:33 departure. (4) I was paying for both rooms, and explained to desk clerk that friends in the other room were leaving later, and that both rooms should be charged to my credit card. Clerk was having trouble with the computer, but printed out statement for me showing charges for both rooms, and told me he would send final billing by email. Hotel had not one, but two of my credit card numbers on file (and had charged one of them, pre-arrival, for part of the stay). When friends left later in day, staff accused them of trying to leave without paying bill, and said I had not yet checked out. Billing showed up on my credit card a day or two later; never received email with final statement.
On the other hand, the room had ample space, overlooking canal. No counter space in bathroom; had to use stool under sink for toothpaste, shaving stuff, etc. I will never understand what European hotels have against shower curtains; we got water all over the bathroom whenever we showered, no matter how careful we were. (Have had same problem in 5-star London hotel.) Most important, the location can't be beat -- straight-line walk to Rialto, straight-line want to San Marco -- no more than 4 or 5 minutes to each. Price is very reasonable by Venice standards. But bad experience with staff will make me think twice about going back. (This was my second stay in the hotel.)
t b was ull rt

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Ideally located close to the San Marco square. We spent Christmas over there and had a fantastic time. Room service is quick qnd efficient.
Last, we arrived at the hotel with a private taxi boat from the airport, I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and myself have just come back from Venice and stayed at the best hotel. Palace Bonvecchiati was absolutely amazing. We arrived early and were allowed to check in more or less straight away. We were upgraded to a Canal view room - which I would highly recommend. Breakfast was ample and each morning we sat overlooking the canal watching the comings and goings.

We can't wait to go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maples86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our lovely stay at The Palace began with a thrilling Water Taxi arrival. Our room was ready an hour later, so we were escorted through the labyrinthe to La Terraza, the open air dining venue. At 10 0'clock, it was charming and though we were charged 8 Euros for 2 cups of coffee, it began our stay on a perfect note. Though our room had no view, it contained evry comfort including a wonderful bath. Beware Italian showers, they are always playful.
Unfortunately breakfast next day was chaotic, filled with anxious tour groups, frantic waitpersons
ordering guests around, shortage of plates, cutlery. It would be more equitable if guests paying full tariff could be served in a separate room, not a High School cafeteria ambience,
But, like all previous reviewers, I have only high praise for the staff and location.

Room Tip: We asked for a view, but none was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bonvecchiati Hotel
Bonvecchiati Hotel
#135 of 385 in Venice
1,406 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 385 in Venice
992 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#78 of 385 in Venice
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Bonvecchiati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Bonvecchiati

Property: Palace Bonvecchiati
Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4680 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Venice
#62 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#104 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Bonvecchiati 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palace Bonvecchiati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Bonvecchiati Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing