We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palace Bonvecchiati
Ranked #95 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Luxury in great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Located between Rialto bridge and St Mark's Square, convenient to get around. The reception staff could not be more welcoming to two tired arrivals. Our room (an unrequested upgrade) was on the 4th floor with views to St Mark's. The room was everything we wanted and more. Breakfast arrangements are not perfect but quite adequate, yet the same restaurant with our afternoon tea served the BEST chocolate cake in the world! We will definitely treat ourselves again to a stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank canda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    483
    114
    31
    25
See reviews for
226
810
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nothing in Venice is easy to get to; that's the nature of the city. Palace Bonnvechiatti is convenient to Piazzo San Marco and waterbus transportation, as well as a gondola service spot. They also arrange for parking as close as you can get... which is to say, it is a pain in the rear if you are carrying any amount of luggage, but that is the case anywhere in actual Venice. The staff was good; the bartender was very friendly and a good source of the 'real lowdown' on Venice, so to speak.

The breakfast at La Terrazza restaurant is a pain to get to from the hotel and quality is so-so, especially given the hotel's price range. Bread is stale, they heat the croissants so you think they are fresh which only serves to dry them out, cold cuts are limited, the bacon is essentially raw, the only eggs available are scrambled with significant dairy (a problem with two members of the family with anaphylactic shock reactions to dairy protein). Fruit is only available cut up already in a mix. The hours of breakfast are good, however, and while it can be a pain to reach from your room, it is a good spot to set off for the day in relation to sights in the area.

Our biggest complaint was the ridiculous light system in the room. When you enter the room with a key, the main entry light, very bright, turns on for a set period of time.... and there is no way to turn it off until a certain amount of time passes. We tried every switch and they simply didn't work until a couple of minutes passed. This is inconvenient at best if you have two travelers wanting to come in at different times of the night, and potentially disastrous if you are traveling with a toddler, as we were.

Nevertheless, the location is a major plus. There is a restaurant across the street with much more convenient hours than most in Venice, and good food, and shopping on the street is reasonably priced. If you want to splurge, this is a decent place to do it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the hotel to make it convenient to access both breakfast and the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vidalia, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, rooms are spacious by European standards and beautifully appointed, restaurant is lovely. We loved eating a leisurely breakfast on the veranda overlooking the canal. Service was good though staff was very busy. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, close to St. Marks Square, best breakfast in town, pleasant and helpful staff and good value! I highly recommend this Palace! Close to many landmarks.... Clean and comfortable rooms, only negative, no free wi-fi!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked 4 Deluxe Double rooms for our group of 4 couples. Upon arrival we were told all rooms were upgraded to Junior Suites at no charge. The rooms were large, comfortable, and well appointed. Our room had a balcony\patio that was almost as large as the room. They even gave each room a complementary bottle of champagne.

The hotel was in a great location. We were within a few blocks from shopping and the Rialto bridge in one direction, and St. Mark’s Square a few blocks in the other direction.

The one disappointing part of the hotel’s policy is that even though we booked the rooms without pre-paying for them, the hotel charged my credit card for one night’s stay for each of the 4 rooms 7 days before we arrived. We have never been charged in advance for a room that was not pre-paid and you should be forewarned about this.

Another hotel where we stayed in Italy said charging the credit card in advance for a non pre-paid room is not even allowed in Italy. Not sure if this is true, but it doesn’t seem like a good way to do business. I can understand pre-authorizing a credit card without actually processing the charge, but not actually putting the charge thru. In our case the charge was for 1620 euros 7 days before we arrived.

If you are looking for a quality hotel in a great location, Palace Bonvecchiati is for you. Just be aware that they will be charging your credit card in advance for all rooms booked with your card.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at The Palace Bonvecchiati for two nights at the end of a 15 day holiday in Italy. The water taxi from the train station was 80 euros as they had to travel a bit further. We checked in early and were escorted by Ugo to the room. The room was good sized with a lovely bathroom on the 4th floor. We were given the name of a restaurant they recommended, Trattoria Do Forni and they told us to ask for Diego. When we arrived we were escorted to a separate room in the back. This was a very expensive tourist trap. I was very disappointed in the referral. After a completely sour experience another staff member referred this restaurant again. There is obviously some arrangement with the hotel and the restaurant ...don't go there. Other than that, great hotel and wonderful location. I would stay here again, but would not take their restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSFMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel in the heart of Venice for four nights (June 14-18). Ours was a quiet room with a roof top view, which suited us just fine. This hotel is central to the Ponte Rialto and Piazza San Marco, and practically next door to the best gelato in Venice!!! Breakfast was always good. Helpful staff although the maid neglected to refill the tissue box, which was an issue as we both had head colds. Wifi not free. Bed comfortable. Overall clean and ambient. A lovely place to lay your head while exploring beautiful Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShakespearesGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bonvecchiati Hotel
Bonvecchiati Hotel
#134 of 385 in Venice
1,392 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 385 in Venice
976 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#76 of 385 in Venice
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Bonvecchiati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Bonvecchiati

Property: Palace Bonvecchiati
Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4680 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Venice
#60 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#104 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Bonvecchiati 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Bonvecchiati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Bonvecchiati Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing