We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food”
Review of Osteria Al Merca

Osteria Al Merca
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Osteria Al Merca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #459 of 1,435 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Grenoble, France
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Average Food”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

After reading the glowing reviews on this site I thought I must have visited the wrong restaurant....We went for the set menu and the pasta was fairly average - not the best we've eaten but not the worst either. The meat dish was slightly better...my husband's Pork dish was quite tasty and a generous serve but my meatball dish came with 3 meatballs only (which were pretty small). The dessert was fairly similar...the Tiramisu was fairly average and my chocolate fondant looked and tasted like it had come from a store.

All in all the bill came to 50 Euro and was rather disappointing as we were hoping for a better meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cdg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    93
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly & relaxing”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We sat outside I. The evening at the bar and had some drinks. It was a busy all round place for drinks and food. Family friendly to .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happycouple47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ate here 3 TIMES!!!! it was good and not too $$$”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Good food all round, and a bar to boot too!
their special menu can't be beat with price and quality. unpretentious and deserving of some praise!
A little out of the way but its only round the corner, can't get too lost in Lido unless you are really drunk.
Grilled squid a little bitter.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Charming, sunny and good restaurant, with a large terrasse. Excellent and various food, from the typical seafood antipasti to the more traditional milanese scalops meals. Worth to have a nice lunch break here, between the venice walks and the lasy time on the lido's beach.

Helpful?
Thank Yann T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A winter visit to an old haunt”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

In my review last summer I said the food was good and that was when they were rushed off their feet. This time the restaurant, though not the bar, was very quiet and the food was AMAZING! Al Merca closes in November, December January and opens again late February. We have been twice in the last three weeks and the chef obviously has time to express himself when they are not booked solid. We had a lot of things explained to us by the friendly waitress so that we understood that the artichokes in the pasta are the first buds of the artichoke only available once a year. She took a lot of time and interest in the food and was genuinely delighted that we were pleased. Recognising us from the recent visit we weren't given the menu this time but simply had explained to us what was in season. (How proud was I!) I am beginning to understand that the menu doesn't tell you much. The idea is to go and see what they've got or mention what you fancy.

The pasta with prawns and carciofini and the pasta with prawns and radicchio were outstanding. We then shared very good baked scorpion fish (red rock cod or rascasse) with potatoes and a piece of apple tart. There were fresh sweet almonds in their shells as an appetiser and tiny almond biscuits with our coffee. This is the kind of thing you get in England only in very expensive places. It is a lovely thing to see it here available to everyone. About 40 euros a head including a bottle of delicious valpolicella.

Lets clear up the 'hole in the wall' thing people have written about! They have an outside bar and a tiny inside bar where you can get wonderful cecchetti (fishy snacks), Enjoy the pop music and drink with the locals. There is also a restaurant - small and warm but not glamorous. Currently they are open Thursday to Sunday. They will open more as the season goes on. Do go!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Al Merca also viewed

 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Merca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing