We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish”
Review of Osteria Al Merca

Osteria Al Merca
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Osteria Al Merca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #465 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We went to look at the restaurant before it opened at 6.30 pm and it looked derelict. Spurred on by good reviews we went back and it had come alive. Waitress spoke English but not sure about rest. Reasonable value, good house wine and excellent food. As it is outside and near the bar you do get smokers nearby. Very relaxing though. Closed Mondays.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacake_Taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    88
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Get you drink and decide whether to have dinner”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a typical venetian Osteria, perfect for drinks and cicchetti. The location is amazing, under a roof that used to be a fish market I think. We loved the atmosphere, w enjoyed the spritzs and the crostini with baccala'. Durign the weekend it may get a bit crowded, get your drink and just walk a bit away from the bar in the little square. Food is really good, just don't forget that each "tapas" costs and trying to taste all it may ended up a touch costly. I would recommend to chose couple of plates to share and sit at the table with the drinks. Locals drink spritz, as tourist Prosecco is fine as well. Very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rlx100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible treatment”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Maybe they have a new staff but my wife and I had a terrible time there. We stood at the bar for 15 mins and no one came to wait on us so I went to the little counter people were standing at. After another 15 to 20 mins. The locals kept cutting in and ordering in italian. Twice the bartender went right next to my wife at the bar and never acknowledged her. He did wait on the locals. After a few more minutes I decided we weren't getting waited on and left. The people in line were rude and the bartenders were worthless. I don't know about the food but there was a lot left on the plates people left behind.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Average Food”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

After reading the glowing reviews on this site I thought I must have visited the wrong restaurant....We went for the set menu and the pasta was fairly average - not the best we've eaten but not the worst either. The meat dish was slightly better...my husband's Pork dish was quite tasty and a generous serve but my meatball dish came with 3 meatballs only (which were pretty small). The dessert was fairly similar...the Tiramisu was fairly average and my chocolate fondant looked and tasted like it had come from a store.

All in all the bill came to 50 Euro and was rather disappointing as we were hoping for a better meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cdg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly & relaxing”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We sat outside I. The evening at the bar and had some drinks. It was a busy all round place for drinks and food. Family friendly to .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happycouple47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Al Merca also viewed

 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Merca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing