We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Venice, a good value”
Review of Hotel Agli Artisti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Agli Artisti
Ranked #275 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Pleasanton, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For Venice, a good value”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Venice is pretty well known for being old, charming, a little worn out, and very expensive, but generally worth a visit, so we weren't picky on where we stayed.

The pros: at 150 Euros a night, it was a good deal for Venice. Easy walking distance from one of the water taxi stops, clean and comfortable beds. Decor had a nice "yes, you're really in Venice" feel of shabby opulence. One of the closest streets to the cruise ship terminal and the train station. Friendly and helpful staff.

The cons: no elevator, shared bathrooms on each floor. Rooms are very small.

Room Tip: Remember there's no elevator, so lower floors are a priority, especially if you have heavy lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank us2bcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    201
    154
    84
    51
See reviews for
90
286
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

First I'd like to say that I don't do online reviews ever. But I had such a bad experience that I needed to create an account and write a review.

I spent three days in Venice with my best friend. We stayed at Agli Artisti because of the location and it is a three star hotel. Unfortunately staying at this hotel was a big mistake.

Location: People love this place because it's centrally located near the railway station and all the Waterbuses. But I'll let you in on a little secret, it's impossible to get lost in Venice and any hotel location is a good one. Even if you're arriving by bus, train or water taxi you will always have a way to get around to all the sites. So don't let the location be a draw... that was definitely my mistake.

Free Breakfast: Not that great. It was mostly stale croissants and sugar cookies. There of course was toast and cereal but you'd be better off eating elsewhere for cheap.

Room: Our room looked like a large walk in closet with all the furniture covered in cloth. The air conditioning didn't work so it was also humid at night. Thankfully we spent most of the day outside.

Bed Bugs: The last night I spent there I got bitten by multiple bed bugs. What made it worse was that I woke up in the morning and saw about five crawling on my bed and on the walls. At checkout I alerted the front desk and the guy there didn't even bat an eyelash. He told me that they have an exterminator spray every 6 months so there was nothing he could do.

Every 6 months! So who knows when they'll be able to spray the room I was in. They don't replace the sheets nor do they sweep the floors of the room. It's not a clean place and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Like I said there are a ton of other hotels you can stay at in Venice and you'll always be near a waterbus stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I checked in at different times and all was okay. Room had space enough and was clean.

Breakfast was enjoyable and the staff were friendly. The location was quite good as well, close to the train station, large vaporetto stop and the bus terminal.

Room was on the top floor and there is no lift, bus that wasn't an issue for us.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas1990Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Being our first trip to Venice, we've nothing to compare this to, but it's clean and simple and the lane way is right opposite the Grand Canal and the vaporetta, AND walking distance to train station - therefore meeting our criteria when we booked.
We're a family of 3 in one tiny room; with a tiny bathroom and a tiny TV. Lucky we get along well.
The air con wasn't working as well as it could and the management had it fixed while we were out without delay - thank you.
Breakfast was disappointing - toast, jam, nutella, honey; ceral and pastries. Maybe we're spoilt but we were expecting something a bit more.
There's no fridge in the room which being summer is annoying as we can't even keep bottled water from the shops cool for long.
The hotel is ok for what it is, and the price we paid - considering in a city like Venice you are out all day, it's fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The advantage with the hotel is the location close to the bus- and the train station. That is important in a town like Venice. The price was not bad, the room was clean, but the breakfast under our expectations. A bit more smile and politeness from the crew had made it a better stay for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Per Bjorn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Whilst the location from the station is excellent, that is all I can credit the hotel for. The breakfast consisted of toast and jam or a bowl of cereal, no cheese or cooked meats on offer. The electrics need to be re examined...when my wife used the hairdryer, the power switched itself off and had to be reset. Perhaps a good hotel for students only.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Really clean, easy access to train station. Staff was really nice. Room was a good size. Not luxurious, but when you're out exploring the whole day it is perfect. Not much to breakfast so we ate elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen9H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#256 of 386 in Venice
793 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#344 of 386 in Venice
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#320 of 386 in Venice
352 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#245 of 386 in Venice
406 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#232 of 386 in Venice
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agli Artisti

Property: Hotel Agli Artisti
Address: Calle Priuli Ai Cavaleti Cannaregio 99/C, 30121 Venice, Italy (Formerly Alloggi Agli Artisti)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agli Artisti 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your room in a quiet 'Calle' of Venice placed only 100 meters from the railway station! You can reach the most important tourist attractions by feet, and you are in the middle of the city life too! Our hotel is a very intersting place to stay, since it gives the tourist the opportunity to visit the most beautiful city of the world without spendind a huge amount of money. Indeed our interest is to sell as more as we can by imposing fees which are competitive if compared to those of other venice Hotels. Our room are well furnished, they supply air conditioning, tv, telephone, restroom with shower or bath (private bathroom inside or ourside, or sharing bathroom on the floor) and hairdryer, balcony. They are distributed on four floors (without lift at the moment). We are now building the breakfast room, in order to make your holiday in Venice better and better (it should be ready during September). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Agli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Agli Artisti Venice
Alloggi Agli Artisti Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing