We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wee hotel”
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #3 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The hotel is clean and modern inside but stylish with venetian character. Definitely for those who do not love the dusty granny's livingroom look which can be quite common in Venice. We stayed in the Gritti a few years ago and I think unless you splash out on a mega room the posher hotels can be disappointing, so this type of place is much better value in my opinion.

Great breakfast served outside in the garden courtyard area - perfect.

We liked the location as it is near enough most places to walk and I think Dorsoduro is a lovely place to wander because it's not as hectic but at night we ate out local as we had done so much walking during the day. If you want to be right in the thick of it at all times then possibly not for you

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 1,950 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel is just a short walk from the train station, but located on a small canal. When you first see it, you don't realize the charm that lies through the front door. Immediately you are offered a beverage, Prosecco is recommended, an then you are shown to your room. There is a lovely garden for sitting, having breakfast, sunning, or just walking around. The staff is the friendliest staff we have encountered while in Italy . (one week so far). The canal views from the room are amazing, although not on the Grand Canal, which tends to allow a little more peace while sleeping. This is a true GEM in Venice

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lionguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked this hotel based on other reviews and were SO glad we did.
It is in a much quieter part of Venice, which I was initially worried about but turned out to be the best decision. There were lots of good restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk and the Dorsoduro district has some of the prettiest areas we found. You can walk to a main vaparetto stop (Roma) as well as the bus station in about 5 minutes too.

The hotel is incredibly clean, lovely and cool, beautifully styled and (for us) perfectly placed. Our room (The Scribes) was perfect and had a small balcony. It didn't have a fantastic view but it was nice to sit outside with a cold drink.
The bathroom was divine - completely covered in shimmery gold mosaic tiles and with everything you could want.

The bed was really comfortable and the (free) water in the minibar much appreciated.

There is a wonderful little garden at The Moresco - where we took breakfast and the odd bottle of prosecco in the late afternoon.

The breakfast was great - small selection of hot things as well as cold meats, cheese, pastries and best of all cake! different every day and all delicious. The coffee was also very good and the little bucks fizz went down well too.

The BEST thing about this hotel though is the service. We stayed for three days and met about 5 or 6 members of staff. Each and every one was polite, helpful, friendly...and we really felt like they cared whether we were happy with everything. It's rare to find a beautiful hotel which such great amenities that manages to still feel welcoming and warm. The Moresco have found the balance perfectly.

It's not a cheap option - but all the little extras (snacks and water available all day too) as well as the service made it worth every single penny. If we go back to Venice (and we would love to) we will stay here.

Room Tip: The Scribes was a beautiful room on the second floor and had a bath as well as a shower. We didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Upon our arrival at hotel moresco, my husband and I were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who invited us to take a seat in the beautifully decorated sitting room with a complementary glass of champagne while he sorted out our documents and had bags delivered to our room.The room itself was lovely with a beautiful view of both the garden and canal. The hotel is located in a great spot, not too close to all the hustle and bustle, but not too far either. Breakfast is lovely with great coffee and eggs cooked to your liking. Great restaurants with very reasonable prices nearby also. No complaints and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jademackay92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

What a lovely hotel. First time in Venice. What a find!!!!

Pros - not in any order

1. The staff were very friendly and helpful (spoke english)
2. The hotel was spotless
3. A welcome drink in the garden while we were checked in
4. Breakfast good - wide selection (continental) cakes very good
5. Good wifi connection - no need for password (all hotels should do this)
6. The room was quite spacious with a wonderful bathroom with excellent shower and bath (robes and slippers)
7. Very comfy bed
8. Very convenient to bus and train station
9. Care and attention to detail was evident around the hotel

Cons

NONE

Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our stay most enjoyable.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Hotel Moresco is perfect in every way and made our stay in Venice that much more enjoyable.
My husband and I arrived in the afternoon, and were greeted with cappucinos and biscuits in the beautiful garden. Such a nice first impression. Our room (202) was very large and the bathroom was incredible, the best hotel bathroom I've stayed in.
Everything about Hotel Moresco says "quality". The rooms are stunning, in fact the whole hotel is gorgeous and decorated in traditional venetian style with a modern edge. The staff went out of their way to assist us with questions.
The location is perfect as it is close enough to the train station that dragging suitcases is not an issue, and only about a 25 minute walk from the main tourist attractions.
I couldn't recommend Hotel Moresco more highly, it deserves its #2 spot, but should be #1.

Room Tip: Room 202 was fabulous, and had its own balcony (no canal view but we did not miss this).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Possibly the best service from ALL of the hotel staff of any Hotel In the World! If you are coming to Venice, you owe it to yourself to stay here. I will leave every detail for you to discover yourself.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sambogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,110 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 385 in Venice
1,319 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £141 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moresco, located on the Rio Nuovo canal (1.4 km from Peggy Guggenheim Collection and 1.6 km from the Rialto Bridge. Less than 5 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, 700 metres from Santa Lucia Station) is a wonderful gem in the heart of the beautiful city of Venice. The hotel is warmly decorated with a fusion of Venezian and Oriental design, it has a library with leather seating and a fireplace for guests. and it overlooks a private garden, with sun terrace and a bar area. The elegant rooms are unique and inidividually themed and offer 32" LCD TV with satellite channels, room service and free Wi-Fi/LAN , safety-deposit box, Nespresso machine, minibar. The superior rooms include a relaxation and / or balcony, and the suite has a whirlpool bath. The reception is open 24/7, breakfast and private transport to Murano island are included in the price. The care and attentiveness of the staff make you feel surrounded by an oasis of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing