We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #2 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed a couple of nights beginning of Feb - just got back today - got to say Moresco is a beautiful hotel with friendly helpful staff - can't fault any aspect of our stay. Lovely room, nice breakfast, little touches everywhere that make a difference
The hotel is conveniently located near the Piazale Roma from where you can explore the entire city through the water buses or even on foot.

Aside from the constant rain, the trip was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ5_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,661
    128
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
192
1,359
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Really friendly small hotel in a good location with easy access on foot, or by water bus to all major attractions. Everybody in the hotel was really helpful and gave good recommendations all round. Lovely lounge area, good breakfasts (including prosecco on the house) and well sized very clean and comfortable rooms. You might think it a little far from St.Mark's Square but it is a lovely walk and gives you the opportunity to see more of the city. Watch out in winter times for high tides however!!

Room Tip: Only some rooms have clear and direct views over the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjpcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this Hotel for our anniversary trip based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor and had a fantastic stay there. The hotel staff were genuine, friendly and warm. The hotel was beautifully styled, comfortable and spotless. From Lorenzo's delicious morning omelettes served with a glass of Prosecco to Fabio and Wladamir's warm hospitality and generous servings of fine chocolate, pastries and drinks in the evenings, every staff member encountered went beyond the call of duty to make us feel welcome.

It rained the entire time we were in Venice but the Hotel provided excellent big umbrellas and prepared a roaring fire to return to.

Initially I worried that the Moresco may be too far from the centre of Venice but this was unfounded. The hotel is situated within a short and comfortable 10 main walk from the main bus station, in a pretty and quiet side street next to a canal. This means no struggling down narrow alleys or up and down many bridge steps with luggage like those in the centre of Venice. The walk from the hotel to the Rialto bridge took only 15 mins with the vaporetto stop only 5mins away if you didn't feel like walking.

The Moresco was not only a fantastic hotel, it is also in an ideal location.

If I had to be really picky I would say the rooms could do with a coat hook to avoid having to hang wet coats on the chairs or in the bathroom and there is little clothes storage space. However the decor throughout is sumptuous and comfortable and the staff are truly wonderful. The bed was unbelievable comfortable and the black out curtains and blinds meant having a lie in was easy. This was complimented by breakfast being served until 11am.

Drinks in the hotel were surprisingly cheap and complimentary buffet snacks were served during the evening.

I would recommend the Moresco Hotel to anyone and we will most definitely be back ... Hopefully without the rain! What a gem of a place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LJCalbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaford, east sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Wow just got back from a brilliant stay here although the rain did not let up this did not ruin our getaway. Firstly the hotel is a 2 minute walk from piazzale Roma bus stop (€11 each return from Marco Polo airport ATVO) on arrival at moresco a beautifully decorated small hotel and extremely welcoming sat down whilst we waited for our room key and given a drink and snack.. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean!(if you want a room with bath make sure you request this on booking) the staff are extremely polite and will go out of their way to suggest restaurants/ places to go. Yes it is away from st marks square but I think this was part of the charm if you follow the yellow arrows too s.marco it takes you 25 mins to walk whilst taking in the winding canals and small shops .. I wouldn't bother with the water boat it took longer to get there than walking and was terrible bumping into every stop.. We will definitely stay here again best hotel we have stayed in and this is saying a lot! Also adding this hotel is at the highest point of Venice so was one of few places not flooded when tides come in.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstereeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Booked this for a special birthday surprise for my partner based on theTripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed! We stayed from 24th-27th January and had a wonderful relaxing time here. They gave us complimentary prosecco when we arrived (in addition to the bottle I had ordered for the room) while they completed the paperwork and we were so relaxed in the lovely sitting room that we didn't realise our room was ready! The room was very clean and modern - but in a traditional Venetian style. Not at all OTT like some of the hotes in Venice (as judged by the photos on TripAdvisor). The Nespresso machine was brilliant! Breakfast was very comprehensive and even had prosecco available alongside the juices, coffee etc. There is a theme to this review you may have noticed... We also had extra coffees one morning and were always offered eggs and bacon in addition to the pastries, cheese, meat, bread, cereal, fruit etc on offer. In fact we only needed a slice of pizza from Antica Forno (a great find...) for lunch followed by a half glass of prosecco and a cicchetti (large prawn with strawberry...delicious) at Bar Ancora standing in the suntrap near the Rialto market. Perfect! They will book the water taxi for you and this is a great way to arrive at the hotel. Although be aware that you need to pay the driver when you arrive - it isn't included in the hotel bill. Make sure you visit the Scuola di San Rocco which is nearby and also hop over the canal to the Dorsudoro to Campo Santa Margherita for drinks. Check out Cafe Noir just round the corner as well - great Bellini!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimotode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We chose the Hotel Moresco for its proximity to the airport bus drop off point before looking at the Trip Advisor reviews. The reviews confirmed we had made a good choice and we were not disappointed. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, the restaurants they recommended we excellent. The room was perfect with a good view overlooking the canal. Although it rained for just about all of our stay, you cannot blame the hotel for that but they did provide umbrellas, we had a wonderful short break and are already planning to return later in the year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Moresco on 27th January - 29th January for my wife's birthday. I emailed the hotel prior to arriving and they arranged for a cake to be delivered to the room when we checked in!
The room was faultless. We stayed in room 303 which overlooked the canal. The view was excellent and recommended. The rooms were cleaned every morning to an amazing standard and the staff were always checking to see if we were happy with how things were.
The bar was really well decorated and a good place to have a quiet drink or some snacks before you go out. The barman/waiter was excellent and made sure that we always had a pastry or drink.
The hotel is in a really good location. Its about a 2 minute walk from the bus station and a 20 minute walk to St Marks Square. I recommend walking because you get to walk along the canal and see all the sights of Venice.
I also recommend getting the car the hotel offer to pick you up from the airport. Its a half hour drive to the hotel and the driver will carry your bag all the way to reception.
Overall, I cannot really fault this hotel. We are already planning to return in July and cannot wait.

Room Tip: Ask for room 303 if it is available. Good canal view, hardly any noise at night and is on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,487 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Property: Hotel Moresco
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moresco, located on the Rio Nuovo canal (1.4 km from Peggy Guggenheim Collection and 1.6 km from the Rialto Bridge. Less than 5 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, 700 metres from Santa Lucia Station) is a wonderful gem in the heart of the beautiful city of Venice. The hotel is warmly decorated with a fusion of Venezian and Oriental design, it has a library with leather seating and a fireplace for guests. and it overlooks a private garden, with sun terrace and a bar area. The elegant rooms are unique and inidividually themed and offer 32" LCD TV with satellite channels, room service and free Wi-Fi/LAN , safety-deposit box, Nespresso machine, minibar. The superior rooms include a relaxation and / or balcony, and the suite has a whirlpool bath. The reception is open 24/7, breakfast and private transport to Murano island are included in the price. The care and attentiveness of the staff make you feel surrounded by an oasis of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing