We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in every way”
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in every way”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here on our anniversary trip. From the moment we checked in all of our needs were met. The staff was very courteous and ensured our stay was perfect. We even were greeted with a bottle of Prosecco on ice in our room when we arrived. We didn't drink it right away, but they iced it again for us while we enjoyed the garden later in the week.

The hotel is close to the P. Roma vaporetto stop (bus station), a short walk and bridge away. Also it is not next to St. Mark's and the more busier tourist part of Venice. Which is nice and allows you to walk around and enjoy Venice without the crowds from the cruise ships.

We stayed in room 108, beautiful view from our window of the canal. Bathroom had plenty of room and very nice complementary toiletries.

There is a lovely garden where you can relax. We ate breakfast there every morning and enjoyed our drinks in the evening. Breakfast was well appointed. Fresh fruits, yogurt, croissants, quiche, desserts. You may also order eggs (scrambled, over easy, and even omelets) from the staff. Coffee, cappuccinos, lattes also upon request.

If leaving from Venice to the airport I do recommend the water taxi. The hotel arranged to have us picked up right in front and it was a fun way to say goodbye to Venice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank arolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your anniversary and for your wonderful review.
We are especially proud that we were able to meet your expectations.

In the near term, we make our garden even more inviting.

When he decides to go back to Venice do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,734
    131
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
207
1,409
17
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Moresco for 4 nights after being recommended by my son.
The hotel reviews say it all. The service, attention to detail and welcome are a perfect example of what small hotel should be about. we considered ourselves very lucky to have stayed there.

The buffet breakfast was everything that a breakfast should be, providing the most wonderful fresh fruit. They would cook bacon, ommlettes eggs etc. if you requested them. I would summarise by by saying its the perfect small hotel to stay in Venice.

Gordon Caley

Room Tip: Rely on the hotel to suggest a room that suits you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GORDON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Gordon,

thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us in hotel Moresco.

In the future we will also try to surprise our guests with more new products
that we will offer for breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed a night there recently before heading out on a cruise and loved it. It is a small hotel, situated near the bus and Vaporetto station (only a single bridge away - important when moving luggage in Venice) in a very quiet section of the city. The room was very good sized and was decorated with beautiful glass tiles and besides having a walk in shower, had a great soaking tub that was very appreciated after the long flights. It's about a 1/2 hour picturesque walk to St. Marks Square, or an even more picturesque Vaporetto ride.

The service was impeccable! When we arrived around noon, they had us wait in the garden and provided us with complimentary drinks while the room was readied just a short while later. A few bags didn't make our connection and they worked hard to get them tracked down for us. And when we went to dinner at a place they made a reservation for - we received free Bellinis!

The included breakfast was wonderful and besides a very nice buffet, they did eggs to order. There is a happy hour in the evenings as well.

Strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnieSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Connie,

thanks for your detailed description of your short stay with us.

I hope that next time you will have the opportunity to spend a few more days with us.

Thank you also for your recommendation and we can not wait to greet you again in Hotel Moresco.

Sincerely,
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport pagnell, U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, not much that I can add that hasn't already been written, wonderful staff that really make you feel welcome. Rooms are excellent with great bathrooms. If this hotel had a restaurant it would make this hotel really special.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newcanadafan429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for your lovely review.

Satisfaction of our guests best reward for our efforts.

For the restaurant you have right, but our staff can always advise the best restaurants in Venice that we tried yourself.

If you decide to come back in Venice do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We decided on this hotel because of its excellent TripAdvisor ratings, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Weaver's Room, which I think is the only junior suite. No great views, but compensating for that, it was completely silent at night. As described by many others here, the staff was warm and very helpful. We would come again.

Room Tip: The "Weaver's Room" was dead quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest of Connecticut,

Thank you for your nice review and we are pleased to have satisfied your expectations.

I hope that in the future we will have an opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Everything about this hotel is exceptional, from the smiling, welcoming staff to the impeccable furnishings and 'Happy Hour' help-yourself buffet. We paid more than we usually spend booking our room on the hotel website, but thoughts of cost evaporated when we were shown to our luxurious room with a view of the sumptuous garden and, to the side, a glimpse of the canal. The garden has tables and chairs for breakfasting in the open air when weather permits, and loungers which the staff carefully rotate during the day to catch the sun's rays. Even our bathroom was hi-tech, all chrome and glass, and like everywhere else in the hotel immaculately clean. And by the way we had a 'classic' room - the most basic type - yet it had a comfortable king bed and a Nespresso coffee machine.

There are other touches you might not expect, like a selection of pastries and cakes left out during the day in the breakfast room, and a rack of umbrellas emblazoned with the hotel name for when the weather is inclement. On our first night we asked about booking a vegetarian restaurant featured on TripAdvisor, and the receptionist tried to get us a table but to no avail. She effortlessly found us an alternative restaurant which served vegetarian food for me and fish for Mrs N, was closer to the hotel AND had a better rating on TA.

You need look no further in Venice for the utmost in comfort and service, and we we will be back.

Room Tip: Every room has character and luxury, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nollaig6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for the time you dedicated to write a nice review about our hotel.

We are pleased that we were able to make your stay in Venice pleasant
and do not hesitate to contact me when you decided to return to Hotel Moresco.

Sincerely
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Moresco for four nights to celebrate my 40th birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The location is really close to the bus terminal which is literally a 5 minute walk away, that said it took us 1.5 hours to find the hotel but that was down to poor GPS on our phones and just being in Venice....your going to get lost.
We stayed in the Florists room which was very nice although not huge but well appointed. The adjoining bathroom was nice too with a lovely walk in shower and plenty of hot water. It's really hard to find fault with any aspect of our stay however, we did have one quibble; the bed was a great size and really comfortable but we kept waking up in the small hours as we were getting too hot. At first we thought this was something to do with the air con' but after a couple of nights realised that it was due to a plastic/rubber sheet that had been put on the mattress. It is of course to be expected to have a mattress protector on a mattress but I wonder if they could provide a more breathable solution. It was quite chilly when we stayed so I can't imagine how hot it would get in the Summer.
Everything about the Moresco was fantastic, from the interior and exterior dials to the soft furnishings and food but I think the two things they have got 100% right are their staff and the room rate - ill get to the staff in a mo'! We were drawn to the Moresco because of the reviews and but also we loved the look and feel of the hotel from the photographs;it's family run, boutique and was small enough to care. During our stay we met other couples who'd also travelled from the UK and I heard one or two moaning that the rooms were too small or the wardrobes not big enough..etc etc but I have to disagree, I think the Moresco punches way above it's weight for the tariff you pay. It isn't as big or grand as the Gritti Palace but it isn't £900 a night either! Personally, i'd still stay at the Moresco if given the choice. Just my two penneth!
So on to the staff, who were all a huge credit to the hotel during our stay. They are polite, friendly, discrete, genuine and very professional. A special thank you goes to Barbara who works on reception who patiently helped us navigate the beaurocratic system that is ACTV! One of the vaperetto machines swallowed our money - 60 euros to be precise but to get your money back you have to file a complaint, make a report etc etc and none of it is a quick fix. Barbara filled out the form for us and called ACTV but as we were leaving in a couple of days she gave us her email address and once back in the UK she called on my behalf again and eventually, after about 8 weeks....we were refunded! Thank you Barbara.
I have one suggestion as a possible improvement which would be that the rooms have a DVD player in them and a DVD library in reception. Obviously, folks down travel to distant shores to watch TV but anyone who needs to stay in their room due to bad weather or a bad health day (I have these) would really appreciate something to watch other than BBC World News. That said, I did watch a very informative piece about female diamond miners - who knew.
I will definitely stay at the Moresco next time i'm in Venice.

Room Tip: The Florists room has a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeygonetoheaven17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate an anniversary for yourself so important.

We are pleased that we were able to satisfy your expectations and that he took the time to share your opinions, which are very important for us, with other users of Tripadvisor.

About bedspread, we are already looking for the solution more comfortable for our guests.

When you decide to visit hotel Moresco again,
please do not hesitate to contact me personally..

Sincerely,
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,639 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
2,010 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Property: Hotel Moresco
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moresco, located on the Rio Nuovo canal (1.4 km from Peggy Guggenheim Collection and 1.6 km from the Rialto Bridge. Less than 5 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, 700 metres from Santa Lucia Station) is a wonderful gem in the heart of the beautiful city of Venice. The hotel is warmly decorated with a fusion of Venezian and Oriental design, it has a library with leather seating and a fireplace for guests. and it overlooks a private garden, with sun terrace and a bar area. The elegant rooms are unique and inidividually themed and offer 32" LCD TV with satellite channels, room service and free Wi-Fi/LAN , safety-deposit box, Nespresso machine, minibar. The superior rooms include a relaxation and / or balcony, and the suite has a whirlpool bath. The reception is open 24/7, breakfast and private transport to Murano island are included in the price. The care and attentiveness of the staff make you feel surrounded by an oasis of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing