We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably wonderful”
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbelievably wonderful”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel! They think of all the little and big things. The location is perfect - close to a major waterbus stop but far from the touristy area. The hotel is lovely with great towels - which is a major criteria for me. The breakfast is very substantial and scrumptious. Every person working here is so very helpful. I only want to return again and again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MargoBoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,749
    132
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
210
1,421
18
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel, although not on the Vaporetto route, was in a great, central location. The rooms were beautiful, the staff extremely helpful, the breakfasts and happy hour treats delicious, and the ambience very special. If we're ever able to return to Venice, my husband and I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was a jewel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Tripadvisor comes up trumps again! I was very pleased to have found Hotel Moresco on Trip Advisor when trying to find a surprise hotel for my wife for a romantic break. The service was excellent when we arrived and also with the communications beforehand. Our room was upgraded when we arrived and the accommodation is perfect.

For us, the location was also perfect as we love to walk and explore new cities that we visit. I could imagine however that this may be an issue for some visitors so be aware that it's a good 30 minutes walk to St Marks Square.

All in all, faultless for us and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We didn't have a room overlooking the canal and it didn't detract from our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I can't find a single fault with this hotel; from start to finish, everything was perfect.
As travel organiser, and having visited Venice on several occasions, I felt under pressure to find something a bit special to celebrate a 50th birthday. Booked and cancelled a couple of other choices last autumn, before I found the Moresco almost by accident.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and have the best en-suite showers I've experienced in Venice. We were a group of 4, and the hotel thoughtfully provided us with 2 rooms located within a small lobby area: the Tailor and the Knife Grinder. There is also a lounge, breakfast room and, oh joy : an enclosed garden where one could take breakfast.
Breakfast was simply superb: definitely the best I've had in a Venetian hotel. Excellent range of fresh fruit, fresh juices, pastries, cakes, and something I have never seen before in any hotel I've stayed in: a whole honeycomb. Service was excellent in the breakfast room and there was also a good choice of dishes cooked to order, and hot chocolate, a range of coffees and tea to order.
All the staff were welcoming, courteous and friendly, and extra details like booking our water taxi from/to the airport, to reconfirming our reservation was most appreciated.
The location, for us, was perfect: away from the crowds, but within easy walking distance of several bars and restaurants, and all the sights and sites of Venice. Another bonus: the hotel entrance is right on a canal, and as we were arriving late at night, it was comforting to know that we wouldn't have to negotiate streets with our luggage in the dark.
We stayed for 3 nights in May 2014, and no-one wanted to pack up and leave; honestly, there were tears from some on departure day!
Next time I visit Venice, I won't have to waste hours researching hotels; I've found the perfect one!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarnia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A truly great hotel. Everything from the staff to the rooms to breakfast. Outstanding. The hotel is beautiful, immaculate. The rooms are spacious, clean, quiet, nice amenities and linens. We arrived to fresh fruit and chilled wine. The breakfast, the best and first true latte after spending 4 weeks travelling through Poertugal, Spain and France. Great way to start the day. The breakfast and staff are excellent. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely sat here again. The location is quiet and away from the crowds. You feel as if you are living as a Venetian. Water taxis, vaparettos and train station all nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecttm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What can I say. This hotel was fantastic. The staff were all fantastic,and made u feel very welcome. Special thanks to Mirco and Lorenzo who we dealt with the most..The rooms are are spacious and very nice. Truly deserving of the #1 hotel in Venice.would stay there again in a heartbeat.A hotel of excellence.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and everything was great from check in to check out.

The location was suberb and everything is easily accessible from the hotel. Vaporetti stops and the bus terminal are just around the corner as are multiple restaurants and shops.

We arrived quite early before allocated check in and were given a complimentary glass of prosecco whilst we waited about 15 minutes for our room to be ready, which was just right. We stayed in room 109 and it was gorgeous. Lots of attention to detail, modern, comfortable and with a venetian style. Perfect.

We asked the gentleman at the front desk to recommend a few restaurants to eat at night as we only had 3 nights and wanted to make the most of each night. He recommended 4 restaurants and we had a look at the menu at all of them, they all seemed great. We ate at Osteria Ae Cravate on the first night and it was so good we ate there again on our last night, the carbonara was amazing.

The staff in the hotel were faultless, polite and could not do enough for you. From breakfast to drinks and then the happy hour for dinner. This was a great touch. The staff are always smiling and are happy to assist you with anything.

We would definitely stay here again and will be recommending this hotel to anybody wishing to stay in Venice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,676 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Property: Hotel Moresco
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moresco, located on the Rio Nuovo canal (1.4 km from Peggy Guggenheim Collection and 1.6 km from the Rialto Bridge. Less than 5 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, 700 metres from Santa Lucia Station) is a wonderful gem in the heart of the beautiful city of Venice. The hotel is warmly decorated with a fusion of Venezian and Oriental design, it has a library with leather seating and a fireplace for guests. and it overlooks a private garden, with sun terrace and a bar area. The elegant rooms are unique and inidividually themed and offer 32" LCD TV with satellite channels, room service and free Wi-Fi/LAN , safety-deposit box, Nespresso machine, minibar. The superior rooms include a relaxation and / or balcony, and the suite has a whirlpool bath. The reception is open 24/7, breakfast and private transport to Murano island are included in the price. The care and attentiveness of the staff make you feel surrounded by an oasis of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing