We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel”
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved this Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed one night in Venice before departing on a cruise. Choose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. Venice is very expensive. Keeping that in mind, I found this hotel to be a great value. The service was excellent. Based on other reviews and personal experience in Venice, people are not always friendly and accommodating to travelers but that is absolutely not the case at the Hotel Moresco. We arrived early and they let us check in shortly after we arrived giving us time to go to a nearby gelato stand. Took a short nap before the other couple we were meeting arrived. Short enjoyable walk to St. Marks square in a much quitter area of the city. Everything is nice and new. Very easy , walkable access from the shuttle from the airport. Windows block out the noise in this quite area of Venice. Rooms decorated nicely and very comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. If I ever of to Venice again, I will go back to this hotel. I was very glad of our choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ourfamilyoffivtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,749
    132
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
210
1,421
18
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our two week journey came to an end in beautiful Venice, Italy staying at the Hotel Moresco. Elegant furnishings, an outstanding staff who were absolutely perfect. Where did we want to visit ?
What did we want to see ? How far did we want to go from our hotel ? Every question we had, ther was a friendly member of the hotel staff to help us out.....so don't be afraid to ask. The room was well furnished and comfortable. Even if we did spend most of our time walking thru little alley ways.
There were many little "Piazzas" and I think we saw all of them ! Wonderful food and drinks wherever we stopped, and the Lemoncella Gelato is fantastic . Our flight home was very early in the morning and required us to be awake and checking out by 7:00 am. which was well before the morning breakfast room opened for guests. As we checked out and reached for our luggage, the night desk clerk came into the hallway and handed us "the Great Surprise" of fresh muffins, crackers and jam, as well as bottles of orange juice and water for our homeward bound flight back to reality. My wife and I have already agreed that our next trip to Italy begins in Venice..........and probably stays in Venice. If you visit, you may just want to stay !

Room Tip: If the other rooms are as nice as ours was, any room will be fantastic. Ours was up one staircase a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wootchie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Moresco is only two years old and has about 20 rooms. It is away from all the throngs of tourists and yet all the sights, restaurants are within easy walking distance. There is a lovely outdoor garden with comfortable tables and lounge chairs. ISpent several hours in this area just reading and enjoying the peace and quiet. There is a small bar that sponsors happy hour two hours each night with lots of complimentary nibbles. The inclusive breakfast is fresh and includes extensive buffet as well as special order eggs, etc.

The rooms are spacious and all the modern conve iences.

Not cheap but that is Venice. Very personalized service as you would expect in a boutique, claasy hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildHare2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We selected this hotel from Trip Advisor reviews even though it was more expensive than many of the other hotels. We were very glad we did. From the impeccable decor and furnishings, to the warm welcoming and service from the excellent staff, our stay was a resounding success. Many reviewers have recommended a canal view room, which we requested and received. However, were we to stay there again, we would prefer the quietness of a garden view room. One of the best features of the hotel is the garden/dining area, which was always so peaceful and serene after a day of fighting the crowds. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BluNoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Lovely, cool air conditioned rooms, garden and facilities excellent. Wonderful friendly service, staff couldn't be more helpful!
Sad to leave......
Book early, we tried to add an extra night and they were full

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoopers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando Valley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay. Sad to leave after only 1 night.

Location:
Although a little further from main plazas, the area is very nice and quiet on a small canal. There are restaurants right across the way.
30 min walking from Plaza San Marco, 15 min walk from Rialto, 5 min walk from Campo Santa Margherita. Everything is reached by foot. Water Taxi's don't seen to take you anywhere important from here.

Hotel from Airport:
don't make the same mistake we did, we got the wrong instructions at the airport and took a water bus. It leaves you about 20 minutes from the hotel, you have to walk on uneven stone, hauling luggage in the unbearable humid heat (if it's July). No one we asked along the way knew the way to the hotel, so it took us a lot longer than 20 minutes. Take the bus!!! It drops you off across the way, apparently.

Rooms:
Clean, tastefully decorated, ample room, big closet to stow away luggage.

Service:
Exceptional!

Breakfast:
Complimentary breakfast. Nothing special but sufficient. Small Assortment of juices, 2 different kinds of cereal, croissants, bread, cold cuts, coffee, tea, eggs and bacon upon request.

General notes for Venice:
The windy walkways of Venice seem very confusing at first glance but after a bit if walking around you will get the hang of it. To look for the main plazas, once you are on the main walkways there will be random yellow signs that point you in the right direction.
Venice seemed very safe. Don't be afraid to walk around aimlessly. Most often you will wind up in a main plaza and on the way you will find beauty in each corner...canals, beautiful buildings, churches, etc.

Go St. Mark's Basilica first thing in the morning 9a when it opens (no line!) or after 2:30 for less of a line.

Bring Off for Mosquitos! We got eaten alive at night!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellover015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I just had a fabulous stay at Hotel Moresco. Honestly, the staff there are the friendliest and kindest we've ever encountered during a hotel stay. Every interaction was wonderful, and Wladimir especially was such a tremendous help. He made a special breakfast for us to have for our early morning (4:30 a.m.) departure and was so thoughtful. We had a terrific time at this gorgeous hotel and will absolutely stay again should we ever have the opportunity to return to Venice!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahKA_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,676 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Property: Hotel Moresco
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moresco, located on the Rio Nuovo canal (1.4 km from Peggy Guggenheim Collection and 1.6 km from the Rialto Bridge. Less than 5 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, 700 metres from Santa Lucia Station) is a wonderful gem in the heart of the beautiful city of Venice. The hotel is warmly decorated with a fusion of Venezian and Oriental design, it has a library with leather seating and a fireplace for guests. and it overlooks a private garden, with sun terrace and a bar area. The elegant rooms are unique and inidividually themed and offer 32" LCD TV with satellite channels, room service and free Wi-Fi/LAN , safety-deposit box, Nespresso machine, minibar. The superior rooms include a relaxation and / or balcony, and the suite has a whirlpool bath. The reception is open 24/7, breakfast and private transport to Murano island are included in the price. The care and attentiveness of the staff make you feel surrounded by an oasis of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing