We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #3 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent 3 days at the Hotel Moresco and from the moment we arrived and were welcolmed by Mirco till the day we left we were forever amazed at the standards of excellence. As with many other reviews we were welcomed with Prosceso in the beautiful garden before being escorted to our room overlooking the Rio Nuvoro. With the windows open wide and the vision of Gondolas and the sounds of boats and water taxis we knew we had arrived in Venice.
The Moresco is away from the rush and crush but still a stones throw from the hustle and bustle of the famous attractions, a walk to everything, St Marks Square,The Rialto Bridge and the water taxi stops out front. Happy hour is such a splendour that one could forget to head out for the evening . The delights on offer changed each evening and the drinks were perfect and at a very reasonable price.
Our mornings were started with a breakfast that is "six star" I repeat what other reviewers have said, juices, fruit, eggs any way requested, pastries, breads, cheeses, prosciuttos, teas all types and of course beautiful espresso (1st of many) to kick off the day.
All the staff members were without question exceptional. They were proud of their hotel, proud of Venice and a credit to Italy.
It is difficult to separate people of such high standard but we had many dealings with Mirco and the warmth, helpfulness and professionalism he exuded made our stay faultless. I must also mention Lorenzo for who or what nothing was an effort and was done with a chat and a smile.
We had a wonderful time in Venice and hope to go back sometime soon, more certainly we want to go back to "The Hotel Moresco".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is bar none the BEST hotel we have ever stayed in during our many trips to Europe. The location is ideal and easily accessed. The staff was first rate and seemed genuinely friendly and helpful! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gehanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked the Hotel Moresco looking for a charming boutique hotel conveniently located away from the madding crowds of Rialto and Piazza San Marco but also convenient to all of Venice's charms. We were not disappointed. From our morning arrival after an overnight flight to our check-out three days later, we were constantly amazed at the high level of personal service from the entire staff and the excellent property itself. The Weaver's Room (301) is, hands down, the best hotel room we've ever enjoyed. The garden is a green, relaxing oasis amidst all of Venice. The staff -- well, we can't compliment the personal service provided by the staff to us during our entire stay -- Barbara, Lorenzo and Fabio, particularly. No. 1 in Venice? Definitely, and it isn't even close. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MCITiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is one of the best hotels in our Italy trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the barman at the great Happy Hours. The hotel is about 20-30 minute easy and interesting walk to St Marks Square. We had a lovely canal view from our very clean, comfortable, quite room. We picked up a car from the depot to continue our travels and the hotel staff organised a porter to transport our bags. This made moving very easy and quite inexpensive. Tip-make sure you visit the island of Burano.

Room Tip: A room with canal view is a delightful option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LesleyandSteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2014. This is an amazing hotel. Best customer service ever with no pretentiousness. Staff are so genuine and can't do enough to help you. They booked us a private walking tour and boat tour; both were excellent. Garden is beautiful; a lovely, quiet open space where you can relax with a drink.

Breakfast is great; eggs, bacon or omelettes cooked to order with good selection of pastries, hams, cheeses and real honeycomb. Staff will recommend restaurants to suit your taste and reserve tables for you. Happy hour in the bar from 6.30-8pm when a lovely selection of snacks are available prior to going out for dinner. Rooms are clean and excellent. We had a superior room - it was lovely. Coffee machine and reasonably priced mini bar in room.

Water and snacks available all day in the breakfast area. Hotel is situated in a lovely relaxed part of Venice, c20 min walk from St Marks & noticeably quieter than the more touristy areas. Drink prices are reasonable, c. €3 for a glass of wine.

Highly, highly recommended. Perfecto!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived on a water taxi direct from a cruise ship.You stop directly at the front of hotel€80 from the cruise port.
Staff are outside as you pull up,taking care of your luggage.We are taken out side to the gardens,while they check us in,offered coffee ,Proseco given some tasty morsels.
Our room is large,nicely furnished,huge bed,great bathroom.
Everything you need is close by 15-20 min walk to the Rialto bridge.
Breakfast is beautiful,had the best omelette ever!Lots to choose from,some unique ,like honey in the comb.Even Proseco in the chiller.
During the day ,cakes,savouries sparkling water and juices are available complimentary .
The staff are only to pleased to help where ever they can,we had issues with train tickets,they sorted it out straight away.
We also were worried about getting our 30 kg bags to the near bye train station,no problem ,a porter service is available for €5 per bag.
Have fun getting lost in Venice don't forget to look up!

Room Tip: We were next to lifts,no problem with noise though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank hairandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We booked Hotel Moresco based on peer reviews and the staff and location have exceeded our expectations. Fun happy hour - mostly Americans the night we went. Good location about a 10-15 minute walk from train station. Be prepared to carry you bags up some stairs on the bridges. This is also a nice location if you want to be in a quieter area of Venice. It's about a 30 minute walk to St. Mark's Piazza or you can take a private water taxi for about 60-70 euro. Finally, the entire staff does a great job from the moment you arrive with a welcome drink to concierge services and helpful suggestions. Enjoy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank KM-Living4today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 388 in Venice
2,212 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 388 in Venice
3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 388 in Venice
1,366 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 388 in Venice
1,624 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £140 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moresco, located on the Rio Nuovo canal (1.4 km from Peggy Guggenheim Collection and 1.6 km from the Rialto Bridge. Less than 5 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, 700 metres from Santa Lucia Station) is a wonderful gem in the heart of the beautiful city of Venice. The hotel is warmly decorated with a fusion of Venezian and Oriental design, it has a library with leather seating and a fireplace for guests. and it overlooks a private garden, with sun terrace and a bar area. The elegant rooms are unique and inidividually themed and offer 32" LCD TV with satellite channels, room service and free Wi-Fi/LAN , safety-deposit box, Nespresso machine, minibar. The superior rooms include a relaxation and / or balcony, and the suite has a whirlpool bath. The reception is open 24/7, breakfast and private transport to Murano island are included in the price. The care and attentiveness of the staff make you feel surrounded by an oasis of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing