We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, close to cruise lines”
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #3 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for our first honeymoon night and the Hotel Moresco was everything the reviews said. The room was excellent, great view to the canal and very good breakfast! The attention was great and we got a champagne bottle as well!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rodrigopollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is very easy to find from the train station. The staff had provided all important information in an email after our confirmed reservation which was very helpful in finding the hotel.

The hotel is a little further away from the action that is St. Marks Square but is therefore quieter.

The staff were very welcoming, and our check in was a breeze. The room was very clean (strong scent), comfortable and average size for a European hotel. The bathroom was great and had all that we needed (minus face cloths, which is not usually included in European hotels). The bed was firm but comfortable.

We loved the gardens/green space and common areas that the hotel offers, it is a beautiful place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of this touristy city.


The food here is to die for! Breakfast is included with your room and it is more than any hotel I have ever been to, has offered. Fresh eggs, made any way you want including an omelette, fresh fruit selection, yogurt, an amazing spread of meats and buns and every drink under the sun you could wish for with breakfast. The hotel offers an appetizer spread in the evening with drinks. They are wonderful and some evenings we filled up (by accident) on the delicious spread. Most days there are leftovers or snacks out during the day if you feel you must grab something before you fade away.


The reason I gave this a hotel a four, was because while they exceeded my expectations in all levels, twice I ran into a staff who left me feeling like my simple basic request was outrageous. It hurt my feelings.

But this was definitely one of the nicest hotels I have ever been to and I would suggest it to anyone.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are nice and look out on the beautiful space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chelseakicks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I spent 4 days here and was very satisfied. Everything was perfect for us. Nice small hotel, with a excellent staff. You really felt that you where special here. Room was very good, with a terrific bathroom.

Nice breakfast which you could eat both inside and outside in a small garden. Location is quiet, but not far away from main spots.

Try the happy hour/apretivo in the evening before you head out for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank OyvindRBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a really nice hotel. Room in excellent condition. Very clean and new. Easily reachable from the main entry in Venice (bus stop). The personnel was exceptional. Very helpful and cheerful. Price/quality was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We splurged a bit with this hotel and it was one of the more expensive places we stayed in besides our amazing hotel in Santorini during our six week trip to Europe. All the rooms as evident from the hotel's website have different themes and our room was indeed very classy. I remember this hotel every time I see my Venetian mask hanging on the wall above our tv too because the hotel staff helped us find one of the rare authentic Venetian mask makers and retailers in Venice. There are a lot of fake imposters out there selling masks that they say are original Venetian. Look at the masks properly and you will know that they are probably made in China. The hotel staff however were very knowledgeable and pointed us in the right direction. The hotel is centrally located but if you are taking the train to Venice be warned that it is a bit of an arduous walk from the station to the hotel because there are a lot of bridges to climb up and down and it is hard when you have a 30 kg suitcase with you. Breakfast was included in our package and it was okay. It wasn't huge but none of the breakfasts we had in Europe were huge so this one wasn't any different. (Americans might be disappointed) We loved this hotel and if there is anything that will stop us from coming back, it is the price because it was pretty expensive but if you have the extra cash definitely pick this place over others. It is number 1 on tripadvisor for a reason.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Haramkhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Everything about its quality said previously is true, excellent rooms, breakfast, and most importantly the People.

Quite a long walk to St Marks but lots of closer places to see St. Sebastian, Scuola Rocco, etc. For St Marks and Doge's Palace the ferries from Piazzale Roma are very convenient though take time. Great way to see Venice at night also. Should visit Burano, easy from P Roma.

Buy ferry pass for as long as you stay. It is good value and very convenient to use.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior, they are worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cyril-Mundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What an oasis! Hotel is welcoming, spotless and beautifully maintained. Our room was quiet (soundproofing exceptional - doors weigh a ton, quiet air-conditioning), bed very comfortable and bathroom generous for Venice hotel. Our shower was huge and plumbing a delight - could have stayed in for an hour!
Excellent breakfast with very courteous and professional service.
Treat yourself - take the porter from the train station (5 Euro per bag) and enjoy the short walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 388 in Venice
2,212 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 388 in Venice
3,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 388 in Venice
1,366 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 388 in Venice
1,624 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £140 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moresco, located on the Rio Nuovo canal (1.4 km from Peggy Guggenheim Collection and 1.6 km from the Rialto Bridge. Less than 5 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, 700 metres from Santa Lucia Station) is a wonderful gem in the heart of the beautiful city of Venice. The hotel is warmly decorated with a fusion of Venezian and Oriental design, it has a library with leather seating and a fireplace for guests. and it overlooks a private garden, with sun terrace and a bar area. The elegant rooms are unique and inidividually themed and offer 32" LCD TV with satellite channels, room service and free Wi-Fi/LAN , safety-deposit box, Nespresso machine, minibar. The superior rooms include a relaxation and / or balcony, and the suite has a whirlpool bath. The reception is open 24/7, breakfast and private transport to Murano island are included in the price. The care and attentiveness of the staff make you feel surrounded by an oasis of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing