We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARMING IN MANY WAYS”
Review of Corte Di Gabriela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corte Di Gabriela
Ranked #10 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The staff here are lovely. The owner is hands on, cooking pastries for breakfast in the morning, collecting you from the water taxi and being generally jovial. The location is extremely central and that is useful if, like us, you are first timers to Venice. They are also very happy to draw maps and give suggestions for places to go. The standards of cleanliness were extremely high and the plumbing [I do like a proper shower]- was excellent. In the morning, the buffet spread for breakfast could not be faulted. There was a generous and wide ranging selection of quality food with first class coffee on tap. The hotel is not cheap but, given its position in one of the most expensive cities in the world, it is very good value. My only criticism is one of personal taste and is probably culturally based. In the UK, where we all too frequently have grey skies, it is wonderful to have rooms that capitalise on daylight. Presumably, the Venetians like to keep the sun out of their interiors. Lots of the restaurants were very gloomy and the decor in this otherwise thoughtfully refurbished property was extremely dour. Our bedroom was dark mustard teamed with brown and had swathes of grey [intentionally grey definitely NOT dirty] voile at the windows. We were offered an alternative that was a dark red but declined it because it was too depressing. I loathe having to switch on lights in the middle of the day. However, maybe I am alone in finding that a problem. As I say, it is a personal issue and clearly other travellers have loved the styling. A lot of care has been poured into this venture and all involved are to be applauded for their enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAMPOLINDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortedigabriela, Proprietario at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest,
thank for your review; we will take into consideration your suggestions in order to improve our services.
Venetian locations, lights and atmosphere are usually very soft as the style of our rooms in order to maintain a sense of romantic and relax.
We hope to have you again as our guest!
Best regards
GB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Words cannot adequately express the wonderful time my husband and I had at Corte di Gabriela. We were celebrating Carnevale, my husband's birthday, and his pending retirement in this magical city. We arrived on March 1st during a torrential rain storm. With one of four suitcases in tow, rising water, and succinct directions from the S. Angelo vaportetto stop, I find my way in the dark to the hotel...Yikes! My husband was back at the vaporetto with the other three suitcases. I was going back to get him, but the owner put on his coat, grabbed two umbrellas and set out to rescue my husband. More than a little wet and quite tired I was most grateful. Althourgh our four days in Venice exceeded our expectations, the most special moment at Corte de Gabriela was at breakfast on March 4th, my husband's birthday. The owner, who is a fabulous chef (he claims it is a hobby), made an apple cake with candle for the birthday breakfast! We were blown away...literally. How does one top that memory? How does one adequately express thanks. Make your vacation extra special by staying at Corte di Gabriela.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Friedrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortedigabriela, Proprietario at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Anita,
thank you for your beautiful review!
It was a pleasure to have you and your husband here, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Corte di Gabriela and that you appreciated our efforts to make your vacation special, especially the birthday cake.
Hoping to have you here again soon,
best regards
G.Botter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I decided to take my wife to Venice for her 40th birthday and we chose Corte Di Gabriela on the basis on Tripadvisor reviews and it's location (from looking at a map of Venice).

We'd never been to Venice before so weren't entirely sure what to expect. The hotel arranged private water taxi's to and from the airport. These were expensive (110 Euro there and 100 back) but we feel worth it. This wasn't the hotels pricing by the way, we paid the taxi company directly at the airport. We were met at the dock and they carried out bags to the hotel just a couple of minutes from the dock. It was raining and a nice touch was to be handed an umbrella each.

The hotel itself I'd probably describe as boutique chic. With just ten rooms it's not large but does feel very spacious. We had the suite on the first floor. Great room, with both modern and historical touches. A large round bed was a first for us but it proved to be very comfortable. Probably the only minor criticism of the room itself is that the lighting isn't quite bright enough.

Another nice touch on the first night was to be provided with Wellington boots. I had no idea what "high water" was, but on leaving the hotel, welly's in hand and hearing the church bells ringing, we started to get an idea. In short, the streets can flood this time of year and without boots you're in trouble. It happens between 7 and about 10pm. We weren't prepared so it was assuring that the hotel was.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant (other than for breakfast) so we asked for recommendations for where to eat out. They gave us a list of 13 they'd recommend, we gave them preferred booking times and they then made the reservations. We ate at Linea D'ombra, Club Del Doge & Beccafico. All were great.

As for breakfast they prepare (all made on-site) a wide range of pastries which were fantastic & in addition will cook you fresh omelettes. The local Venetian coffee is also top draw. A lovely cake on my wife's birthday was also a great touch and a great start to the day. Breakfast is a very relaxed & personal affair, a welcome change to the busy buffets in larger hotels.

As far as location, it's a few minutes from everything we wanted to see. It takes a day to figure out your bearings as it's not like any city you've ever been to.

In summary a big thumbs up and my thanks to all the staff at Gabriela

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Braddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortedigabriela, Proprietario at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear guest,
we want to thank you for your words. We are always very glad when we read that our guests enjoyed their stay at Corte di Gabriela. We are happy you appreciated the style of the hotel and of your room, a mix of modern and tradition. We are also very happy you loved our home-made morning breakfast and that we contributed to make your wife's birthday special.
We really hope to have the chance to welcome you again!
Regards,
G. Botter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Wow, where to start, this is one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed in throughout Europe. The room was perfect and met our needs perfectly. The staff where extremely friendly and very helpfull (directions, where to eat, booked our night at the jazz bar). What a breakfast and the chef was a delight, he brightened our mornings. The hotel was so central, everywhere within walking distance. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, definitely a jewel in the crown of Venice. Stay anywhere else at your peril !!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank con16507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortedigabriela, Proprietario at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Corte di Gabriela and that you appreciated our efforts to be helpful to our guests. Above all, we are really happy you loved our breakfast. We invite you to visit us again! Gianluca would be happy to delight you again with its special morning breakfast.
Best regards,
G. Botter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The 10 room, one year old (in its current incarnation) hotel is a delight. Three minutes from the S. Angelo vaporetto stop, the hotel arranged water transport from the airport, met us at the stop to handle our luggage and treated us as truly honoured guests. Breakfasts are fabulous, the room was sufficiently spacious with a modern bathroom and luxurious hooded robes. The small staff was attentive and extremely helpful in recommending where to eat and how to best get around Venice. This was my first time in the enchanting, fantastic city of Venice and I would always return to the Corte di Gabriel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GentleKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortedigabriela, Proprietario at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We are happy you have appreciated your stay in our hotel and that you've enjoyed the room and the breakfast.
We really hope to see you again soon.
Best regards

G. Botter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights at corte di gabriela and we can only say this is the best hotel in venice. The room, the staff, the owner, the breakfast.....everything was fantastic. We had the junior suite on the first floor facing the relaxing lounge area where you can drink a glass of wine...the vaporetto stop is only a few minutes far from the hotel and San marco squadre is only 10-15 minutes from it. we will come back soon.....

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortedigabriela, Proprietario at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Corte di Gabriela and that you appreciated everything, from your room to the morning breakfast.
We really hope to welcome you again,
best regards,
G. Botter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

we had a wonderful stay at corte di gabriela. the hotel has only 10 rooms and the mix between design and venetian style is something special. we had a deluxe room at the first floor facing the lounge area. very cool...the breakfast is fantastic and full of different things.
thank you Gabriela and Luca.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortedigabriela, Proprietario at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your beautiful words. We are glad you appreciated the style of the hotel that mix old and modern. Moreover, we are happy you enjoyed our totally home-made breakfast.
Hoping to see you soon at Corte di Gabriela,
best regards,
G. Botter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 387 in Venice
1,997 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,914 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#6 of 387 in Venice
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte Di Gabriela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte Di Gabriela

Address: Calle Avvocati 3836 S. Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £216 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Corte Di Gabriela 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corte Di Gabriela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing