We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service on the Lido” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pizzeria Stella

Le Pizzeria Stella
Ranked #473 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great service on the Lido”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We went into the restaurant at the end of April with my sister, who is coeliac to ask if they could cater for her. We were told that indeed they could and would check to see if they had gluten-free pasta left as they had recently had a party with the same request. My sister carries a gluten-free pizza base with her but it was refreshing to be offered pasta for a change. They made a huge fuss of her and were really keen to reassure her and make her evening special. They made her a pasta dish with a tomato sauce, which she said was delicious. The other two of us ordered pizzas – tuna and a blue cheese. All meals went down well and the staff who served us were really friendly. We shared a bottle of Prosecco and had a really enjoyable meal. We were served complimentary Limoncello in frozen shot glasses – a lovely touch. It was the first time my sister had tried Limoncello and she loved it. She raved about the meal and the service for the rest of the time she spent in Venice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rum_coolers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Had a look at this place for an evening meal but it has zilch atmosphere and terrible lighting. If you don't mind eating in a canteen style then you'll be ok. If the weather is good then the outside seating is much better and we had a pleasant lunch here the following day.
The special of Pork Shank ("Stinco") was particularly good with a bit of salad and tasty (but slightly cold) potatoes on the plate. It was represented as a 10€ special on the board although we still paid a 2€ per head cover charge - it was our last day and we came to the conclusion that this was almost inevitable in Venice! However, the bread was half decent here which isn't always the case!
I've read mixed reviews on the pizzas but there is a serious looking pizza oven on display so they ought to be decent.
A reasonable budget option if you can go 'al fresco.'

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BosunB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best of the bunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Restaurants in Venice, including the Lido are a rip-off, especially for vegetarians. Expect to pay 8 euros for a bowl of pasta and tomato sauce but then they add 2 euros per person cover charge. A bottle of water is 4 euros more (28 cents in the supermarket) Dare to order a small plate of vegetables - 5 euros or 6 for a tiny bowl of frozen chips. Pretty soon a simple meal is getting very expensive and the portions are so small you are still hungry. Oh and some restaurants will add another 12% service charge on top!
So the fixed price meal and a drink for 10 euros at this restaurant is the best deal on the street. The portions are very small though and only the cheapest pizzas are included.
Another trick to beware of is the waiter will smile and bring you something you did not order and say 'for you'. It is not free as implied, but will be another 5 or 10 euros on your bill. In Venice, the average stay is 2.4 nights; they are not interested in repeat customers and they milk the tourist cash cow for all it is worth.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Place in LIDO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Again, if you are staying in Lido trying to avoid venetian awful pricing, this is The Place to eat.

KISS. Get in and be warmly welcomed by the GodFather or his wife, sit down, relax, look around and notice this Magnum Bacardi Bottle resting on the bar. Have a look at the Menu while you wonder what you would do if you managed to steal the bottle. But don't complicate too much, a pizza and a drink will do for now. You can still order something else if you are hungry afterwards. Maybe order some italian wine instead of a coke? Talk to your girl and friends while you wait, and find out for me if the garden in the backyard really exists or if it's just advertising. Eat well, plan the next day (or the afternoon ahead) and order the bill when you're done. And here comes the whole point of this story. Remember that attracting sign at the front door? well it happens to be true. 3 pizzas et 3 boissons 30 euros pile.

Now the food was good, and keeping in mind you're still in Venice" makes this charming little place The Place in Lido just as La Donna Onesta was The Place in Venice.
FM

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank icarusflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value, great pizza, and the godfather!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

This was cool, we were welcomed in by a guy we nicknamed the godfather, as he was a spitting image!
We asked about the 10 euro lunch deal, as I'm sure it wasn't all the pizza's, so we got the deal and was only 20 euro for lunch, best value for money on the limited lido island.
Went back for dinner and was great, I'm sure the godfather gave us a discount as I worked it out to be a lot more than it was!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dj-espanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Pizzeria Stella also viewed

Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 

Been to Le Pizzeria Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing