We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly restaurant at affordable prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria in Campieo

Trattoria in Campieo
Ranked #632 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Santa Croce
bonn
Level Contributor
298 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant at affordable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We ate here 2 days running when visiting Venice and were very happy with both the food and the service. They offer the classic seafood menu -spaghetti with squid ink sauce and fritto misto, (mixed fried fish) which we love and always eat when in Venice, so as to taste the sea... but also have grilled sea bass as a very welcome option. Another nice touch was the glass of limoncello (lemon liqueur) offered with the coffee, which is a rarity in this town, where let's face it, they don't have to chase after customers. Will definitely go back on our next visit .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Cheap, big portions and nice menus. You can choose out of 3 parts to select your meal for just 14?. If not, there are also very cheap single-meals. Service is very friendly and funny. The music was not traditional - they played countrysongs.

Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They make me feel at home! Great position, great food and super friendly atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I'm not venetian but i live in Venice since 4 years.
It happend very often to me that i have to eat outside with clients or just with friends.
This place is totally my favourite.
The menu of the day is actually very competitive, the food is very very good and well, very important to me, they're super super nice and friendly!

(first plate, second plate and side dish is 15 euros! lunch and dinner!!!)

The position is very good, as it's only 5 min walking from Piazzale Roma, 10 min to the train station, and 2 min from campo santa margherita, where we always use to meet for some Spritz before dinner.

Campiello Mosca is a very quiet square, so not so many persons walking around.

In a city where even locals sometimes ends in tourist traps, having a landmark where you're sure that you will pay the right price and have good quality, is very important, and i feel totally safe and comfortable sending there my friends, sure that they will be happy.

The wine is good, the food is good, prices are good, the place is good, the staff is kind, it's PERFECT.

And well, George, the maitre, is just amazing, so i will definitely suggest to everyone to go there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MinakoVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent on many levels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a fairly young crew running the restaurant. They are friendly and, although their English is limited (one should know the basics and carry a small dictionary when visiting Italy anyway), they work to provide you with an enjoyable meal.

The menu is in Italian, English, German and Russian so you shouldn't have any problems if you know how to say one, two, three, and dry or sweet or light when asking about wines. Of course, please and thank you and any other adjective to describe what I expect will be an enjoyable meal.

The pasta is made in house. Their spaghetti alla carbonara is better than I have had anywhere except Rome; it may well be on par! In Venice and throughout northern Italy this dish is usually in a cream sauce. At this restaurant, it is the style with egg and bacon.

Gnocchi is light and delicate.

The risotto was also one of the best I have had. The rice was cooked and creamy yet still al dente as it should be. The helping is a considerable one for a primi piatti.

Scaloppina a piacere was of a good standard.

The filetto ai pepe verde was excellent. Their beef is very tender and cooked through. I prefer rare and asked for that. Most restaurants in northern Italy do not overcook their beef - especially in Florence (Firenze).

The wine list (they have some on the menu and others on a separate menu (ask for the carta dei vini) is extensive enough, well priced and of a good quality. We were never disappointed with our selections. There are many priced at or around EUR20.00.

You could spend around EUR 110.00 on dinner for two (that includes tip) but would get two bottles of mineral water, two bottles of good wine (or 1 bottle and 4 glasses of prosecco), a shared antipasti, two primi piatti, two secondi piatti and two limoncello.

We liked this restaurant so much at the beginning of our trip that when we came back to Venice for the last 2 nights of our 3 weeks in northern Italy we ate there both nights. Out of all our travels this is tied for second place with a restaurant in Florence. Our first choice is a place in Parma but that's because they had some unique local dishes the local wine was incredible.

Thanks Joe and all of you. Keep it up! You deserve nothing but success and we hope to be back some day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BARToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, Bahia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad wine in Italy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The square where they are located is very quiet and attractive, but the quality of what they serve... If you order their tourists menu, you're going to experience one of the worst foods in Venice. Their “vino da casa” (or house's wine) is almost “undrinkable” - it´s hard to believe that in a restaurant in Italy. And the meat, in the “secondo piatto”, was tasteless - why not to say?, too bad.
We will never know if the rest of their menu, including their wine list, is better: we rather not going there again. There are a lot of better restaurants than this in Venice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GilBahia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria in Campieo also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria in Campieo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing