We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful interior, great location, average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palazzetto Madonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzetto Madonna
Ranked #103 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful interior, great location, average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas. The hotel has just been refurbished and the interior is beautiful - it fully lives up to the photos. The location is excellent being just yards from St Toma waterbus stop and a short walk to Rialto, St Marks and Pizzale Roma. The plumbing and electrics all worked well (often a sticking point with hotels in old buildings) with an excellent shower, a huge flat screen TV and free wifi with a good signal. The only downside would be some average service. There seemed to be one bell boy maintaining the whole hotel and running the bar. The bar was like drinking in a library and is not worth bothering with. It's really just a breakfast room that serves drinks in the evening. Breakfast was OK. My parents couldn't leave their room to go out for dinner for about 30 minutes because they decided to polish the hall floor at 8:00 pm one evening and, my brother was sent on a wild goose chase to get to Murano, by the receptionist, which took 2 hours instead of the more normal 1. We had to pay the new city tax by cash. They wouldn't let us pay by card with the rest of the bill. No idea why this was. Also be warned that they charge a commission for calling a water taxi to the airport. It's cheaper to approach a water taxi driver direct or book online in advance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t1grm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzetto Madonna, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear guest,
we would like to thank You for Your kind feedback as every suggestion can help us to improve our service and our level of standards.
We are happy you loved the location, the room and the excellent hotel level: this is really important in a brand new opened hotel.
All the new things have to be properly maintained and that is way we polish the pavements: to have the hotel always clean, and brilliant but we do not use to lock the guests inside.
Our bell boy is a good bar tender and the soft, calm and charming ambient we try to create in our bar is exactly the kind of atmosphere our selectioned guests use to love the most.
For what it may concern the only point that didn't allow you to rate us five stars, we never charged a commission for calling taxis.
We call only serious, safe, allowed and respectable companies with insurance (for any case of accident) that apply the fix tariffs the city suggests.
To book on-line, you have to pay in advance a taxi that should not show up or that You should never take (if You cancel the room) and to approach a taxi driver it means that you do not have the warranty he will come to pick you up.
The (public) city tax is not something the hotel charges (as the same name says "city tax") so that there is no reason that it passes through the hotel (private) bank.
The hotel is only holding the money for someone else (the government).
Hoping to have the chance to welcome You back one day, we send You our
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    106
    23
    8
    12
See reviews for
43
280
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great, quiet location. It is in walking distance to everything although with luggage you will need a water taxi toad from the station. Do not let the hotel organise a transfer or taxi for you - it's a total rip off. You can save at least €30 per trip by organizing one on your own.

The room was great - large, clean comfortable and with an amazing bathroom. Size and proportions unusual for Europe. Breakfast is also great, definitely get it included because nothing in the area opens until at least 10am.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzetto Madonna, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear guest,
firsts of all let us thank You for being so kind to have found some minutes to write this review.
As a new opened hotel we'd love every guest to give us their impressions, their feedbacks, because this is the best way to improve our skills and to solve our problems.
We are really happy your stay went beyond all the expectations: we are happy you appreciated our brand new stylish rooms and the professional service as well.
For what it may concern Your suggestion to the other customers, we only have one thing to point out about the taxi, we would like to clarify to every one is going to read these reviews: the companies we work with are serious and recommended, they have licenses and insurances that allow drivers to respond in case of incidents and tragical happening (the sea is impredictable), and they apply the fix tariffs the city suggests.
So to all the people coming to Venice: be sure you are catching a REGULAR taxi. Unfortunately in the city it could happen that some boats try to get a lift to disoriented tourists.
By the way, reading your review, it seems you have booked a pick-up transfer to the hotel. And maybe you are now comparing that price to the price of another kind of ride.
Thank you again for the time You spent to send us Your feedback: we hope to have You again as our guest in our brand new hotel.
Best regards and happy holidays
HOTEL PALAZZETTO MADONNA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoe, PA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here on our road trip through italy. This hotel, while, small is packed with charm and character. The staff were more than gracious and accommodating, even when we came back after dark and wanted to sip some wine in the court yard. The room was small but suited our needs, the decor was spectacular and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was amazing. This is a remolded 500 year old place, and it does sit right on a canal, and alley. Our room was on the street level and because of the time of year, the air conditioning was off, so we had to open the windows, so that was alittle weird for people to walking right by. The breakfast in the morning was standard European, but was tasty, for Americans, it's not steak and eggs but surly you can find something to eat, The location was great, in walking distance to the water bus and to major site seeing areas, Really a treasure.

Just if you go take the water bus to the Toma, go left at wall, and right and the next opening, before the bridge and the hotel is on the right. It can be very intimating navigating through venice.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, get a room off the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cuinthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as a couple.

Pro's

Excellent location, within walking distance from all of Venice's main sites, with a vaporetto stop about 30 seconds away.
The hotel is located directly on a nice, quiet canal, steps away from Canale Grande.
Very elaborate decoration, full of Venetian artifacts and historical touches. It could border on kitsch, but the whole things is warm and festive. A hit!
We had a lovely luxury room, right on the canal, with very high ceilings, and an elaborate decor, with local touches, such as reproductions of famous local paintings and murano glass light fixtures.
Great bathroom, with a huge led-colored rain shower. Water temperature does vary though. There was even a TV in the bathroom, and you could listen to nice music, while taking a rainbow colored shower... bliss!
Breakfast included in the price, with REAL orange juice, fab!
Last but not least, a very nice and helpful staff!

Con's

Not much to say...
Breakfast could offer a bit more choice, particularly in terms of savory foods.
Only one weird point to add.. Before our arrival, we asked for the hotel to make some restaurant reservations for us, but they refused stating that they did not want to be held responsible for a no-show? Maybe they had some bad experiences? Anyway, we ended up making reservations ourselves...

In summary, a very nice choice for Venice, and should the prices remain reasonable, we will most probably stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jewels_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My son and I were entranced by the charm, the luxury, the position and, above all, the warmth and attention of the staff at this delightful hotel. I cannot recommend it more highly. Our four nights were spent in peace, quiet and tranquility. A boutique hotel of the highest quality. Thank you, all, for making our stay so special. Returning will be a pleasure.

Room Tip: Any room will be charming.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Optymystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

we booked on-line the day before arriving for a one night stay - the rooms are compact as to be expected in Venice but finished to a high specification - nice little touches such as Flat Screen tv hidden behind a large mirror and a button to close the full ceiling length curtains. All of the hotel was very clean. One point for the hotel to consider .. we visited in October and the Air Conditioning was switched off - the rooms were very hot and the advice given to cool them was to 'open the window' - it did the job but it allowed mosquitos in. As the property only opened in mid 2013 they will likely have feedback like this to consider. The up-side is that all fittings are brand new - great staff too - we would definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to others unreservedly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzetto Madonna, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Good evening from Hotel Palazzetto Madonna****L - Venice.
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank You for Your kind feedback, aa every suggestion will help us (as a brand new hotel) to improve our good skills.
We are really happy You loved the room, the style and the decor as well.
We were unlucky: we had a first week in october very cold, and following some customers' suggestions we decided to turn on the heating. As soon as we did it the weather changed so that someone more sensible like You should have the impression the room was hot and to be not helped by our staff. You will understand that unfortunately in the mid of october we have to satisfy the biggest request, as You said You stayed one night (the warmest in october).
We hope to have the chance to welcome You back to demonstrate our skills and receive a 5 stars' review.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This October we stayed at the Palazetto Madonna and our first impression was fantastic. The people at the desk were polite, our room was ready when we arrived and the staff was eager to give us information to explore their beautiful city. We upgraded to a room above street level and were very happy with the cleanliness and size of the new room. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh and the dining room staff was always pleasant. The only thing I would say about one of the recommendations (an osteria 2 doors down from the hotel) was we found the food to be below average and disappointing. We were walked over personally by one of the front desk staff and were politely seated but the food was unfortunately not up to par. Other than that, our stay was memorable and I will recommend it to family and friends if they make their way to this magical city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripwmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzetto Madonna, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Good evening from Hotel Palazzetto Madona****L - Venice.
Dear Guest,
First of all let me thank You for being our guest in the first months we opened, and for being so nice to take a few minutes to write this review.
We are proud You love everything in our hotel, from the room to the service, from the staff to the breakfast, thank You.
Unfortunately we cannot respond for the osteria.
As You stated when we suggest one place it is only because our personally experience there, as customers, was good. We cannot guarantee the level of standard of something we do not handle and not even manage. They are brand new as well so that maybe they have something to settle.
As well sometime guests have different opinions: 'till now we had only good feedbacks from the customers about that osteria, but as someone said 'de gustibus non disputandum est'.
Again we want to thank You for this kind of review so that we will remember Your opinion for the next time.
We look forward to welcome You again in our beautiful city.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#70 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzetto Madonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzetto Madonna

Property: Palazzetto Madonna
Address: San Polo, 2902, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzetto Madonna 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzetto Madonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing